AGM attendees and dates

Squaredot

OK. So this guy attend Sci agm and go keppel Corp agm thereafter just to talk about his stupid research of what head honcho and sias.

Yup! Looks like he just wanna be heard hence contribute his 2c worth :s13:

Squaredot

chiu neber attend any agm b4 ?

chiu see ppl fighting for the food and chiu might think Singapore ish a poor 3rd world country.

many retirees just bought 1 share each of every company in order to attend the agm, not becos they are interested in the company performance, they are only interested in the free food or voucher.

Ample food at First Reit AGM. There is no need to rush.
An elderly lady created a drama earlier (during Q&A), apparently she was very hungry , she shouted from the back: can y'all stop asking questions, we want to leave ( to go into another ballroom to eat) but they(staff) won't open the door!
Very hungry indeed. So embarrassing!

Squaredot

Another uncle pointed out to me some loading many muffins on plates to bring home. (Trf to plastic bags then to another bag) . I witness it:s13:

Squaredot

Wah agm become so low class

It has been happening for yearsssss. That's why many agm started giving vouchers instead of food.
But it created another situation: They sign, take voucher, go in for meeting 5-15min then leave. Very distracting with ppl walking in/ out throughout the first hour.

V_for_Vanilla

Another uncle pointed out to me some loading many muffins on plates to bring home. (Trf to plastic bags then to another bag) . I witness it:s13:
Yes, I saw an uncle keep going back to pack muffins. I wonder where all his muffins disappeared to? Lol

Layers

Yes, I saw an uncle keep going back to pack muffins. I wonder where all his muffins disappeared to? Lol
Typical Singaporean esp uncle n aunty. Help out a friend at cc event before. Free stuff ppl take n take. Some ask for more. Like 1 person 1 cup. They ask for 2 cup, request to fill till the top. Once finish. Hit fly liao.

Sent from Samsung SM-G901F using GAGT

Some-one

Either vouchers or bento is the best but to be fair, if it is small company like Kingsmen, the queue for buffet are generally ok. The only problem is with big companies like Keppel with lots of shareholders.

Some-one

Brown u attended. What is the outcome for the 3rd resolution to empower the management to offer rights issues?

It is always pass. Singapore shareholders are not like their US counterparts. They don't understand the meaning of the resolution and would put "for" vote in all resolutions. They are only interested in the buffet that comes after it. :s13:

Steyr69

Ok....i just attended kc agm.....i got the sgd20 ntuc voucher. Only tea coffee.....n is served not ownself take.
I was expecting full house....but seemed like only 85% seats filled. The presenter asking everyone to fill seats in front.
I didnt opt to vote during registration, but i see many take the voting dongle....like last time nokia button hp. So i went to the registration n tell the chiobu i forgot to take the voting dongle.
N she asked me whether got take the vouchers....i too honest....told her take liao.....should hv lied n i will get another sgd20 vouchers....lol.
The directors arrived on time.....n true enough like stockbot mentioned, shake hands w front row.
Starting time delayed as there were long queues at registration.
Majority of questions answered by lee boon yang n loh chin hwa. Quite solid. There were a couple of queries on financial statements, so the CFO have to come in.
One question why kc agm n sci agm clashed together.......
As expected, got a couple of weird characters which i think the directors know them well enough.
2 hours n went into voting resolution.....there were resentment on the ground when it comes to non exec director fees......
Here is where i found out my vote counts for nothing.....becoz end result 99% approval. As with many other resolutions.
I didnt stayed to the end....n left....
I ask my neighbor why 99%....n he told me we are just minority shareholders.....our votes wont make much impact.
Anyway eye opener as this is the first time i attend agm.
Final verdict.....next time i just collect the sgd20 voucher n go off....maybe have a sip of tea.
Thanks for reading!

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

Steyr69

It is always pass. Singapore shareholders are not like their US counterparts. They don't understand the meaning of the resolution and would put "for" vote in all resolutions. They are only interested in the buffet that comes after it. :s13:
Another reason....we are just minor shareholders....
I attended kc agm n participate the voting....realtime....
And all resolution approved 90%....the lowest 96%.
Our votes no say wan.

tarui04

Got ppl go agm eat until diarrhoea because the food gone bad...

Aht agm got ppl steal the milk jug for coffee.

akwl88

Got another one asking why need so many directors????
What do each of them do, what is their competency level?
How engaged are they towards kepcorp.....
Sibei funny sia.....

Four months ago, Singapore Post was an attractive e-commerce logistics company with Alibaba as its second-largest shareholder. The Chinese Internet giant is still around, but SingPost is starting to look like what it was before the online retail revolution: A dead letter office for shareholder value.DIRECTORS AT LARGE SINGAPORE COMPANIES ARE PAID AN AVERAGE$239,000The troubles began with the shock departure of its commercially successful chief executive in December, followed by a special audit to probe possible governance lapses. Then came legal skirmishes with an investor group and on Thursday, a boardroom revival left in disarray after the chairman-designate declined to take up the job on the grounds it would take more time and focus than he was prepared to give.Suddenly, SingPost is looking for both a full-time CEO and a chairman, and its claim that it's business as usual has few takers: The stock fell as much as 4 percent Thursday (although it reclaimed some ground Friday morning), and is down almost 20 percent over the past 12 months.
LOST IN THE MAIL

The sorry episode has a message for Singapore's publicly traded companies: Put some dedicated leadership back in the boardroom. If the directors can't avert disasters, they should at least be able to deal with it effectively. Else, shareholders will revolt.A starting point would be to retire overworked directors. One of SingPost's directors, Keith Tay Ah Kee, serves on four other listed company boards, according to the company's website. Goh Yeow Tin, meanwhile, is the lead independent director of Vicom and Sheng Siong Group, an independent director of Lereno Bio-Chem and AsiaPhos, and the non-executive chairman of Seacare Medical Holdings. The national average for the most thinly stretched directors at large Singaporean companies is 4.6 additional board duties. The busiest directors appear to be more distracted than their counterparts in the U.S. and Europe:
I'm Sorry, You Were Saying What?
Highest number of additional company directorships held by any board member, except the CEO *

Source: Bloomberg
* Averaged, by geography, for companies with market values of at least $1 billion.
Dedicated boards matter, especially since they're paid so much. At large companies that pay at least an average of $100,000 a year to board members, Singapore directors' annual compensation comes in at $239,000, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. Typically, these gents -- only 9 percent are women versus 29 percent in France -- hang around for about seven years.Take April 2009 as the start of the value-creation cycle for the currently maturing crop, and it looks like Singapore shareholders are getting a raw deal: A total return of just 0.5 percent for every thousand dollars shelled out. Directors in Germany and Britain, who are paid less, have a far superior track record when it comes to investor returns.
Worth It
Return on equity over the past seven years at large companies for every thousand dollars paid to a director *

Source: Bloomberg
* Companies with market values of more than $1 billion and paying at least an average of $100,000 annually to directors. Data as of April 8, 2016. Shareholder returns and boad members' average compensation in U.S. dollars.
Fixing the gender imbalance should be the next obvious step in Singapore's board clean-up. But it's equally important to get the mix of experience and enthusiasm right. The average age of Alibaba's board members is 54; for SingPost, it's 58, Bloomberg data show.Helping companies reach their growth potential is the CEO's job, but ensuring they don't destroy or diminish shareholder value along the way will require dedicated, diverse and less geriatric boards. SingPost's unpleasant experience of the past few months should come as a wake-up call.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.