Actually buying bto is consider saving $???

tsnd01

Yes in a sense but put the money into a low cost etf is better unless you need a personal space

jq1986

A BTO is a straight injection of between $100 to $200k cash into one's pocket.

Some may argue it's just paper - it's not. There are many ways to cash out like lease buyback scheme, downsize (got bonus grant to boot).

kage

U all agree???

U dont spend on bto, ur $$$ also go else where. Unless u invest

Next time sell ur bto cfm make $$. See make less or more only
Especially for BBFAs, buy a house first, small also nevermind, then invest ur money after tat ....

At least use it for down payment first ....

PastaKong

got see the interest rate ? and now the price of a 3 room ?
if the celery can cope paying the interest ?

of course la some might say those rural area cheaper , outskirt of SG.

wongminmin

not save money.

is a form of investment......

100k -> sell 400k in 5 years.
200k -> sell 500k in 5 years.
300k -> sell 600k in 10 years.

The return u lookin at least 300% :unsure:

However, u need to pick the best project for max profit.

hachi

Buy bto to get free house. I did that, my bto make my 2nd bto free. Yes buy bto is to save money. Single buy and rent, also transfer money out of cpf.

1982-1994

Actually now BTO is same as resales market price?
Same location, boh kor leng same price!
sell alreday live wheere??
Mentioned many times

When MOP, go for 2nd BTO
Then stay at the same flat for another 5 years
Before key collection, sell the 1st flat and request extension of stay from the new owner when the 2nd flat is under reno
Not only earn but also no more HDB loan

Think many sinkies don't know about it, still gong gong think sell high also buy high

Eh your BTO also going to MOP right iirc?
Buy a cheaper bto and buy a car is the better move.
Buy a cheaper BTO NEXT to a MRT AND a shopping mall best move
Bbfa only 2 room bto
Very little flip and rental value
I knew some colleague who sold his Canberra 2R at $440k when he bought it at below $200k or $150k, bought a 4R resale at maybe, $550k and fast hand fast leg rented 2 bedrooms out

U buy bto u kena 20 years debt
I am left with 21 years of loan,if I can work for another 8-10 years, it is ok since I can afford to pay without relying on urgent fund

Otherwise, just BTO at standard location
How is that saving $
Actually for some, it boils down to transport fares and commute time saved daily
Compare to staying at punggol, I am saving 60¢*2pax*2 trips daily =$2.40 (easily $800+ a year!)
An hour saved daily too

Reznik

Same location, boh kor leng same price!

Mentioned many times

When MOP, go for 2nd BTO
Then stay at the same flat for another 5 years
Before key collection, sell the 1st flat and request extension of stay from the new owner when the 2nd flat is under reno
Not only earn but also no more HDB loan

Think many sinkies don't know about it, still gong gong think sell high also buy high

Eh your BTO also going to MOP right iirc?

Buy a cheaper BTO NEXT to a MRT AND a shopping mall best move

I knew some colleague who sold his Canberra 2R at $440k when he bought it at below $200k or $150k, bought a 4R resale at maybe, $550k and fast hand fast leg rented 2 bedrooms out

I am left with 21 years of loan,if I can work for another 8-10 years, it is ok since I can afford to pay without relying on urgent fund

Otherwise, just BTO at standard location

Actually for some, it boils down to transport fares and commute time saved daily
Compare to staying at punggol, I am saving 60¢*2pax*2 trips daily =$2.40 (easily $800+ a year!)
An hour saved daily too
How to be below income ceiling despite having first BTO already?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.