Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

The_King

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
10,336
Reaction score
266
but the installation is very unprofessional.they skip a lot of step base on what i learn from youtube.


thanks for the reply.

court warranty is the most expensive but i have ask them and their repair is not repair until purchase cost.
 

celestial517

Master Member
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
2,603
Reaction score
1
hi guys,

planning to install 2 aircon for 2 bedroom.

was quoted 3k. is that a normal range? my mom did the quotation so i dont know the specifics. but just want have a rough gauge, is 3k with installation, a chop carrot head price?
 

thesingingbard

Master Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
3,116
Reaction score
0
hi guys,

planning to install 2 aircon for 2 bedroom.

was quoted 3k. is that a normal range? my mom did the quotation so i dont know the specifics. but just want have a rough gauge, is 3k with installation, a chop carrot head price?

i think so but who knows? maybe your bedrms are huge and it is a 2x 18k BTU ?

do check out some websites, google it.
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
Your sys 2 is 2 x 9k or 2 x 12k? Piping concealed inside walls or above ceiling?
 

arch angelz

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
185
Reaction score
0
Hi terumo, I'm planning to install a new sys 4 for my flat to replace my older sys 3, which brand has the most energy saving model?? Also roughly how much it cost in the market?? Thanks in advance!!
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
The popular ones are Daikin and Mit. If you are talking about sys 4 (3 x 9, 1 x 18) 3 bedrooms and 1 living. Will be around $3.8-$4k.
New brand Midea also have sys 4. Depends on whether you are open to Midea. Their sys 4 around 20-25% cheaper then most popular brands.
Energy saving wise, i feel all brands inverter are energy saving, maybe difference of 5-10% in terms of amp consumption, which is not to big of a concern.
 

Rendrat

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Daikin 3MKS50ESG cool enough ?

Hi I am looking to replace my non-inverter Daikin air con, because of electric consumption is very high and also the air con itself is old and start giving problem.

I am interested with Daikin 3MKS50ESG or Mitsubishi Heavy Industry SCM60ZJ-S.

My questions :
Is Daikin 3MKS50ESG, 17060BTU, cool enough for 3 HDB bedrooms in Singapore ? Every dealer that I called said it can only cool 2 rooms, yet this is system 3 from Daikin.

How is the quality of Mitsubishi Heavy Industry vs Daikin ?
 

celestial517

Master Member
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
2,603
Reaction score
1
Hey guys,

any place to recommend to get air con quotation? those big names one are quoting me 3k for 2 aircons. which i think a bit too expensive. (best, harvey)
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
Hdb rooms in general require abt 6-7k btu cooling capacity.
3mks50esg has around 18k btu. It is a sys 3. Its suitable for owners who on 1-2 rooms daily. But the 3rd room (study room or guest room) is used less often.
If u install 3mks50, u on 3 rooms at the same time, it will be cooling but not every cold (as in room temp reach 20-22) Maybe your room can reach 23-25.
U may consider 3mkd75dvm (r22) or Mit Electric 3a28. Similar costing as 3mks50.
 

Rendrat

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Hdb rooms in general require abt 6-7k btu cooling capacity.
3mks50esg has around 18k btu. It is a sys 3. Its suitable for owners who on 1-2 rooms daily. But the 3rd room (study room or guest room) is used less often.
If u install 3mks50, u on 3 rooms at the same time, it will be cooling but not every cold (as in room temp reach 20-22) Maybe your room can reach 23-25.
U may consider 3mkd75dvm (r22) or Mit Electric 3a28. Similar costing as 3mks50.

Thank you for the reply. How about Mitsubishi Heavy Industry SCM60ZJ-S ?
Any opinion about this ?
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
It's btu capacity should be similar to 3mks50esg.
If price is similar, get Daikin 3mks50. If MIT cheaper by > $200, then u might want to consider MHI.
 

zen131

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Hi all

Hi...

sorry been kinda busy this few weeks...
i have read comments about midea from other users...thanks for the advices...
i have the trust in the brand...its up to each individual perspective..
so far my midea aircon is do well...
electrical bills down by about 40%
usuage 6-8 hrs
cooling temp around 23-24...
not noisey from fancoil and cu...
just the self- clean and led light need to get used to it...

Thanks everyone for advices...
will update more on the midea in the future...:s13:
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To art of war.
What brand is your aircon that breakdown?
 

chase79

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2003
Messages
19,337
Reaction score
5
Hi...

sorry been kinda busy this few weeks...
i have read comments about midea from other users...thanks for the advices...
i have the trust in the brand...its up to each individual perspective..
so far my midea aircon is do well...
electrical bills down by about 40%
usuage 6-8 hrs
cooling temp around 23-24...
not noisey from fancoil and cu...
just the self- clean and led light need to get used to it...

Thanks everyone for advices...
will update more on the midea in the future...:s13:

U can turn off the LED light, do u know that?
Self clean is gd also lah. keep the unit clean clean
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
We should clean the filters every 2-3 weeks.
And get people to service every 3-6 months, depending on your usage rate.
 

Rendrat

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
It's btu capacity should be similar to 3mks50esg.
If price is similar, get Daikin 3mks50. If MIT cheaper by > $200, then u might want to consider MHI.

Hi Terumo,
Thank you for the response. I was overseas without internet access recently.

Another questions :
Since I have existing bracket from my old Daikin A/C, can I use the old bracket ?
Most dealer told me that I must replace the old bracket even if I install new Daikin.
 

chunlianghere

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
6,089
Reaction score
0
Hi Terumo,
Thank you for the response. I was overseas without internet access recently.

Another questions :
Since I have existing bracket from my old Daikin A/C, can I use the old bracket ?
Most dealer told me that I must replace the old bracket even if I install new Daikin.

cannot use back the old bracket.
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
Your old Daikin what model? If ma56, cannot use. If 3mk75fven then can.
 

smoothtalker

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
1,270
Reaction score
0
Any good aircon servicing contract to recommend? I've a friend in aircon business and he recommended CoolEffect Aircon. Think it's part of CE Engineering. Is is good?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top