Actually there quite logic to decrease our funding on SAF.

:s22:

we all know SG don't have nature resources.

Our food supply nearly 90 percent from various countries.

They just cut our food supply already can do damage to our country..WITHOUT even send their troops come invade our country.

If not mistaken USA now also slowly decrease their funding on Military. In USA their people are angry on their government that they spend huge fund on Military instead on education.

just recently if I not mistaken , China and Japan also decrease their funding on military.

Only South Korea increase due to North Korea issue.

Whereas on Europe they more busy on restructure their economics , etc issues.

In fact now globally they more on focus and concern more on terrorists treat.

LOL , we also can see ourselves ..look inside SAF those officer...., middle age to near retirement...everyday just walk around .., tea break ....canteen...officer mess drink beer..play pool...than knock off....

OETI lol if you go their canteen all semi retirement officers , CSM , etc look dam happy and relax...

Orionz

paranoia....when we had no army, high spendings was justified.

then we caught up with our neighbours ...
then we exceeded them...

now, the question is, are we going to keep spending more and more as our economy expands?
is the spending really efficiently spent or not?

all guys here been through NS, i think we can safely say SAF have quite a lot of wastage.
can we cut budget buy 40%? - i don't think so
can we stop growing the budget? - absolutely!

paranoia....when we had no army, high spendings was justified.

then we caught up with our neighbours ...
then we exceeded them...

now, the question is, are we going to keep spending more and more as our economy expands?
is the spending really efficiently spent or not?

all guys here been through NS, i think we can safely say SAF have quite a lot of wastage.
can we cut budget buy 40%? - i don't think so
can we stop growing the budget? - absolutely!

we SG also cannot afford to make enemy with other countries in fact ALL.

Look even PM lee in National day rally mention ......whenever HAZE come from indon....we should know what to do.

what he mean...if indo need our help ...to fight forest fire etc...we have to go don't ask why and this.

Same theory apply on our defence. We are only killing ourselves if you offend other countries...

No doubt some countries want to give treat to SG.....but we also LL as PM lee ownself say we just a small country...

our expense on defence actually is quite high over the years keep pumping....

I feel is more on Malaysia ..the treat....but anyway Now war cannot be so easy to start.

Look at North korea always threaten to start war with South korea...recently incident....again " no sound already " at the boundary there..

not to forget there is NWO i forget the short term....like Peace Orignizaiton....summary you want to start a war now.....is also not easy....

don't compare with islamic countries etc....that is their own inner war....inside.

maskingtape

I dont agree in cutting SAF funds. SAF is not just military, but a versatile asset to the country. Example, if today MRT down, they can be deployed to jaga the MRT stations. Okay jokes aside. A well equipped force can be very useful in many areas, especially national crisis such as disasters etc.

:)

that is more on Home team isn't it?

if not mistaken that is different fund from government

one for SAF

one for Home team.

if you mention incident like that..I feel this more suit home team...and they need more funds to do that no doubt about it.

Orionz

just because we have world peace for the last 50-60 years doesn't mean its peace forever.

statistically speaking, this short period of peace time is only an exception rather than the general rule

maskingtape

:)

that is more on Home team isn't it?

if not mistaken that is different fund from government

one for SAF

one for Home team.

if you mention incident like that..I feel this more suit home team...and they need more funds to do that no doubt about it.

Home team is more for day to day issue, handling minor stuff, area by area the most. They can't really handle a national crisis. The moment when military step in, is the moment when big **** happened. They are like the last defence or technically have the most advanced resources to get work done. Example, 1 riot in 1 place. Can deploy home team. 1 big fire, can deploy home team. But imagine riot in almost everywhere in Singapore, or suddenly 1 big earthquake and rock the whole island or go into war, that's when military step in and whole country listen to their command. Although it's very unlikely as we see now, but it's always good to prepare. Lesson learnt from WW2.

maskingtape

we SG also cannot afford to make enemy with other countries in fact ALL.

Look even PM lee in National day rally mention ......whenever HAZE come from indon....we should know what to do.

what he mean...if indo need our help ...to fight forest fire etc...we have to go don't ask why and this.

Same theory apply on our defence. We are only killing ourselves if you offend other countries...

No doubt some countries want to give treat to SG.....but we also LL as PM lee ownself say we just a small country...

our expense on defence actually is quite high over the years keep pumping....

I feel is more on Malaysia ..the treat....but anyway Now war cannot be so easy to start.

Look at North korea always threaten to start war with South korea...recently incident....again " no sound already " at the boundary there..

not to forget there is NWO i forget the short term....like Peace Orignizaiton....summary you want to start a war now.....is also not easy....

don't compare with islamic countries etc....that is their own inner war....inside.

When japan invaded SG, people thought it won't happen because China will fight them off. Some even said japanese troops were so little that by the time they reached SG, only a few left.

War is usually unpredictable. Nobody predicted that WW2 was still possible after WW1. The americans didn't see Japan bombing at pearl harbour.

In most cases, all it takes is just 1 siao kia to unite the people and go into war. Whatever NWO is just an alliance to try hold peace and order. When some siao kia start war, doesn't mean they will all chiong in help you like dota. Because by sending their countrymen into war, they need to answer to their people too. So they can choose not to join your war. That's why SG trying to make friends and please everyone. Best not to start a war. Or in the event if really kana one, ringing up 100 countries has more chance of getting help than ringing up 10 countries.

Senna Wales

Honestly we can afford to cut a lot. Not an arbitrary number but still it would be substantial. Or we could shift a big amount of that budget back to the NSFs and NSMen. Either way works. The current way doesn't.

Alphina

Home team is more for day to day issue, handling minor stuff, area by area the most. They can't really handle a national crisis. The moment when military step in, is the moment when big **** happened. They are like the last defence or technically have the most advanced resources to get work done. Example, 1 riot in 1 place. Can deploy home team. 1 big fire, can deploy home team. But imagine riot in almost everywhere in Singapore, or suddenly 1 big earthquake and rock the whole island or go into war, that's when military step in and whole country listen to their command. Although it's very unlikely as we see now, but it's always good to prepare. Lesson learnt from WW2.
:o You can continue to live in your jungle and let the banana trees screw you. SPF and SCDF runs 12-14hrs real time ops. Deployments more than your jungle games and fight hand to hand combat more than you take a **** in camp. :s22:

DeepDive

donch throw away chiur life insurance / hospitalisation (dying slowly ish more costly in sg) policy...... can enhance coverage and find more cost effective plans without needing to downgrade level of coverage......

Carnage

:s22:

we all know SG don't have nature resources.

Our food supply nearly 90 percent from various countries.

They just cut our food supply already can do damage to our country..WITHOUT even send their troops come invade our country.

If not mistaken USA now also slowly decrease their funding on Military. In USA their people are angry on their government that they spend huge fund on Military instead on education.

just recently if I not mistaken , China and Japan also decrease their funding on military.

Only South Korea increase due to North Korea issue.

Whereas on Europe they more busy on restructure their economics , etc issues.

In fact now globally they more on focus and concern more on terrorists treat.

LOL , we also can see ourselves ..look inside SAF those officer...., middle age to near retirement...everyday just walk around .., tea break ....canteen...officer mess drink beer..play pool...than knock off....

OETI lol if you go their canteen all semi retirement officers , CSM , etc look dam happy and relax...

You are mistaken. China and Japan are increasing their defense budget.

evq

cut ministers' pay lah, anyway, they cant solve any issue also.

jedi5diah

after all the provoking of other countries, we have no choice but to increase much much more...

t0rnado

Sounds more like old folks home :s13:

champagne_0910

i think it's a touchy issue when it comes to defense.. since it's not easy to qualify or quantify national threats.. perhaps many may have the impression that saf a lot of jiak liao bee.. or wasteful.. etc..

but for a military budget.. it's not just the numbers.. it's also about sending a message..

lalalalalala

Our country so small, if there is a nationwide riot I believe most of the nsmen will be in it. So who will go back to camp? :s22:

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.