Advice to buy new flat

dolphin6969

I'm 49 years Singaporean male and my wife is 38 years old PR from Malaysia.
Is it wise to purchase a new HDB as I will be a 2nd time buyer from my 1st marriage? Am staying with parents now.

If I were to buy a new HDB I was told by HDB that I need to payback about $24k in cash from my 1st purchase.

My mom always said I'm stupid not to buy a flat. Can rent out and collect rental and have a house of my own when old.

I'm the only one with CPF of around $250k...my wife has none.

Too many things to consider...loan, if jobless how la.....etc

Any wise man out there to advise? Thanks !

havetheveryfun

your payback 24k in cash goes to the purchase of the new house right ? or not to pay HDB?

Mr.Canberra

My mom always said I'm stupid not to buy a flat. Can rent out and collect rental and have a house of my own when old.

I'm the only one with CPF of around $250k...my wife has none.

Too many things to consider...loan, if jobless how la.....etc

Your mother is correct! Listen to her lah! :D

If you buy 3-Room BTO flat (low floor) in a non-matured estate you don't even need to take a loan.

Want to buy faster buy before you reach 55 years old.

your payback 24k in cash goes to the purchase of the new house right ? or not to pay HDB?

Looks like to HDB.

That is the resale levy paid to HDB if you purchase the second BTO flat.

Mecisteus

Just stay at your parents house. Not possible?

Your CPF is best kept for retirement.

If you have a lot of cash, then you may consider buying own flat.

Single income and a debt of 300-500k is going to be financially strained if you don't have a stable job and high income.

Mecisteus

Another possibility is to buy a bigger flat.

Psycho your parents to rent their flat and bring them to live together with you.

wutawa

Any kids? If have kids, better bto bah, unless your wife has a house in mys.

andyhtc

OA is good enough and safe for a 3-room flat.

It can be rented out at around $1.8k to fund your retirement in future.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.