AIO GPU Cooling??

markpyrozen

Hey guys so I have done some research and found out that a kraken g10 bracket is compatible with my 1070.So Im thinking of getting a Corsair AIO cooler and ordering some vrm heatsink online and "liquid cooling" my gpu. What do you guys think, is this a feasible idea?

royfrosty

Highly not recommended.

The problem with g10 is the bracket itself. It can mount a aio cooler on it. But the problem arises when you dont have good cooling for both VRAM and vrms section.

Not unless you have a good solid heatsink that covers the entire vrms section and also the g10 fans are blowing directly at it.

The problem comes with high end gpus. Vrms for it are usually quite toasty. Not properly cooled will result into damaging the gpu.

As for g10 bracket, it doesnt cool the vram also. Which you will need to find vram heatsink.

My advice would be, if you are facig high temps like over 84degC, and constantly facing throttling issues, then you may go for corsairs bracket offering instead (if it fits)

Else i wont recommend having to buy an additional aio and an additional bracket with all the extra heatsinks. That will bring up your cost from a cheap 1070 to a better cooling capabilities card like the major brands are offering. Like msi, giga or asus. Whats more, if palit has a warranty sticker, you might break the warranty indefinitely.

watzup_ken

Perhaps u can try to play around with the fan speed to bring down the heat. I am not into spending so much for water cooling too.

timpeh82

Just get predator 360 set with EK block
It cools yr cpu and gpu with 360 radiator
Damage: $700 sgd after gst and DHL tax

markpyrozen

Just get predator 360 set with EK block
It cools yr cpu and gpu with 360 radiator
Damage: $700 sgd after gst and DHL tax

Oh thats cool im going to look into this! So I can just slot in the ek block on the QDC part of the loop?:eek:

timpeh82

Oh thats cool im going to look into this! So I can just slot in the ek block on the QDC part of the loop?:eek:

yes
but at this high cost
you might as well add $300 and then you get nice custom loop around your PC
custom loop around $1000 at least.

royfrosty

Yeap it isnt practical. You spend a $700 cooling setup, you can jump to the next tier 1080 lol.

timpeh82

Not practical but looks nice?
$1k minimum for both cpu and gpu cooling
pure EK parts not made in China cheapo material lol

xiaozozo

sell card and get a AIO gpu like the seahawk intead? its not the best solution but high temps could be due to heat build up in the case as well as the surroundings (i.e. room). Even with good fan setup will not be able to circulate cool air into the case. External solution like a watercool setup might be costly as highlighted above, my suggestion is to go with a AIO gpu with a rad for cooling.

https://www.msi.com/Graphics-card/GeForce-GTX-1070-SEA-HAWK-X.html#hero-overview

No sellout here, i dont own the product, but my 2cents.

markpyrozen

sell card and get a AIO gpu like the seahawk intead? its not the best solution but high temps could be due to heat build up in the case as well as the surroundings (i.e. room). Even with good fan setup will not be able to circulate cool air into the case. External solution like a watercool setup might be costly as highlighted above, my suggestion is to go with a AIO gpu with a rad for cooling.

https://www.msi.com/Graphics-card/GeForce-GTX-1070-SEA-HAWK-X.html#hero-overview

I was actually thinking of doing your suggestion. Problem is I cant find the receipt for the card thus it would be a little difficult offloading it. Im also very interested in trying out liquid cooling as I want to get into making custom loops in the future when I get an over-clocking rig probably early nxt year.

timpeh82

the best way I guess
he can sell his old 1070 at $350? sure kena lowballed by people
buy new seahawk at$ 859
lowest spending to get water cooled gpu is $500 through this method.

timpeh82

Just to share my experience:
wanted to get sea hawk gtx 1080 to replace my old FE gtx 1080
but kena lowballed to $750. I buy at $1188 yet offering only at $750
if buy seahawk, only given 120 radiator, how much cooling can do it?
I go for EK block with predator 360 to achieve greater cooling.
Difference in damage is $200.
I get 360 radiator over 120 radiator.
but seldom see people choosing liquid cooling for gtx 1070
why?
cos the gaming temp is much lower than 1080
Having to own both gtx 1070 and 1080,
at stock fan speed, I got around 70-74 degree in playing Overwatch with 1070
with 1080, it goes up to 82-84 at stock fan speed
do not really see the need for water cooling 1070.

royfrosty

I would go for a aio seahawk instead.

Think about it. Doing a custom loop for EK blocks, bitspower fittings, a reservoir and a pump combo, together with a 240mm rad (which is a bare minimum), would easily cost more than $500 including shipping and gst included.

Water blocks for gpu only cost US$126
A decent pump res combo from EK cost US$85
A 240mm radiator alphacool cost US$49
Soft tubings 2m US$6
Fittings assuming taking all straight fittings from Bitspower 6 pieces US$54
Distilled water of your choice
Shipping cost almost US$70

Total cost with gst S$679

This is one with a decent loop imho which cost that much.

If you have this money, you sell away that palit of yours, you still can go back to the shop and ask for an invoice. Is not that you cant get it. Grab the Seahawk edition. That it is being water cooled. You will still have spare change. Lol

royfrosty

I get 360 radiator over 120 radiator.

That really depends.

Remember how R9 Fury X performs?

64degC on full load. On a single 120mm. Not forgetting its a 3xxWatts gpu.

A 1070 dual on techpowerup indicates that it is at 150w tdp. How much cooling do one really need on a 1070 dual card?

What makes you think a 120mm radiator isnt enough?

It all bound to the thickness of it.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Spend S$700 and see your gpu temp go down by 5 degree?

No thanks. :s13:

trento

a quick google on yr gpu shows there are no vrm heatsinks. correct me if im wrong though. means the vrm cooling comes from thermal tape placed below the gpu cover.

if u use G10, yr vrms will not have sufficient cooling and u will need to place heatsinks yrself. a bit of a hassle as sometimes, the heatsinks fall off.

these days, the ideal way would just be to get a hybrid off the shelf. at least u can be sure the components will be sufficiently cooled.

trento

That really depends.

Remember how R9 Fury X performs?

64degC on full load. On a single 120mm. Not forgetting its a 3xxWatts gpu.

A 1070 dual on techpowerup indicates that it is at 150w tdp. How much cooling do one really need on a 1070 dual card?

What makes you think a 120mm radiator isnt enough?

It all bound to the thickness of it.

yea, the difference between 360 120 is not much of a deal in terms of temp. also need to factor in the space of a 360. i think a 120 is a good compromise.

royfrosty

Cannot like that say leh. Palit 1070 dual mah. Already said its cheap 1070 lol. Cooling also take a hit loh. I know that this card can hit low 80s. Its actually fine if one turn up the fan slightly higher to achieve high 70s.

But if people still feel hot then bo pian take hybrid solution would probably get it cooled at mid 50s region lol. They happy to see mid 50s then ok loh. In fact 50s to 70s region is fine.

trento

it should be minus 10 at least. at least im getting that on my g10 with 120 aio. my aio is $70. G10 about $40. no heatsinks needed cos the gpu comes with it.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Cannot like that say leh. Palit 1070 dual mah. Already said its cheap 1070 lol. Cooling also take a hit loh. I know that this card can hit low 80s. Its actually fine if one turn up the fan slightly higher to achieve high 70s.

But if people still feel hot then bo pian take hybrid solution would probably get it cooled at mid 50s region lol. They happy to see mid 50s then ok loh. In fact 50s to 70s region is fine.

Still for me....spend that money not worth. Sell the card away now + that $700 can buy a very good 1080 plus AIO for cpu. lol.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.