ACCA Students.

T-cOTOn-T

BPP is better I guess..

Personally, I am not a big fan of BPP text, it's more a compilation of key notes & summaries than a textbook.

My one grievance is that BPP can be better at trying to explain the concepts coz it can be rather disjointed sometimes. I feel they just grab whatever points/notes they can find in their library and dump them into the textbook.

There are P3 students who had some difficulties in capturing the essence of the Diamond Model from the BPP textbook until they read other materials. By referencing to other recommended textbooks will emphasize the disparity.

There is also some inconsistency in the way certain concepts are explained with one explanation being more comprehensive & concise than the other, when they are entirely based on the same topic. They were clearly authored by different people.

The worse of the lot is of course F4. Terrible waste of paper with lots of blank empty spaces, inept organisation of chapters/topics, lackadaisical by way of explanations.

As have been said numerous times, wider reading is recommended.

friendlyguy

Personally, I am not a big fan of BPP text, it's more a compilation of key notes & summaries than a textbook.

My one grievance is that BPP can be better at trying to explain the concepts coz it can be rather disjointed sometimes. I feel they just grab whatever points/notes they can find in their library and dump them into the textbook.

There are P3 students who had some difficulties in capturing the essence of the Diamond Model from the BPP textbook until they read other materials. By referencing to other recommended textbooks will emphasize the disparity.

There is also some inconsistency in the way certain concepts are explained with one explanation being more comprehensive & concise than the other, when they are entirely based on the same topic. They were clearly authored by different people.

The worse of the lot is of course F4. Terrible waste of paper with lots of blank empty spaces, inept organisation of chapters/topics, lackadaisical by way of explanations.

As have been said numerous times, wider reading is recommended.

I like BPP>Kaplan for F8 and P5.

Foreverblue

thanks bro.. Can I take for F6,P3,P5? And can F6 be self study?
and which one of my papers that are easy for self study?

P5 cannot unless you clear all your F papers. hmm, i am taking F8,p1,p3. P1 heard from my friend can be done thru self study but its never easy.

evoked87

P3 cannot self study? how about F9? so F9,P3,F6 can?

I think if u want to self study, better to take up those that has less concepts and calculations. Like F4/8 & P1/3. It is better if there is someone explaining to you for those chim calculations.

If want to say self study, all also can, only see which one you can handle better. At least to me I find theory easier to do it alone, BUT I still sign up for classes every paper, if you think it is an easier paper just opt for the cheaper class. It helps me keep focus on exams, and also I'm not that disciplined type.

Depends on examiner also, I just took F9, what a nightmare. Perhaps I didn't prepare comprehensively but the questions I would say almost never see before in past exams. So if examiner chu stunt, you also sian 1/2.

---

I took F1-3 during NS. I've seen people taking higher level papers during NS too, but of course maybe 1 or 2 papers unless they gungho. I'm at a stay-out unit so it is possible, and also I start at the 2nd year of NS when I cleared most of those lame requirements to ORD. For stay-in units I think low chances to bookout study, those people if taking papers should be self-studying. Exams the time, take leave.

---

BPP and Kaplan both should be good enough books to serve individually. Although I don't use them, and only during near exams use a bit... I find it depends on papers also. Maybe certain paper the edition is better. It also lean on personal preference. So I'll say take either one is good enough.

T-cOTOn-T

.....Although I don't use them, and only during near exams use a bit... I find it depends on papers also. Maybe certain paper the edition is better. It also lean on personal preference. So I'll say take either one is good enough.

I find it odd, you could, in good faith, assess its usability then recommend them when yours truly almost entirely do not depend on them.

jessica_yun

Thanks for your reply :)
But i'm supposed to get enrolled into one right.
Or do you mean there'r different lecturers who taught same modules in the same school?
Sorry but i feel kinda lost

i mean there are different lecturers teaching same modules in different school.

so see which lecturer is good and go enrol for his lessons?

val.angelic

Hi all,

I'm planning to self study F4 for the Dec 2010 exams, would like some advice on this:

1) Is it plausible at all to self study and pass in the 1st attempt?
2) Do I need to get the latest study guides and revision kit? I have on hands the Jan 09 one. Is it already outdated?
3) Is the syllabus throughly covered in the study guide? Are the suggested readings essential?

Please advise.

Thanks!

evoked87

I find it odd, you could, in good faith, assess its usability then recommend them when yours truly almost entirely do not depend on them.

What I meant is I use my lecturer notes primarily, if got things don't understand refer to the Text book. Usually need them more when exam is close. So if the text book is poorly designed or has poor explanations, I can easily conclude if it is helpful or not - especially if I glanced through concepts that I already know in there.

---

Anyway, with those new syllabus coming up in June 2011 & Dec 2011, does anyone think got specific papers must faster clear 1?

I wanted to take P1, but now I saw P2 got changes, wonder if I should take P2 first since theory paper impact should be not that great. About to sign up liao then saw this.
Don't tell me to take both lol..-.-"

Please advise. :)

The changes:
http://accastudent.newsweaver.co.uk/images/7062/11242/534084/ACCA 2011.pdf

friendlyguy

What I meant is I use my lecturer notes primarily, if got things don't understand refer to the Text book. Usually need them more when exam is close. So if the text book is poorly designed or has poor explanations, I can easily conclude if it is helpful or not - especially if I glanced through concepts that I already know in there.

---

Anyway, with those new syllabus coming up in June 2011 & Dec 2011, does anyone think got specific papers must faster clear 1?

I wanted to take P1, but now I saw P2 got changes, wonder if I should take P2 first since theory paper impact should be not that great. About to sign up liao then saw this.
Don't tell me to take both lol..-.-"

Please advise. :)

The changes:
http://accastudent.newsweaver.co.uk/images/7062/11242/534084/ACCA 2011.pdf

P3 become harder, we should clear it now. But it's too late for me, the exam is in june 2011.

where to buy F6 guide and workbooks? and how much does it cost?

and where to study ACCA online? I think I don't have time to go classes since I will work full time as an auditor soon.

evoked87

P3 become harder, we should clear it now. But it's too late for me, the exam is in june 2011.

where to buy F6 guide and workbooks? and how much does it cost?

and where to study ACCA online? I think I don't have time to go classes since I will work full time as an auditor soon.

wa.. 1-2 days evening also wun let out? is it big 4 or all the audit firms also like that? i also planning to take 1-2 paper and work now, after chiong my earlier papers - exams the time very tough.

for f6 i think u meant study txt/rev kit? some people will sell at the forums can try... not sure if anywhere else have, buy from school is much more ex.

I was thinking about p1 or p2 only, lol.. didnt even think about p3. From what i learn is that p2 left broadcast class if want sami. now i look at p3 does look like some chim modifications but saw some things moved to p5, waiting for more advice on this 3 papers..

p1 & p3 should be saa. if taking p3 i'd like Andytan but his got revision class become so EX, wanna call and ask if can don't want that or not lol. who else is good for p3 eh?

friendlyguy

wa.. 1-2 days evening also wun let out? is it big 4 or all the audit firms also like that? i also planning to take 1-2 paper and work now, after chiong my earlier papers - exams the time very tough.

for f6 i think u meant study txt/rev kit? some people will sell at the forums can try... not sure if anywhere else have, buy from school is much more ex.

I was thinking about p1 or p2 only, lol.. didnt even think about p3. From what i learn is that p2 left broadcast class if want sami. now i look at p3 does look like some chim modifications but saw some things moved to p5, waiting for more advice on this 3 papers..

p1 & p3 should be saa. if taking p3 i'd like Andytan but his got revision class become so EX, wanna call and ask if can don't want that or not lol. who else is good for p3 eh?

P2 I like james kwan..
yes, in audit firm most likely go home at 9 p.m.
F6 where ppl sell? the syllabus every year different right?

evoked87

P2 I like james kwan..
yes, in audit firm most likely go home at 9 p.m.
F6 where ppl sell? the syllabus every year different right?

Hmm.. sounds bad. I prefer to attend classes, maybe i'll start finding a random accounting assistant job instead of an audit firm.

F6 Jun 10 and Dec 10 still using the same text books. So new changes should be 2011 then implement.

P2 dun think this round got James Kwan.. Evening only saw Goh sher wee, Joe fang. Got Ben lee but is morning.

friendlyguy

what is the difference between P1 and P1 sgp variant? which one we should take?

For F6 sgp variant,P7 sg variant,p2 int stream?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.