Advice on SSD

Buzztiger

Is it a good idea to buy SSD and not use it as a boot drive ? I just want to install games on it. I am sick of fallout 4 loading times. Nearly 1 min of waiting for levels to load. I am still ok with my PC boot times. I believe its around 30s - 40s.

Koenig168

240GB SSD should have enough space for a few games in addition to OS.

stinsonsaywhatup

Ssd boot time is 15 seconds.
If you get 240gb there is plenty of space left for fallout and os
I have Dota , cs , overwatch and os on a 250gb ssd.
Using only 75GB...

bloodlovers

just get a 500gb ssd if youre worried about lack of space. For ssd to remain fast you should not fill it beyond 75% so you need yo gauge how much your games will take. Games like witcher fallout and bf1 will hog a lot of space

Sent from Samsung SM-N920I using GAGT

ZrE0_Cha0s

Well if u want to get a ssd as storage drive, its alright to do that. If u have the money to throw for that go for it. ;)

yusoffb01

I used to use 120gb, then 240gb, then 480gb, then 750gb.

Don't be like me. just buy once and save money.

Gametaku

I was doing exactly the same thing. Kingston 120gb..Samsung 250gb..Sandisk 480gb and now Crucial 750gb :s13:

Audiology93

Haha I started out with 60GB. Only can install W7 and 1 game.
Is it a good idea to buy SSD and not use it as a boot drive ? I just want to install games on it. I am sick of fallout 4 loading times. Nearly 1 min of waiting for levels to load. I am still ok with my PC boot times. I believe its around 30s - 40s.
Use it as boot drive + install games. Quite cheap for Mx300 750GB. Only ~$150.

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3000 using GAGT

mero_cwj

Well if u want to get a ssd as storage drive, its alright to do that. If u have the money to throw for that go for it. ;)

If got money to throw I'd run 2x 2TB SSDs in RAID 1 liao :s13:

currently using 256gb SSD as boot drive and applications, bought crucial 750GB SSD during amazon sale to use for games. should be a rather sufficient configuration to last for awhile.

storage drives using 2x 2TB WD Green drives that I had lying around. Currently still empty storage but might configure in RAID 1 cos I got burnt several times with drive failures on WD drives

Phen8210

currently using 256gb SSD as boot drive and applications, bought crucial 750GB SSD during amazon sale to use for games. should be a rather sufficient configuration to last for awhile.

storage drives using 2x 2TB WD Green drives that I had lying around. Currently still empty storage but might configure in RAID 1 cos I got burnt several times with drive failures on WD drives

go for hgst la.. dono why i feel hgst faster then other brand also.

mero_cwj

go for hgst la.. dono why i feel hgst faster then other brand also.

Not that I don't want but I had the WD drives lying around so reuse lor. will probably replace with HGST drives when there's a good deal for those, didn't see any big discount for them this black friday/cyber monday.

CrispyPeddler

hi..just received my mx300 750gb...

just a question, which 1 is better?

my current Sandisk Extreme Pro or Crucial MX300

ZrE0_Cha0s

lol why raid 1? shouldnt it be raid 0 :s22::spin:

wkweewee

lol why raid 1? shouldnt it be raid 0 :s22::spin:

Mero is right.. u use raid 0 on os drive is waiting to get burnt nia. Raid 1 mirror is safer. But then for os drive I recommend cloning.. nt much pt raiding. Disk fails just swap. Save the hassle of re building the array.

Buzztiger

I need to install battlefield 4 (abt 60GB) and fallout 4 (abt 30GB). Then still gonna buy BF1 and witcher 3 next month. Only got money for 240GB SSD. This is why I ask if its a gd idea to just install the games on SSD and not use it as boot drive. Will still see improvement in game load times right ? Or must it be used as boot drive to see good load time ?

Morugana

with all the games nowadays hitting more than 50gb/game.

i reco 500gb for os + apps + games

ZrE0_Cha0s

Lol u won't see the difference between one with OS and the other without. Its just slight difference even if have. Unless the ssd u getting have issues with full storage filled lower the performance, den dun get such a ssd.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.