Air con leak again after a few mths. Any solution?

Skoda29

around 2 years nia, thats what the tech said.

And I see clear jelly at the outlet also, water dripping very slow

Drain clog is usually due to the accumulation of 'jelly". If u use the Aircon often enough, the jelly will grow and accumulate. No way around this.

Just buy a $100 karcher and suck the outlet end every quarter. Turn it on and go to your fan unit and pour in a flask of boiling water. Or else use the mckenic choke clear prior to sucking.
Jelly formed bcoz of intermittently using yr Aircon like few hours on then off and on again few hour later this kind of cycle resulting the supercool condensate water not able to dry out in the piping.Need a good 8 hrs timeout not using the AC or so for the water in the piping to dry out by itself .

Mecisteus

No need, just vacuum the drain pipe at the toilet can liao. Those aircon vendors also do it that way. The vacuum is strong enough
I just vacuum from either ends.

Since drain pans removed, might as well vacuum there also.

Pouring vinegar from the top is recommended too.

Mecisteus

Jelly formed bcoz of intermittently using yr Aircon like few hours on then off and on again few hour later this kind of cycle resulting the supercool condensate water not able to dry out in the piping.Need a good 8 hrs timeout not using the AC or so for the water in the piping to dry out by itself .
Ideally, it's recommended to put to fan mode after aircon mode.

This will help to dry the fins.

I don't do so I just maintain more regularly.

deepblue_82

the correct way the aircon man would say... before u turn off your aircon switch to fan mode to run for 30min to 1 hr to dry up the blower and smell the aircon man say not i say

jazz2005

motor noisy means ball bearings failed. replace the 2 ball bearings on the rotor axle as shown

oRqnI0n.jpg

alternatively, apply cutting fluid to the bearings while the motor is spinning. use the fcu to power the motor while on fan mode (compressor outside should be off). i use cutting fluid and not oil to shave off micrometer unevenness between the bearings and races. oil is meant for lubrication. cutting fluid is meant for ... cutting metals. its not a lubricant

same method was used to fix noisy ball bearings in kdk p40us fans, and noisy laptop fan ball bearings
Wow, this is serious DIY for me. The most I do is remover the roller. The ball bearings for my fan motor is also noisy like hell. Tried getting a replacement motor but the it's a Sanyo unit and parts are hard to come by.

TopGun

LoL. I 24/7 for stretches and the jelly still grows. If there's slow flowing or standing water, jelly will grow de.

I just regularly vacuum. Keep the vacuum on while you pour water at the fan unit.

Skoda29

the correct way the aircon man would say... before u turn off your aircon switch to fan mode to run for 30min to 1 hr to dry up the blower and smell the aircon man say not i say
I think the new Daikin smile have this function in built and it automatically carry out this task.

deepblue_82

I think the new Daikin smile have this function in built and it automatically carry out this task.
please do you know how much does it cost for a new daikin unit... i think u know...
there is no need to change unless really spoil... with the new r32 units, the older units are 410a..
no need to go for daikin units.. almost like lv of aircon...

deepblue_82

u dont say this... later got ppl say now units very high tech can self clean one... no pun intended...

Geneco

LoL. I 24/7 for stretches and the jelly still grows. If there's slow flowing or standing water, jelly will grow de.

I just regularly vacuum. Keep the vacuum on while you pour water at the fan unit.
yup that's right it's mostly due to the high humidity and moisture inside these pipings, it's a heaven for mold and microorganism to thrive and multiply...

even if it dries up, high ambient humidity will still cause mold to grow inside the pipings...

hence it forms a bio-mass, jelly or slime over time... :frown:

Vanyel

I think i will just pay my ac guy the $25/unit
Too much work for me :LOL:

kamelp

I have the jelly problem too, either go selfix buy the jelly ac dissolved solution or I will just pour boiling water on the drain pan .. and stop eating or smoking inside the room no oil burning aromatic inside room too

deepblue_82

I have the jelly problem too, either go selfix buy the jelly ac dissolved solution or I will just pour boiling water on the drain pan .. and stop eating or smoking inside the room no oil burning aromatic inside room too
vinegar is the cheapest i brought the 5 liter one.. cheap cheap..

mikezuper

In other countries they wash the fin and blower direct leh and put cover and container underneath to collect the dirty water instead of taking down the blower/do full chemical wash

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.