Advice regarding the PRISM+ X340...

Tartar Sauce

been a year since i last asked for advice regarding my rig, turns out buying a gentle typhoon fan for my heatsink solved all the problems.

anyway i just saw a facebook contest regarding this monitor, https://prismplus.sg/products/prism-x340. just wondering if my current set up can 'support' such a up to date monitor or not.

i mainly use the computer for gaming and in the future some video editing as well. looking for some advice from the bros here. if not worth then can someone give some other similar monitor alternatives? my current monitor has been in use for 5 years and i think it's going to uplorry liao :s13:

saw the thread by creator88 https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...27-inch-1440p-monitors-recommend-5822080.html but we have different objectives, i consider gaming a criteria to choosing as well

royfrosty

Your GTX 970 probably run out of juice for most modern games if you wanna crank up to the highest setting possible.

That monitor is a 3440x1440. It is harder to push if you are using the 970. Best if you wanna look for an upgraded GPU then consider this monitor as the next upgrade.

Tartar Sauce

Your GTX 970 probably run out of juice for most modern games if you wanna crank up to the highest setting possible.

That monitor is a 3440x1440. It is harder to push if you are using the 970. Best if you wanna look for an upgraded GPU then consider this monitor as the next upgrade.

thank you! so far i only play dota 2 so the 970 still very comfortable.
for a start would a 1060 or 1070 be more value for money?
not sure if any other parts of my pc needs upgrading (ram for example?). my current set up is updated on the right -->

royfrosty

not sure if any other parts of my pc needs upgrading (ram for example?). my current set up is updated on the right -->

Of Dota 2 is only the game you are playing then perhaps yeah 970 will do the job. But if you wanna up your game library and play other games, a 1070/ti would be a better choice to go with the monitor.

The rest of your components are fine, but do you have an SSD? If there isn't then best if you could get one.

Psycovirus

I have a similar Crossover monitor (Prism+ rebrand Crossover 34" monitors)

3440x1440 is pretty hard to push with GTX 970. I suggest at least GTX 1080. Even with 1080Ti, some games cannot even reach 100fps at highest settings.

You can get the Monitor first, I used this 3440x1440 with AMD R9 Fury before upgrading to a GTX 1080Ti. The Fury could run games like Dota 2 or FFXIV at 80+fps med/high settings. Fury is just a ted faster than GTX 970.

Tartar Sauce

Of Dota 2 is only the game you are playing then perhaps yeah 970 will do the job. But if you wanna up your game library and play other games, a 1070/ti would be a better choice to go with the monitor.

The rest of your components are fine, but do you have an SSD? If there isn't then best if you could get one.

i do have a 256gb ssd! but thanks for the advice, i'll look at upgrading both my gpu and monitor at the same time.

off topic, there is a guy working at sim lim who is very friendly and offers a workspace to let people put their custom rig together. wondering if you have his number?

Tartar Sauce

I have a similar Crossover monitor (Prism+ rebrand Crossover 34" monitors)

3440x1440 is pretty hard to push with GTX 970. I suggest at least GTX 1080. Even with 1080Ti, some games cannot even reach 100fps at highest settings.

You can get the Monitor first, I used this 3440x1440 with AMD R9 Fury before upgrading to a GTX 1080Ti. The Fury could run games like Dota 2 or FFXIV at 80+fps med/high settings. Fury is just a ted faster than GTX 970.

im heading down to the aftershock showroom later to view their monitors, my only concern upgrading to a 1070/1080 is that with all the bitcoin mining going on the prices of GPU is really damn high and bohua :(

royfrosty

i do have a 256gb ssd! but thanks for the advice, i'll look at upgrading both my gpu and monitor at the same time.

off topic, there is a guy working at sim lim who is very friendly and offers a workspace to let people put their custom rig together. wondering if you have his number?

im heading down to the aftershock showroom later to view their monitors, my only concern upgrading to a 1070/1080 is that with all the bitcoin mining going on the prices of GPU is really damn high and bohua :(

OK lah the pricing have come down by a bit. But you have missed the lazada and qoo10 sales. Might wanna wait till the next sales period.

Nigel is still around, search around this forum, might wanna try PM him or google search PC Care and solutions. It has his number there.

pedokuma

You can change it to 2560 if you have issues running 3440 for games.

Tartar Sauce

You can change it to 2560 if you have issues running 3440 for games.

In that case, might as well buy one with native 2560 x 1440p and save the extra $$?

can consider the X315Pro.

yep considering the other monitors as well!
are my processor and mobo still relevant? it's been a good 6 years liao! if so maybe jitao overhaul everything lol

Nakedtoes

U can run the monitor at 1080p first before slowly upgrade yr Gpu.. Else get another 970 to sli?

chanfht

im running 970 sli with this monitor. dota 2 on max settings can hit 100fps (set cap at 100) on single 970. will drop to 80 on intense team fights. far cry 5 crashes to the desktop quite frequently on sli though.

Tartar Sauce

Still relevant until spoil.

zhun ah, wont bottleneck any future upgrades?

U can run the monitor at 1080p first before slowly upgrade yr Gpu.. Else get another 970 to sli?

im running 970 sli with this monitor. dota 2 on max settings can hit 100fps (set cap at 100) on single 970. will drop to 80 on intense team fights. far cry 5 crashes to the desktop quite frequently on sli though.

never considered sli before though, concept still pretty new to me. what is the pros and cons of it? current card using for 3 years already

royfrosty

zhun ah, wont bottleneck any future upgrades?

never considered sli before though, concept still pretty new to me. what is the pros and cons of it? current card using for 3 years already

Pros is if the game developer and gpu manufacturer can come out with proper SLI profile, game optimizations and drivers then it will work as intended. Almost twice the performance.

Problem comes when it comes to new games. New games no sli profile or no proper gpu drivers, it can work as bad as 1 gpu. Can even go bad till the extent where by it flickers or crash.

The cons of it? More heat, more power consumption and can be quite frustrating when game developers doesnt optimized for sli or when no proper drivers support from the gpu manufacturer. Your fps can go wonky, sometimes high sometimes low.

I given up hope on 2 gpus when 1080ti was launched. At the end of the day, a single powerful gpu will still be the best.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.