ACCA Students.

Crisis

i think Nicholas Woo is also pretty good in lecturing for audit papers

Biogentic

next year for the 3 papers that i am going to take, there are still good lecturers in ftc, so i decided to stick with them. but coming p3 + the optional papers, think i will be joining saa, look their they have better lecturers for these papers.

i took
f9 sammi
p1 roy goh
p2 sammi

if not for sammi class, think i am gg to saa next year liao, lol....

alexyj

none, my current law lecturer sux.. and i dun remember anyone has good feedback abt any law lecturer
lol.. seems like there are no outstanding law lecturer.. anyway thanks all for the advice.. looking forward to the new term!!

confused

Can anyone help me?

Hey guys, I am in need of study notes for F6 Taxation paper December exam. Is anyone willing to help out a fellow ACCA student?

Please PM me. Thank you very much for your selfless assistance.

missotah

yo the wifi at kaplan is secured, student have the password?

they din give me leh, anyone got any idea where to get it can pm me. thanks.

sylvest83

Hi all... Anyone got any recommendation on whether SAA is beta or Kaplan?
And also anyone studying in Kaplan who knows is the English spoken by the lecturer Domnic Danaraj easily understood? My language is not very good that's my worry...

Biogentic

And also anyone studying in Kaplan who knows is the English spoken by the lecturer Domnic Danaraj easily understood? My language is not very good that's my worry...

it is not the school that is better... it is the lecturer that decides everything.

hongge

domnic's language is ok. its his handwritting tat u will have prob with. messy handwriting with lotta short forms and his teaching speed is fast. but well, he is knowledgeable and able to teach alot in the shortest avail time.

MrFlower

yup, i agree.

dominic is alright.

he speak english which can be easily understood. and he has a sense of humour when he has the spare time to too.

compared to the chinamen lecturers in ntu engineering or the indian nationals in ntu, who are teaching staffs, prof and what not, they speak something they perceive to be english... while the rest of the 1000 students have a better idea what those clowns are talking about by reading the notes handout instead.

so, surprisingly, yes, kaplan is better and more selective in their teaching staff than our national university who employs so many foreigners without first establishing if they can pronounce english in the generally accepted manner whereby it is the Standard English or in British Council's defn, RP English.

Biogentic

yup, i agree.

dominic is alright.

he speak english which can be easily understood. and he has a sense of humour when he has the spare time to too.

compared to the chinamen lecturers in ntu engineering or the indian nationals in ntu, who are teaching staffs, prof and what not, they speak something they perceive to be english... while the rest of the 1000 students have a better idea what those clowns are talking about by reading the notes handout instead.

so, surprisingly, yes, kaplan is better and more selective in their teaching staff than our national university who employs so many foreigners without first establishing if they can pronounce english in the generally accepted manner whereby it is the Standard English or in British Council's defn, RP English.

kaplan is a profit oriented school, so their objective is to maximise profit, it can only be done with good lecturers so student will be coming back for them.
other schools are not profit oriented. their objective is to educate the student, it can be done by many ways....

Petrelli_83

kaplan is a profit oriented school, so their objective is to maximise profit, it can only be done with good lecturers so student will be coming back for them.
other schools are not profit oriented. their objective is to educate the student, it can be done by many ways....

Won't say the other school's objective is to educate teh student lah... if ur "other" refers to NUS/NTU. THose who cannot speak a proper sentence of english but still hired is prolly for their research capabilites, or credentials etc, over their ability to teach. Could be the reason why we're seeing a lot of chinese/koreans who can barely pronounce their own subject. Kaplan on the other hand, as you've said, emphasizes student satisfaction, since their ultimate aim is to make profits. (Some profit-oriented schools also hire crackpot lecturers, lol)

Kira512

hi can i ask which is better for me

1) Take acca first 3 paper(lvl 1) --> Work 2 year --> Continue acca

or

2)take CAT -->work 2 year -->continue acca

which is better for me cos i need to work to save up $$ and i scare that i will fail if i study and work at the same time

hope u all can give me some info and comments which is better for me

PPPPPPP

or

which is better for me cos i need to work to save up $$ and i scare that i will fail if i study and work at the same time

CAT. At least then you have a full CAT cert (equivalent to a diploma). Partial acca cert is pretty useless. However, you require a few years to complete CAT even on a full time basis and assuming you don't fail any paper.

Biogentic

or

frankly speaking... acca is really nightmare to me, i just cant imagine myself studying so many hours... sometimes it really give you the feeling of giving up...... but i had already step into it, guess it is not my choice to give up. you really need to have the determination... exam is coming soon, i am studying like 6-7hrs each day which i had never did in my life except for acca paper.s

charzzy

CAT. At least then you have a full CAT cert (equivalent to a diploma). Partial acca cert is pretty useless. However, you require a few years to complete CAT even on a full time basis and assuming you don't fail any paper.
Not necessary. I took only 8 months to complete CATs. Computer based for first 4 papers, and remaining 5 written. I feel CATs is very useful especially if you intend to take ACCA and have 0 accounting knowledge.

PPPPPPP

Not necessary. I took only 8 months to complete CATs. Computer based for first 4 papers, and remaining 5 written. I feel CATs is very useful especially if you intend to take ACCA and have 0 accounting knowledge.

Probably you're right, i never took cat..so just an estimate lol

Biogentic

hey brooo u also here ar..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.