Activation Lock

dimm88

Hi all, i have been using my iPhone 6 for more than a year. Just now trying to do a clean restore. Everything went smoothly until it came to a Activation Lock requesting Apple ID and password.

Issue is that i can't enter my Apple ID and when i notice it said "This iPhone is linked to an Apple ID ........... (cxxxxx@yahoo.com)

This is not my ID. I bought new from Singtel shop. So now i am stuck at this stage. Any advise how to proceed? Thanks

uniquely_ad

As a person whom has lots of apple devices, thats called an icloud lock, you need to get whom ever that email address to unlock it for you, no way to bypass it, its an anti theft

Weird its been more than 1year + now then icloud prompts you? Den how you used your app store to dl ur apps and all?

If its as you say from singtel shop then bring it back to them, cause that means that phone wasnt brand new when singtel sold it to you

dimm88

I have used iTunes for updating before no issue. I was trying do a clean restore to back to factory setting. When it did completely clean up everything and iTunes show the Activation Lock page asking for Apple ID. This is the first time doing a restore. I do understand about the anti that thing.

Usually i download or purchase app thru my phone with my Apple ID...no issue. Could it be when i purchase the phone a year plus ago the singtel staff activate using his on email?

Btw, where you guys download the latest 9.3.5 IPSW file?

uniquely_ad

I have used iTunes for updating before no issue. I was trying do a clean restore to back to factory setting. When it did completely clean up everything and iTunes show the Activation Lock page asking for Apple ID. This is the first time doing a restore. I do understand about the anti that thing.

Usually i download or purchase app thru my phone with my Apple ID...no issue. Could it be when i purchase the phone a year plus ago the singtel staff activate using his on email?

Btw, where you guys download the latest 9.3.5 IPSW file?

Singtel staff sold you a used iphone? There isnt a need for singtel staff to login to icloud, a google search can find the file

dimm88

Singtel staff sold you a used iphone? There isnt a need for singtel staff to login to icloud, a google search can find the file

I did not say Singtel staff sold me a used phone. The box is open in front of me. but i just can't understand when it show the phone is linked to another email on the Activation Lock screen.

dimm88

Bring your receipt, and iPhone down to any AASP and see if they're able to assist you.
https://locate.apple.com/sg/en/

All the best.

You are referring to the service centre? I am afraid I do not have the receipt anymore .
Wonder if Singtel be able to print out a copy of my contract. Of cos in the contract will show the imei of the phone which can be use to check against the back of my phone.

jq75

Isn't email used for activation shld be same as that for App Store as well?

chenaz

Activation email is tied to the iCloud 99% percent of the user use AppStore and iCloud as same email. However they can be used with different email.

Singtel can print u a copy of contract for a certain fee. They sent me a copy when I have conflicts with them and they waived the fee .

Food_Lover

You are referring to the service centre? I am afraid I do not have the receipt anymore .
Wonder if Singtel be able to print out a copy of my contract. Of cos in the contract will show the imei of the phone which can be use to check against the back of my phone.

You definitely able to retrieve the receipt if you purchase any of the Singtel Shop (excludes Singtel Authorised Agent/Retail shop). Just drop by to Singtel Comcentre and tell them the location that you had purchased/your NRIC for verification; etc.

Once you are able to get the POP, call our Apple Hotline at 800-186-1087. Afterwhich, the respective T1 Advisor will gladly assist you and escalate further.

nWo

KNN i also got this.

Did a factory reset and now it asks for Activation Lock with another unrecognizable email account.

I still got the SingTel softcopy receipt thankfully, wonder if a trip down to QCD or A.LAB service centre can solve the problem on the spot OR if I should call Apple instead, and having to wait for a few more days.

AlexNice

Did you log in @icloud at your phone?
Or you just left it empty?

dricas_007

Sounds like apple server tio hacked or china clone imei and serial number to release lock from activation locked phone...read overseas forum alot kena this ****:s22:

tohchr

KNN i also got this.

Did a factory reset and now it asks for Activation Lock with another unrecognizable email account.

I still got the SingTel softcopy receipt thankfully, wonder if a trip down to QCD or A.LAB service centre can solve the problem on the spot OR if I should call Apple instead, and having to wait for a few more days.
iOS 10 had this activation bug and Apple is aware. What u need to do is to contact Apple and explained to them. They will tell u need time to investigate blah blah blah. Ultimately, they are capable to unlock remotely after investigation.

jq75

Sounds like apple server tio hacked or china clone imei and serial number to release lock from activation locked phone...read overseas forum alot kena this ****:s22:

no official news on this though;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.