Accident! Help!

twenty47

Dear all, I got involved in an accident and a workshop guy happened to pass by and assisted me in writing report and he is bringing the replacement car to me later to my work place.

Does anyone have such experience? is it safe for them to do filing of report for me? any risk involved in engaging 3rd party workshop to do my repair?

Pros, Please advise.

dewdropdoll

Dear all, I got involved in an accident and a workshop guy happened to pass by and assisted me in writing report and he is bringing the replacement car to me later to my work place.

Does anyone have such experience? is it safe for them to do filing of report for me? any risk involved in engaging 3rd party workshop to do my repair?

Pros, Please advise.

it's not advisable to let them do the claims for you baa.

go back to your reliable or trusted workshop if you have any. NONE? then please go back to your AD/Insure coy for help. ;)

AL5509

Pros, Please advise.
My humble opionion, these people do not just 'pass by' as they said.
Next, my personal suggestion 'NEVER' for ME I will let them handle my case!
Why??
Be it if you are winning the case or not.
They will take a huge cut from your insurance claim at later stage which willl bring up the claim amount.

Downside if you are the victim of the insurance, you will be shocked see which is the claim so high.

But the WORST part is these people you 'met' on the road for being so 'helpful' may not be approved person to even handle your case,
So what happened next?

Those 'nice' service no longer become free to you!
The scary part is they MAY & CAN bill you HIGH for it as you must remember Nothing in SG comes FREE hor.

So if possible, reject all these service.
Call your own insurance company, ask for those workshops which is under the claim 'umbrella' of the company to do up the claim.

Just my 2€ worth which I maybe 'wrong' with such 'helpful' person on road............

john hanley

Pros, Please advise.

Double edged sword.

The workshop will jack the prices up so high the bugger who get claimed from will go "dayum! I bang rolls Royce ah?"

The tricky part is if cannot claim, and they bill you...you will go"dayum! I drive rolls Royce ah?!"

marytan

Pros, Please advise.

not all insurance allow third party workshop, especially NTUC. if he die die wants to help u, make sure he sign the fully responsible letter that no matter if he win or lost, u will not need to pay a single cents.

moreover, you case are 100% type, else these people will not even waste time on you, if you approach other workshop, they may even pay u a token to take up your case, since its 100% winning

linbeier

gxgx chiu juz met a workshop tout and he just made a couple thousands off chiu.

testing1234

i read of this kind of accidents before..not sure if its edmw or somewhere else but its all staged (try to remember how the accident happened and why it happened).kena accident then somehow a very helpful guy will pass by and help u and the rest u could roughly guess what would happen

twenty47

TY everyone for your replies. for me the case is straightforward - he bang my back on a straight road

The workshop told me they will write me a black and white that no matter what i will not be paying a single cent.

How much they want to claim from the opposite party i don't really need to care right?

twenty47

What a coincidence...

i'm sure its not staged... the car behind damn lugi... expensive car bang my lousy car from the back....

I called my insurance.. they said if i'm claiming against other party, i am free to go to any workshop.

I am thinking of giving them the business coz they really helped me save a lot of time.

Are there any other cautions besides the letter stating that i dont need to pay a single cent?

AL5509

TY everyone for your replies. for me the case is straightforward - he bang my back on a straight road

The workshop told me they will write me a black and white that no matter what i will not be paying a single cent.

How much they want to claim from the opposite party i don't really need to care right?
hhhmm to TS, be 'kind' to others and do not encourage such activities to go on for good.

Becaused of all these w/s and their crazy claim. This contribute to WHY the insurance premium always shoot off the roof.

Lastly, it is.surely not too tough to do your own claim thou.

Just my 2¢ worth.

twenty47

hhhmm to TS, be 'kind' to others and do not encourage such activities to go on for good.

Becaused of all these w/s and their crazy claim. This contribute to WHY the insurance premium always shoot off the roof.

Lastly, it is.surely not too tough to do your own claim thou.

Just my 2¢ worth.

I had that thought too but I thought the other party will send their surveyor to look at the car before the workshop can start work? that way the w/s cannot anyhow claim right? please correct me if im wrong

AL5509

i'm sure its not staged... the car behind damn lugi... expensive car bang my lousy car from the back....

I called my insurawnce.. they said if i'm claiming against other party, i am free to go to any workshop.

I am thinking of giving them the business coz they really helped me save a lot of time.

Are there any other cautions besides the letter stating that i dont need to pay a single cent?
If you only concern now is not to pay a single cents.
By all means go ahead with them.
But rememeber they do not 'help' for FREE or out of good will thou.
There will be a huge profit to obtain if not why help you.

Thanks for helping many other drivers to 'push' the insurance amount to another higher level just because...............

jq75

Pros, Please advise.

REJECT THEM.

call ur respective workshop/insurer

jq75

If you only concern now is not to pay a single cents.
By all means go ahead with them.

Thanks for helping many other drivers to 'push' the insurance amount to another higher level just because...............

john hanley

I had that thought too but I thought the other party will send their surveyor to look at the car before the workshop can start work? that way the w/s cannot anyhow claim right? please correct me if im wrong

Got 1001 ways to skirt around the fringes of the law one.

My suggestion is go to a fair honest workshop lah....even better offer the other party a chance to intro you his workshop. Make a potential friend, who knows you might expand your network with a person who will be willing to go out on a limb for you next time?

Arsene_Wenger

Just an advice to TS.

If you want to be nice guy, go to your insurance authorised workshops and let them do.

Usually all workshops under insurance coys are so called directly under GIA so there wont be lawyers involved meaning the claim amount should be lesser.

When claim amount is lesser, you are indirectly contributing to pushing insurance premium down.

How it works - Your insurance authorised workshops will file claims to the other party insurance coys and if it is a straight liability by them then they will usually just accept the claims.

But there might be cases where the other party insurance coys will just reject since no lawyers involved so they can paint black to white.

In these cases, you have to lan lan go find an outsider workshops of your choice to sue them with lawyer letter.

This outside workshop is the one who 'offer' to help you like you have encountered.

jittery

last time my ex-colleague bang 1 car and the other car bang a taxi, the taxi bumper only 2 x 50 cents dent but taxi claim him $8000.

jq75

For Public: Motor

The Motor Claims Framework (MCF) provides the following clear and common procedures for the reporting of motor accidents:

THREE STEPS TO DO IN A CAR ACCIDENT

1) a) Exchange Particulars of Parties Involved in the Accident and take note of the vehicle numbers
b) Take photos of the scene of the accident and the damages to all vehicles

2) Call Your Insurer's Hotline for a Tow-Truck or further advice on the accident

3) Report within 24 Hours or by the next working day

Motorists are strongly advised not to have any dealings with unauthorized tow-truck operators at the scene of accident. They are also advised not to send their damaged vehicles to any unauthorized repair workshops to avoid complications of their claims.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.