ACCA Students.

hongge

anyone looking for acca textbooks and examkits from kaplan?

selling off
F7,F8 (for jul07 - dec07 edition)
F9,P1,P2 (jan08 - jun08 edition)
F5 (jul07 - dec07 exam kit only)

selling cheap~ pm me ur price.

Michya

Anybody have P1 Lecture Notes from either FTC or SAA?

Are they enough to read and pass the paper or do I need the Study text too?

Thanks

Petrelli_83

Hi, i just received notification that i was registered succesfully, and i can log into MYACCA to register for my exams in Dec 2008. But logging in, i honestly can't find any link to register for any papers. Any help?

crappyz

Hi, i just received notification that i was registered succesfully, and i can log into MYACCA to register for my exams in Dec 2008. But logging in, i honestly can't find any link to register for any papers. Any help?
self study? just apply the exam papers lor... log in go exam entry...

blurz123

hi guys eh don't mind me asking. between UniSIM's UOL accounting and finance and ACCA, which is better? as in future job prospect, which is more difficult etc.

Biogentic

hi guys eh don't mind me asking. between UniSIM's UOL accounting and finance and ACCA, which is better? as in future job prospect, which is more difficult etc.

depending on what you want to do in future.... to stay as an accountant/auditor/tax specialist do acca.

to do a wide ranging finance/accounting related job, a degree from UOL might be better..... but got to take ICPAS PE papers at the end of UOL degree so you can work towards your CPA Spore later......

destiny123

You can only do your CFA after a recognized bachelors. Probably like Accountancy from NTU.
While ACCA you can do after A levels/Poly/CAT.
TeenieBopper is correct. CFA is as difficult as it is prestigious. No pain no gain. So difficult that even grads have problems with it's level 2. (It consists of 3 levels, first is MCQ, the killer is in 2nd and 3rd).
However, it's not to say that ACCA is easy. ACCA itself is also very difficult to pass. Don't underestimate its difficulty if you want to go for it.

PPPPPPP

well a little off topic here but wanna find out whether anyone who completed their acca exams in jun08 has received their affiliate cert? I applied for it like 3wks ago but no news of it as yet. need it to apply for job quite urgently.

Zandon

well a little off topic here but wanna find out whether anyone who completed their acca exams in jun08 has received their affiliate cert? I applied for it like 3wks ago but no news of it as yet. need it to apply for job quite urgently.

i havent got mine yet too. did u applied it online through the portal?

zaemon

same here.. yet to receive it... i think if for application of jobs, the exam results + the letter attached to it sent by ACCA will suffice...

steffan7

I thought CFA is more on Finance side, ACCA is more on accounting side. Both are different modules at all..

blurz123

hmm ok. thx biogenic. between ACCA and unisim's uol accounting and finance, which is more difficult to attain?

Biogentic

hmm ok. thx biogenic. between ACCA and unisim's uol accounting and finance, which is more difficult to attain?

i think no one can tell you which is more difficult to attain unless he/she tried both, agree? another way which u can try doing is to compare the curriculum, it would be reasonable to say that the more topics or area it covers, the harder it is.....

crappyz

i think no one can tell you which is more difficult to attain unless he/she tried both, agree? another way which u can try doing is to compare the curriculum, it would be reasonable to say that the more topics or area it covers, the harder it is.....

I did both...

i did bsc business but took elements of accounting, mgt accounting, financial reporting...

i think the only difference from accounting and finance is no audit and no managerial economics

ACCA is very stressful... every half a year got exam... by the time you receive your results, you have like 3 months to your next exam liao... the all the way is like exam exam exam...

UOL is very relax... the whole year like holiday... until May then i start to panic...

For exam...
UOL you know abit is enough... dun need to know too much... i got 4 subjects below 50 still pass...

ACCA... hmmm... always got alot of people get 48... 49... then repeat... maybe another 2, 3 times???

School wise...
UOL i attended a very lousy school... basically my third year got no lecturer... then the one that got lecturer i cannot hear what he say... even though i sit in the third row... no notes either... had to read study guide which was... cheem...

ACCA... because of the lousy school i attended in UOL... i was so impressed when i went to SAA for 1.1, 1.2, 1.3... good notes, good study guide, good exam kit...

crappyz

with regards to syllabus...
UOL... forgot about the system... but i thought it was not very updated... maybe because i got no lecturer to tell me...

ACCA... accounting standards issued liao 6 months later examinable right??? very up to date and examiners like to examine current issues...

to me...

UOL Management Accounting < ACCA 1.2 Management Accounting...

UOL Financial Reporting < P2 Corporate Reporting...

The following i never take but i would assume... coz 2.4 already so hard...
(UOL Corporate Finance < P4 Advance Financial Management)

ACCA is also more relevant... coz got SGP variant...
Esp local tax and local law...

crappyz

one more thing...

getting a degree is chicken feet... the only thing is what honors you get...

1st class is very difficult...

getting ACCA cert is... challenging... but eventually those who stay on will usually get it... and all is same... pass... no classification...

so if compare 1st class to ACCA... then i think... hmm... dunno

but pass degree to ACCA... no fight...

Zandon

I did both...

i did bsc business but took elements of accounting, mgt accounting, financial reporting...

i think the only difference from accounting and finance is no audit and no managerial economics

ACCA is very stressful... every half a year got exam... by the time you receive your results, you have like 3 months to your next exam liao... the all the way is like exam exam exam...

UOL is very relax... the whole year like holiday... until May then i start to panic...

For exam...
UOL you know abit is enough... dun need to know too much... i got 4 subjects below 50 still pass...

ACCA... hmmm... always got alot of people get 48... 49... then repeat... maybe another 2, 3 times???

School wise...
UOL i attended a very lousy school... basically my third year got no lecturer... then the one that got lecturer i cannot hear what he say... even though i sit in the third row... no notes either... had to read study guide which was... cheem...

ACCA... because of the lousy school i attended in UOL... i was so impressed when i went to SAA for 1.1, 1.2, 1.3... good notes, good study guide, good exam kit...

i agree with stressful part. But like SAA, the school u attended is effectively like a "tuition center" so that u can go take UOL exams. it's not UOL lousy, its the school u enrolled is lousy.

with regards to syllabus...
UOL... forgot about the system... but i thought it was not very updated... maybe because i got no lecturer to tell me...

ACCA... accounting standards issued liao 6 months later examinable right??? very up to date and examiners like to examine current issues...

to me...

UOL Management Accounting < ACCA 1.2 Management Accounting...

UOL Financial Reporting < P2 Corporate Reporting...

The following i never take but i would assume... coz 2.4 already so hard...
(UOL Corporate Finance < P4 Advance Financial Management)

ACCA is also more relevant... coz got SGP variant...
Esp local tax and local law...

ACCA syllabus is very current, i agree. but it's misleading to say "UOL Financial Reporting < P2 Corporate Reporting...", coz p2 is at much higher level.
u should compare F7 with FR to be fair. From feedbacks from my ACCA classmates who is doing UOL too, it's about the same.
Correct me if i am wrong, UOL's FR also study FRS right? that is SGP variant?

one more thing...

getting a degree is chicken feet... the only thing is what honors you get...

1st class is very difficult...

getting ACCA cert is... challenging... but eventually those who stay on will usually get it... and all is same... pass... no classification...

so if compare 1st class to ACCA... then i think... hmm... dunno

but pass degree to ACCA... no fight...

ya first class honours is definitely hard and is a proud achievement.
Actually ACCA if u pass all in 1 attempt, it will make u stand out from the rest of the ACCA. Not an easy thing to do.
lastly, degree and ACCA cannot compare like that, one is academic cert one is professional cert. apple is not necessary better than orange and vice versa.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.