Advice Needed (Building a PC)

YYS1995

Uh, first time building own gaming rig ... so decided to come over here. Tentatively getting it in around 2wk+ time (once exam over) , must do research first mah.

Going to use the com for BF4 (dun need those siao siao setting but enough to handle the multi-player at decent graphics) ...Bioshock infinite ... AC Black Flag..Hitman absolution and DOTA.

Budget SGD1.4-1.6k (Need all parts except keyboard and mouse). Camped on forums already for some prior research...found out that most people suggested i5-4570, Palit gtx760 2gb...msi mobos. But then still very blur...like sotong. So coming over here to ask.

Besides asking for help to recommend build :) ...I think I also need help recommending place to buy the parts...I keep seeing tradepac popping up/ someone suggested newegg too (and probably place to assemble. Not that I cannot assemble myself lah...backup plan in case really cant ><)

Many Thanks in advance. - YS

royfrosty

Uh, first time building own gaming rig ... so decided to come over here. Tentatively getting it in around 2wk+ time (once exam over) , must do research first mah.

Going to use the com for BF4 (dun need those siao siao setting but enough to handle the multi-player at decent graphics) ...Bioshock infinite ... AC Black Flag..Hitman absolution and DOTA.

Budget SGD1.4-1.6k (Need all parts except keyboard and mouse). Camped on forums already for some prior research...found out that most people suggested i5-4570, Palit gtx760 2gb...msi mobos. But then still very blur...like sotong. So coming over here to ask.

Besides asking for help to recommend build :) ...I think I also need help recommending place to buy the parts...I keep seeing tradepac popping up/ someone suggested newegg too (and probably place to assemble. Not that I cannot assemble myself lah...backup plan in case really cant ><)

Many Thanks in advance. - YS

Then the more you should diy and use youtube as a guide. Pretty much easy since you so call know a bit on building it up.

1.5k can setup a good decent rig and able to support the current games at ultra settings.

Msi b85m g43 + i5 - 4570 ~ $ 356
Kingston hyperX 2x4gb kit 1600mhz ~ $ 99
Wd blue 1tb ~ $ 78
Plextor m5p extreme 128gb ~ $ 159
Gigabyte r9 280x 3gb windforce 3x ~ $ 445
Superflower hx600 600w 80 + gold efficiency ~ $ 109 ( mynextcom )
Fractal design r4 with side windows OR corsair carbide air 540 ~ $ 155
Windows 7 home premium 64bit oem ~ $ 115
Samsung odd ~ $ 21

R9 280x is a 1 tier higher gpu than the gtx760. Back then I recommended gtx760 to most forumers as it is one of the best valued out there at that time. Now if you have that budget you can go for the r9 280x equivalent to a gtx770 at a much cheaper price.

Total $1537 buy at tradepac. Diy. Ask tradepac if they can orice match the psu. If they can then go ahead get from them.

YYS1995

OK...shall use the guide as reference. The worry about DIY-ing my PC would be the sharp edges and the static. (I do remember breaking a pc part in the past cus of static charges...apparently ><)

Which reminds me. Any recommendations for a monitor? My existing monitor is around ... 5 years old. And I doubt such an old monitor (some cui hp monitor) would do justice to a new gpu.

And hor...tradepac can 杀价 ornot ah. If can then must train up shameless level... ><

That's the questions I have for now...I have ask agn :p Thanks ALOT.

applebig

OK...shall use the guide as reference. The worry about DIY-ing my PC would be the sharp edges and the static. (I do remember breaking a pc part in the past cus of static charges...apparently ><)

Which reminds me. Any recommendations for a monitor? My existing monitor is around ... 5 years old. And I doubt such an old monitor (some cui hp monitor) would do justice to a new gpu.

And hor...tradepac can 杀价 ornot ah. If can then must train up shameless level... ><

That's the questions I have for now...I have ask agn :p Thanks ALOT.

I'm using dell S2340L and loving it. Abt $200plus a little i think. I just recently made mine too and its abt 1.3k for the entire rig without monitor.

YYS1995

Then the more you should diy and use youtube as a guide. Pretty much easy since you so call know a bit on building it up.

1.5k can setup a good decent rig and able to support the current games at ultra settings.

Kingston hyperX 2x4gb kit 1600mhz ~ $ 99
Wd blue 1tb ~ $ 78
Plextor m5p extreme 128gb ~ $ 159
Gigabyte r9 280x 3gb windforce 3x ~ $ 445
Superflower hx600 600w 80 + gold efficiency ~ $ 109 ( mynextcom )
Fractal design r4 with side windows OR corsair carbide air 540 ~ $ 155
Windows 7 home premium 64bit oem ~ $ 115
Samsung odd ~ $ 21

R9 280x is a 1 tier higher gpu than the gtx760. Back then I recommended gtx760 to most forumers as it is one of the best valued out there at that time. Now if you have that budget you can go for the r9 280x equivalent to a gtx770 at a much cheaper price.

Total $1537 buy at tradepac. Diy. Ask tradepac if they can orice match the psu. If they can then go ahead get from them.

Jialat liao. This one burst budget >< I still need to fit in mouse/keyboard + monitor into the budget T.T The case abit ex @@

One more qn. Shld I wait go SITEX to buy the parts or...? Like for the Monitor..mouse etc.

royfrosty

Jialat liao. This one burst budget >< I still need to fit in mouse/keyboard + monitor into the budget T.T The case abit ex @@

One more qn. Shld I wait go SITEX to buy the parts or...? Like for the Monitor..mouse etc.

Whats you comfortable budget range?

royfrosty

I max 1.5-1.6k .. But need monitor keyboard mouse OS on top of the CPU stuffs.
Sorry to trouble @@ .

Its ok.

1.6k everything in.

Adata 1600mhz 8gb ~ $ 85
WD Blue 1tb ~ $ 78
Corsair force ls 120gb ~ $ 141
Gigabyte r9 28x oc 3gb 3x windforce ~ $ 425 ( bizgram )
Superflower hx600 600w 80 + gold efficiency ~ $ 109
Sharkoon t28 ~ $ 87
Samsung ODD ~ $ 21
Windows 7 home premium 64bit ~ $ 115
Dell s2340L 23inch ips gloss panel ~ $ 215
Logitech kb and mouse combo mk120 ~ $ 18

Total $1654. Can bargain till hit your budget. Buy at tradepac.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.