About OCBC...

ahnyaahnya

Any OCBC officers here ?
Or anyone here know the answer ?
I have USD in OCBC Global Savings Account.
Want to transfer to another bank.
Tried to do it online but couldn't.
CSO on the phone said must convert to SGD first then transfer on SGD, then in the other bank, convert to USD again.
What nonsense is this?
Why can't i transfer from a USD account to another USD account directly?

Is the CSO talking nonsense?

addict951

Any OCBC officers here ?
CSO on the phone said must convert to SGD first then transfer on SGD, then in the other bank, convert to USD again.
What nonsense is this?

You mean you dun know meh
to transfer usd you need to use tt (and incur USD20-30)
You cannot just transfer from bank A to bank B like you can wif SGD
interbank transfer for USD need to route thru New York 1
Dun anyhow say cso talk nonsense.
Cso deals wif newbie questions like yours all the time
you aren't the first to ask such a question
Consider deleting this thread so you won'tembarrassyourself

ahnyaahnya

You shame yourself, don't know how to read .

I'm not talking about transfer fees.
I'm talking about conversion of the currency.
Why must convert 2x then?
Why must USD to SGD to USD.
BTW DBS officer said they don't charge any fees if their Treasures customers do that.

reddevil0728

Any OCBC officers here ?
What nonsense is this?

u got ask CSO why cannot?

ahnyaahnya

u got ask CSO why cannot?
He insisted must.
I managed to contact RM (after a few calls. Turns out he's on leave), he said must TT, cannot transfer. Only pay agent fee. No say nonsense that must convert back and forth

DBS CSO had told me that theirs can use Internet banking to transfer

ahnyaahnya

Consider deleting this thread so you won'tembarrassyourself
You embarrass yourself. By showing that your reading very poor. I was asking about conversion , but your insulting reply was about fees.

BTW, based on what RM said later, the CSO talking nonsense

OCBC might be using FAST to clear the funds for their online transfers. And since FAST only accepts SGD hence why the CSO mentioned that you need to convert in order to use the transfer service.

The only way to transfer USD is through a US clearing house and the way to do that is via TT (Telegraphic Transfer) aka SWIFT payment.

Local bank transfers does not support USD.

DBS can do it for free is maybe perhaps they do a contra from their end.

Edit: What the CSO said was right. He just didn't explain it well. If you're making the transfer through FAST, then OCBC will have to force convert your USD into SGD in order for it to go through. And once it reaches the other bank, it will force convert back to USD again since it's a USD account.

precision

No need to fx. Avoid ocbc.
I tried local tt usd from dbs to another usd dbs acc no charge. Not treasures.

CrashWire

have USD in OCBC Global Savings Account.
What nonsense is this?
If you want free to other bank (except HSBC), go down to branch and ask them for a USD chequebook.

Cashier orders might be free too, as long as they're payable to yourself.

ahnyaahnya

If you want free to other bank (except HSBC), go down to branch and ask them for a USD chequebook.

Cashier orders might be free too, as long as they're payable to yourself.
No lah. Just ridiculous to convert the currency 2x to arrive back at the original currency .
🤦
Anyway, he was talking nonsense .

maumu

CSO these days really can be incompetent. Dunno what kind of training they go through by the bank. Or they can only answer very simple questions like how to open bank account, bank operating hours, etc. (which a bot can do so)

Just had another negative episode with UOB chat with CSO... cannot answer a simple question like what's my eligible spend for November... asks to call me back after 2 to 3 working days. Faint.

reddevil0728

CSO these days really can be incompetent. Dunno what kind of training they go through by the bank. Or they can only answer very simple questions like how to open bank account, bank operating hours, etc. (which a bot can do so)

Just had another negative episode with UOB chat with CSO... cannot answer a simple question like what's my eligible spend for November... asks to call me back after 2 to 3 working days. Faint.
Actually also cannot blame them entirely.

If up stairs never train them, how to expect them to know?

sohguanh

I think this is a joke. OCBC mobile app already having issues with certain phone models and now they want everyone to be Android 8 and above? My old phone was on Android 8 already got problem same with other users posted in Google Play reviews who got even later OS and phone models. Think the OCBC mobile team cannot resolve the actual issue so upgrade Android OS and think magically problem goes away haha.

I am now still on hardware token mode. No intention to switch until the mobile team resolve the actual issue. Their mobile team skillsets are very mediocre compared to other banks mobile team.

SCB is act smart and itchy backside change UI else previous working so much better.
CIMB also act smart itchy backside change the keyboard UI. Theirs super hard to use.
Maybank try to promote their Lite version a bit buggy so I uninstall use back the main app.

Moral lesson. If something is working don't act smart and itchy backside do a major overhaul. You piss off so many existing customers.

royalmix

I am smart, only using ibanking which serves all my needs, app only as 2 factor authentication. Live more, bank less, happy go lucky!:ROFLMAO:

sohguanh

I am smart, only using ibanking which serves all my needs, app only as 2 factor authentication. Live more, bank less, happy go lucky!:ROFLMAO:
You mean the web browser login ibanking is it ? That I agree but sometimes you are outside of your house so using the mobile app so much more convenient than need to scroll up/down zoom in/out the page on the phone web browser.

royalmix

You mean the web browser login ibanking is it ? That I agree but sometimes you are outside of your house so using the mobile app so much more convenient than need to scroll up/down zoom in/out the page on the phone web browser.
I never need to do banking when outside! I do not have data network access, wifi outside is not safe! Live more, bank less! :ROFLMAO:

sohguanh

I never need to do banking when outside! I do not have data network access, wifi outside is not safe! Live more, bank less! :ROFLMAO:
Then that time DBS accidentally leak 4.88% lobang you will not get it in time. Need to rush monies in X hours a small time window how? I am working fulltime job. Lobang I usually do at night.

royalmix

Then that time DBS accidentally leak 4.88% lobang you will not get it in time. Need to rush monies in X hours a small time window how? I am working fulltime job. Lobang I usually do at night.
It is luck! I happened to read the sharing at my desktop, took a while to decide to place the FD on my desktop :ROFLMAO: If I was outside, I dun read hardwarezone at all, means no luck!

sohguanh

Now got promo 0.05% custodian account until 31 Dec 2023. Problem with such account is later promo ended the comm fee shoot back to high level how? It is unlike CDP where I can go other broker and my SGX stocks still can be accessed and sold from other broker.

go.ocbc.com/OEApromo23

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.