advice on building a pc

imtooyoung

Thinking of building my own PC for the first time. Mainly for casual gaming and work. Not thinking of overclocking.
Would this combination be decent? Budget ~SGD 2k

H170 pro gaming
i5-6600
MSI GTX 970
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 Series 8Gb 2x4
Samsung EVO 850 500GB
WD 1TB

Haven't really looked into the casing and PSU. Any recommendations?

jd8

Was thinking of the exact same build and parts! For PSU, was thinking of Seasonic as the important thing for me is to make sure the PC is runs quite quietly. Casing, probably I will get the Fractal Design Define R5.

imtooyoung

Haha well tbh I'm quite new to the gaming scene.
I've got witcher 3 at the moment so probably gonna start with that.
Actually is there much difference between the GTX 960 and 970

IceCreamPoop

Haha well tbh I'm quite new to the gaming scene.
I've got witcher 3 at the moment so probably gonna start with that.
Actually is there much difference between the GTX 960 and 970

Lol....alot of difference leh like 970 performs 4x better than 960 or something.

If witcher3 stick with 970 at 1080p lor, good 1080p get gtx970 is the best future proofing I can think of liao without breaking the bank

Casual gaming people will think of league of legends or dota2, which are both non demanding games. If witcher3 it is considered like a tripleA title liao if I not wrong.

kaixax555

Hmmm my thoughts will be:

i5-6500 + MSI B150M Bazooka @438
1x8GB Kingston DDR4-2133 @76
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB @139
WD Blue 1TB @77
Zotac GTX970 @479
Seasonic M12-II 620W @115
Corsair 100R @85
Total 1409

This setup should meet your needs just fine. Witcher 3 is not exactly what I call "casual" though :s13:

katata

Wah, Witcher 3 not casual gamer liao leh. That is called a triple AAA game. Generally requires more power to run it. I mean you see videos on youtube can tell already, damn power horse

imtooyoung

Oh HAHA. My bad. Guess i'm still new to the terminology. Thanks for the suggestions and comments guys.

Kaixax - i realised you're suggesting a single RAM stick. Any advantages? And is 8gb enough actually?

And I wanted to know what other H170 MOBOs are good. I only know the ASUS pro gaming haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.