小米AIoT路由器 AX3600

xiaofan

I just received the Free TP-Link Archer AX73 router.

TP-Link Archer AX73

How does this router compare to the AX3600? Lousier? Same or Better?

It has a higher wireless spec -- 4*4 AX 160 MHz, compared to 4*4 AX 80 MHz of Xiaomi AX3600.

Archer AX73 CPU is BCM6750 tri-core Cortex A7, 512MB RAM and 16MB Flash, kind of cheaper option of Asus RT-AX82U.

So Xiaomi AX3600 has much better CPU and larger Flash size. I will suggest you run Xiaomi AX3600 as main router and then run Archer AX73 as an AP if your flat has LAN port.

Selling price of TP-Link Archer AX73 is around S$179, one of the cheapest local version AX5400 router in the market (D-Link DIR-X5460 is cheaper at around S$159).
https://www.hachi.tech/biz-solution...ax5400-dualband-wifi-6-router0--6935364010263
Review of Archer AX73 is okay from DongKnows.
https://dongknows.com/tp-link-archer-ax73-ax5400-router-review/

i1magic

It has a higher wireless spec -- 4*4 AX 160 MHz, compared to 4*4 AX 80 MHz of Xiaomi AX3600.

Archer AX73 CPU is BCM6750 tri-core Cortex A7, 512MB RAM and 16MB Flash, kind of cheaper option of Asus RT-AX82U.

So Xiaomi AX3600 has much better CPU and larger Flash size. I will suggest you run Xiaomi AX3600 as main router and then run Archer AX73 as an AP if your flat has LAN port.

Selling price of TP-Link Archer AX73 is around S$179, one of the cheapest local version AX5400 router in the market (D-Link DIR-X5460 is cheaper at around S$159).
https://www.hachi.tech/biz-solution...ax5400-dualband-wifi-6-router0--6935364010263
Review of Archer AX73 is okay from DongKnows.
https://dongknows.com/tp-link-archer-ax73-ax5400-router-review/

Only got 16MB flash? This is very little right? I come across somewhere that it does not support OpenWRT also.

I do have LAN ports in other room but I don't think I need that. I have tested that from the furthest part of my house, I can get about 120Mbps on 5Ghz. I even tested from a spot opposite my house (below 6th storey) which is about 35-38m away or close to 40m from where my router seats in my house, I was able to get 16.7Mbps on Speedtest and was able to watch YouTube video at 720p without lag.

I was hoping to sell this away but I checked on Carousell and there are quite a few sellers.

I still got my old Asus RT-AC87U and RT-AC88U seating around at home. Trying to sell them away.

xiaofan

Only got 16MB flash? This is very little right? I come across somewhere that it does not support OpenWRT also.

I do have LAN ports in other room but I don't think I need that. I have tested that from the furthest part of my house, I can get about 120Mbps on 5Ghz. I even tested from a spot opposite my house (below 6th storey) which is about 35-38m away or close to 40m from where my router seats in my house, I was able to get 16.7Mbps on Speedtest and was able to watch YouTube video at 720p without lag.

I was hoping to sell this away but I checked on Carousell and there are quite a few sellers.

I still got my old Asus RT-AC87U and RT-AC88U seating around at home. Trying to sell them away.

Archer AX73 is not compatible with OpenWRT. 16MB Flash is one of the main problems with TP-Link routers. You will most likely not get very good price as many M1 users are dumping the Archer AX73 (the other free one from M1 is Asus RT-AX55).

If your Xiaomi AX3600 is good enough, then indeed you can sell away the TP-Link Archer AX73, just need to lower the price (eg: S$120 to S$140) and sure there will be takers.

As for older RT-AC87U and RT-AC88U, price varies a lot in Carousell. It will probably depend on the age of the router. RT-AC87U does not support AIMesh so the selling price will not be high. RT-AC88U, if working properly, should have some takers.

i1magic

Archer AX73 is not compatible with OpenWRT. 16MB Flash is one of the main problems with TP-Link routers. You will most likely not get very good price as many M1 users are dumping the Archer AX73 (the other free one from M1 is Asus RT-AX55).

If your Xiaomi AX3600 is good enough, then indeed you can sell away the TP-Link Archer AX73, just need to lower the price (eg: S$120 to S$140) and sure there will be takers.

As for older RT-AC87U and RT-AC88U, price varies a lot in Carousell. It will probably depend on the age of the router. RT-AC87U does not support AIMesh so the selling price will not be high. RT-AC88U, if working properly, should have some takers.

Yah lor. Always like that one. Whatever ISP gives free, that router price will be chui already. Got one asking $180, posted 2mths ago, still there.

I already posted Asus RT-AC87U for $45 and nobody enquire at all. I haven't post the Asus RT-AC87U because I really like the 8 ports and it is in a superb as good as new condition. Actually, I can always buy a $30-$40 5-8 port un-managed switch to expand the LAN ports on the AX3600 correct?

xiaofan

I haven't post the Asus RT-AC88U because I really like the 8 ports and it is in a superb as good as new condition. Actually, I can always buy a $30-$40 5-8 port un-managed switch to expand the LAN ports on the AX3600 correct?

Yes. TL-SG105 or TL-SG108 will be good. They have metal housing.

If you want to play with VLAN in the future when you are ready to hack the Xiaomi AX3600, then TL-SG105E or TL-SG108E will be good. I have both the TL-SG105E and TL-SG108E.

i1magic

Yes. TL-SG105 or TL-SG108 will be good. They have metal housing.

If you want to play with VLAN in the future when you are ready to hack the Xiaomi AX3600, then TL-SG105E or TL-SG108E will be good. I have both the TL-SG105E and TL-SG108E.

TL-SG108E and TL-SG108, what's the difference?

If I get one of this, I can just plug 1 LAN cable from AX3600 to this switch and then plug all the rest of the equipment, like NAS and PC using LAN to this switch, will do, correct?

If my default gateway is 192.168.1.1 then all devices on the expanded switch will be on 192.168.1.XXX correct?

xiaofan

TL-SG108E and TL-SG108, what's the difference?
If I get one of this, I can just plug 1 LAN cable from AX3600 to this switch and then plug all the rest of the equipment, like NAS and PC using LAN to this switch, will do, correct?

If my default gateway is 192.168.1.1 then all devices on the expanded switch will be on 192.168.1.XXX correct?

1) TL-SG108E supports VLAN. It has web interface for you to configure VLAN. TL-SG108 does not support VLAN and it is so called dumb switch. It has no web interface and no configuration is needed.

2) Yes

3) Yes

i1magic

1) TL-SG108E supports VLAN. It has web interface for you to configure VLAN. TL-SG108 does not support VLAN and it is so called dumb switch. It has no web interface and no configuration is needed.

2) Yes

3) Yes

But for home environment, most probably don't have any VLAN usage correct? But always good to have lah.

xiaofan

But for home environment, most probably don't have any VLAN usage correct? But always good to have lah.
It depends. Some people would like to have separate logical networks for IoT devices and guest network, and VLAN capable switch is a good way to implement this.

I use TL-SG105E smart switch with SingTel ONT to separate it into two networks, so that I can have two separate networks and two public IPs. In that way, I have somewhat router redundancy. But that is the unique feature for SingTel ONT users.

i1magic

It depends. Some people would like to have separate logical networks for IoT devices and guest network, and VLAN capable switch is a good way to implement this.

I use TL-SG105E smart switch with SingTel ONT to separate it into two networks, so that I can have two separate networks and two public IPs. In that way, I have somewhat router redundancy. But that is the unique feature for SingTel ONT users.

I thought they say Xiaomi AX3600 cannot be use with SingTel Fiber?

How come yours can use?

xiaofan

I thought they say Xiaomi AX3600 cannot be use with SingTel Fiber?
How come yours can use?

I do not use Xiaomi AX3600 myself but rather Asus RT-AX82U China version (which supports SingTel VLAN) and Huawei AX3 Pro China version (which does not support SingTel VLAN).

Xiaomi AX3600 global version supports SingTel VLAN whereas the China version does not.

However, with the help of VLAN capable switch like TL-SG105E, I can use any router with SingTel ONT, as the smart switch will handle the VLAN. So I can use Huawei AX3 Pro as one of the router in my setup. Same I can use Xiaomi AX3600 China version as well.

And actually even Xiaomi AX3600 China version can support SingTel VLAN once you enable SSH, without the need to use a VLAN capable switch.

Xiaomi AX3600 is a powerful router but you can only enable some powerful features only after you enable SSH access.

Project_Xco

I just found out that my Xiaomi AX3600 is accessible over the internet via public ip address.

Is there a way to block this?

Hackers generally scan public ip address and attempt to login to your router by brute force.

xiaofan

I just found out that my Xiaomi AX3600 is accessible over the internet via public ip address.
Hackers generally scan public ip address and attempt to login to your router by brute force.

Not so sure how to do this with stock app or web UI.

But if you enable SSH then it should be simple to change the firewall rules to disable that. By right the FW is based on OpenWRT and the default OpenWRT firewall rule disable access from the WAN port.

i1magic

Do you mean accessing via the App? Or what? Can let us know how you do it? I want to test out also.

i1magic

I got a Synology NAS which I setup "Cloud Sync" to some cheap "Google Shared Drive" from TaoBao.

I can upload files to the Shared Drive but don't know why the Synology doesn't connects to it anymore. It just keep showing "Connecting".

Is there some setting permission that I need to change or edit on the AX3600 to allow this?

Keep getting "Connection failed. Please check your network settings and try again."

i1magic

I got a Synology NAS which I setup "Cloud Sync" to some cheap "Google Shared Drive" from TaoBao.

I can upload files to the Shared Drive but don't know why the Synology doesn't connects to it anymore. It just keep showing "Connecting".

Is there some setting permission that I need to change or edit on the AX3600 to allow this?

Keep getting "Connection failed. Please check your network settings and try again."

Ok. I Googled and found this.

https://mariushosting.com/synology-connection-failed-please-check-your-network-and-time-settings/
I changed the DNS to Google DNS and the Cloud Sync to my "Google Shared Drive" is working liao.

xiaofan

Do you mean accessing via the App? Or what? Can let us know how you do it? I want to test out also.

Access from the web using the public IP address. You can carry out the simple test by yourself.
1) get your public IP address (not for CGNAT users from MyRepublic and Viewquest), you can go to website like dnsleaktest.com to get that.

2) using your mobile phone data connection (not using WiFi) to browse to the website http://your-ip-address. Check whether you can access the router this way.

3) Please also use your mobile phone data connection to see if you can access the router using the mobile app.

xiaofan

For those who have not bought the Xiaomi AX3600 or other Xiaomi AX routers like Xiaomi AX3000 and Redmi AX3000, if you are more cost conscious and want to have a local version of AX3000 grade router with decent performance and local warranty, you may want to consider Huawei AX3 Quad Core global version from official Huawei Shopee or Lazada shop, promotion price is at S$58 now.

Check out HUAWEI WIFI6 AX3 Pro Router | Quad Core / 3,000 Mbps / HUAWEI Share / HUAWEI HomeSec™ at 41% off! $58.00 only. Get it on Shopee now! https://shopee.sg/product/181050132/4976245968?smtt=0.568370204-1635768022.9

i1magic

Access from the web using the public IP address. You can carry out the simple test by yourself.
1) get your public IP address (not for CGNAT users from MyRepublic and Viewquest), you can go to website like dnsleaktest.com to get that.

2) using your mobile phone data connection (not using WiFi) to browse to the website http://your-ip-address. Check whether you can access the router this way.

3) Please also use your mobile phone data connection to see if you can access the router using the mobile app.

Ok. Tried liao.

1. Ok. Got the IP address.

2. Cannot. Show : ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED

3. Yes, can access via App.

So like that means ok? Safe?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.