ACCA Students.

kamiyah

Hi, do you still have the notes available for sales? If you have F5 notes by Sami (book 1&2), pls contact me @97330555.

Tks

Philomae

for F4, tan peng kwee from saa is good. F2 will be ben lee. i think many students followed through his class from F2 to F7 to P2.

Tan PK lecture is good, however his handwriting is terrible. It's difficult to read what the wrote but you can take pix or go to the front to copy the notes.
Yup! F2 Ben Lee is good too!

xXboxXx

Accounting papers are pure maths~ calculations, formulas, functions and stuffs...

This is CRAP. Accounting papers are never "PURE" maths. Firstly, not all papers require calculations. Secondly, for those papers which require calculations, there are not many formulas or functions to understand or memorise. Most formulas are very basic and easy to understand. It's more of structures, understanding and application of rules and concepts that are key to passing ACCA.

Hoopslife

I'm glad there's someone else here who also thinks Tackey_Kong is a kaplan staff.
You just have to see his post history.

especially this thread:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3280826

I went to see his post history as well. At first he seem just like anyone who is interested in doing a degree program but the more he talk, the more he let the cat out of the bag that he might be afterall, working for Kaplan.

Now, i wonder what Kaplan (those school, like what he said earlier) did to him that he seem to be under their spell and feel the need to bash other online courses :eek:

Hoopslife

aiyah let him talk loh. whether if he/she is from kaplan ultimately i believe it comes down to the ability and credentials of the lecturers. Its hard to discredit great teachers. Kaplan can coax students once or twice, ultimately if the lecturers are not good, with word of mouth students would still go find other schools or other better lecturers.

I agree, that's why i don't respond to whatever crap he say above anymore.

xxjamboreexx

i also felt that LSBF couldn't have started out with online courses. It is just too risky if they do that.

Er, LSBF staff assured me that no, all his classes will be conducted at campus. If it's really online I will have to screw them upside down and demand a refund, I didn't pay close to $1000 for an online course...

Although personally, I think online course is not too much different from actual cost, provided the IT aspects are perfectly done, but a lot will depend on the discipline of the student, since it's so flexible that students may get lazy and just "skip" the lecture for the week or glance through and this may affect their learning and understanding.

Also, actual classes give you the chance the go face to face with the lecturer to ask questions. I'm quite kiasu so I admit I'm one of those that like to bombard the lecturer with questions after class; online learning's not my cup of tea.

s0m3b0dy

Hi, thanks for taking the effort to recommend me the lecturer. Does Tan Peng Kwee and Ben lee provide good notes?

Philomae has mentioned that Tan PK's handwriting is terrible. well, i have to admit that. it's like a doctor disguised as lawyer. hahas. for f4, actually we don't really need notes but he does provide mind maps. i remembered back in my poly days, we didn't have notes for any of our law modules as well.

as for ben lee, i am not too sure cos i didn't attend any of his class before. But many of my friends who attended his class said he is good and willing to help his students.

xxjamboreexx

I took Marty Windle's Revision Class before. He was very focus on the topics he is teaching. To be completely honest I was quite turn off by the way he teach initially as I took Dominic's P3 main class.

Marty was quite messy in his writting and I was quite anal about messy writting. But throughout his revisions I learnt a great deal from his teaching. He is not someone that reads word for word from the text. He uses abbreviation to let students have a better grasp on certain topics. He also teaches students on different types answering techniques for certain questions so as to catch simple marks which students often fail to get. To me that was very useful.

Dominic is also good. He is very smart and knowledgeable. I have learn alot of things from him which are not restricted to the curriculum. But his only shortcoming was he is not very exam focus. This is extremely important for students whom are on part time basis and have not much time to study everything in detail.

I had a reservist friend who took P3 under Andy Tan. He told me Andy Tan is a very good lecturers as well, who also like Dominic and Marty produces quite a number of prize winners. But he told me his English is quite broken which was to me quite ironic since P3 is a theory focus paper.

anyone took p3 under andy tan or marty windle before? care to share your experiences?

xxjamboreexx

erm to prevent any misunderstanding. I am not trying to promote any school ah. I gave my 2 cents worth base on mostly my experiences and some of the experiences shared by my frens who was under some of the lecturers. :p

but nevertheless, I would say I am very pro-Saminathan and pro-Yvonne Goh. I feel the two of them are fantastic lecturers.

I took Marty Windle's Revision Class before. He was very focus on the topics he is teaching. To be completely honest I was quite turn off by the way he teach initially as I took Dominic's P3 main class.

Marty was quite messy in his writting and I was quite anal about messy writting. But throughout his revisions I learnt a great deal from his teaching. He is not someone that reads word for word from the text. He uses abbreviation to let students have a better grasp on certain topics. He also teaches students on different types answering techniques for certain questions so as to catch simple marks which students often fail to get. To me that was very useful.

Dominic is also good. He is very smart and knowledgeable. I have learn alot of things from him which are not restricted to the curriculum. But his only shortcoming was he is not very exam focus. This is extremely important for students whom are on part time basis and have not much time to study everything in detail.

I had a reservist friend who took P3 under Andy Tan. He told me Andy Tan is a very good lecturers as well, who also like Dominic and Marty produces quite a number of prize winners. But he told me his English is quite broken which was to me quite ironic since P3 is a theory focus paper.

xxjamboreexx

First, Sami does not have the best handwritting in the whole world. So be prepared for that. He explains concepts very clearly. He also makes difficult concepts easy to understand.

If you are talking about speed. I dun think he is very fast. However you must also consider what subjects you are taking with Sami. For F7 and P2, it would be a bit rush because there are really alot of topics to cover. But Sami would not be sloppy even though he is rushing for time. He would try his best to explain everything students need to know for exam. And he is very exam focus. At the end of the whole semester during the last lecture he would summarise the whole subject and tell you what are the likely topics that may come out for exam. He would also usually set some homework for students to do at home. But it is at the student's discretion. But I also encourage students if they have the time to do it, do it. It would speed up the process for Sami to go thru during the lessons. For questions that he would not be able to cover, Sami would print out his answers and give it to the students.

Actually his class is quite enjoyable lah.. But you have to bear with his extremely short break time lah. He only give 5 minutes break if there are many things to cover and the chances for him to extend the class between 15 mins to 30 mins is very possible, regardless of day or night class. There are also instances for day class where he ask students to come in earlier so that he could cover more exam questions.

Overall, if you really attend his class every session and follow attentively what he is teaching during lecture, you would realise the subject is not as hard as it seems. Plus he is very motivating and assuring. He always try to calm students down by telling them to have more confidence in themselves.

All these factors contributes to the fact why he is so popular. And I never take any other lecturer if Sami is taking that particular subject.

Can anybody tell me more about Sami's teaching style? is he easy to follow? heard he's very fast.

Snoop_

Planning to self study for F1-F3 and taking evening class for F4.

So any recommendations for lecturers for F4 at either Kaplan or SAA?

SAA has Mr Adrian Hoa, Mr Tan Peng Kwee, Mr Malik
Kaplan has Terence Tan, Kweh Soon Han, Dennis Sim

Thanks

clockclock

thank you ! i think i kind of make up my mind. =)

montevi77

Planning to self study for F1-F3 and taking evening class for F4.

So any recommendations for lecturers for F4 at either Kaplan or SAA?

SAA has Mr Adrian Hoa, Mr Tan Peng Kwee, Mr Malik
Kaplan has Terence Tan, Kweh Soon Han, Dennis Sim

Thanks

For kaplan (personal experience),

1) Kweh Soon Han, if not then Terence Tan, problem is he gives lousy lecture notes

Snoop_

For kaplan (personal experience),

1) Kweh Soon Han, if not then Terence Tan, problem is he gives lousy lecture notes

so am i right to say that Kweh Soon Han will be a better bet with better/clear lecture notes and good teaching method?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.