Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To Cloud_Evolution,
How much are they selling their Daikin non inv sys 3?
 

lifeishard

Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
5,622
Reaction score
0
me looking for starmex sys3 and seems allbest pricing are just $30 above my 2 other contractor's quote but allbest comes with 5yrs workmanship warranty. sys3 $2799 seems standard mkt rate haha...

anyone recently used allbest? how is it? i remb reading some bad feedback on them in this forums. any positive feedback on them?
 

theReas

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
12,800
Reaction score
0
me looking for starmex sys3 and seems allbest pricing are just $30 above my 2 other contractor's quote but allbest comes with 5yrs workmanship warranty. sys3 $2799 seems standard mkt rate haha...

anyone recently used allbest? how is it? i remb reading some bad feedback on them in this forums. any positive feedback on them?

hi there,

please share with us more details should you have anymore.

im also looking for starmex sys3 lobang too.

thanks.
 

lifeishard

Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
5,622
Reaction score
0
starmex sys is standard with mxy3a28va as compressor then the 3 fancoils you choose what btu you want. the $2799 from all 3 contacts are 3x9000btu fancoils.
 
Last edited:

theReas

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2008
Messages
12,800
Reaction score
0
starmex sys is standard with mxy3a28va as compressor then the 3 fancoils you choose what btu you want. the $2799 from all 3 contacts are 3x9000btu fancoils.


which is better? i dont know whats the difference leh. can please guide me on it?

really noob in air cons.
 

lazypigx

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
Hi all, any recommendations on air conditioner system 2? Budget around 2k. Most important factor is to save monthly electricity. Usage roughly is 6 - 8 hrs daily. Thank you for all your help!
 

eyz

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
7,616
Reaction score
61
Hi guys, the compressor for my old Toshiba RAS-3M20UAX5, which is installed in my master bedroom is jammed.

the technician who came down to check, suggested to me to replace the piping to the other working compressor and terminate the usage of one of the aircon unit in one of the room.

he said that it is not worthwhile to repair the compressor and it doesn't come with warranty, and there's no guarantee that it will work after it's repaired.

so may i know if this is the best available option, other than replacing a new system?
 

maxicoolservices

Suspended
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
359
Reaction score
0
Hello Eyz,

What your contractor suggested is to do a switchover by isolating the jammed compressor and to connect the master bedroom unit to the other working compressor. (Non inverter)

You will have to sacrifice 1 common room so that the outlet can be used for the master bedroom.

What your technician mentioned is correct as most 2nd hand compressors does not come with warranty. Only warranty would only be for the workmanship and not the compressor itself. Also, most probably as the compressor was jammed and not running, it means that he is unable to test the system completely to detect other underlying fault hence he would not be able to guarantee if changing the compressor would make the whole system work again.

Based on the model given, the unit should be around 7-8 years of age? Basically you do not have much choice as compressor replacement does not come cheap and most probably not cost efficient to do so much repair on an old system. However this would be up to personal discretion.

What you could most probably do other than to change a new system would most probably be to get the most competitive pricing for the 2nd hand compressor replacement. Other then that sacrificing the aircon of 1 lesser utilized common room and opting for the switchover might be the only other way.

Personal opinion I would consider changing a new inverter system as this is an old 1 tick non inverter.

Hope you have this resolved soonest

Best Regards,

Jason Tham

Hi guys, the compressor for my old Toshiba RAS-3M20UAX5, which is installed in my master bedroom is jammed.

the technician who came down to check, suggested to me to replace the piping to the other working compressor and terminate the usage of one of the aircon unit in one of the room.

he said that it is not worthwhile to repair the compressor and it doesn't come with warranty, and there's no guarantee that it will work after it's repaired.

so may i know if this is the best available option, other than replacing a new system?
 

eyz

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
7,616
Reaction score
61
Hi

thanks for the detailed and prompt reply.

anyway, are there any way to direct power up the compressor, so as to determine that the compressor is really jammed?

the gaincity technicians ever came down to diagnose my mom's place aircon. they did a direct power up to the compressor, so as to determine that the compressor was not faulty.

however, when i suggest to the technician, he didn't get what i was trying to say and went ahead with the switchover.

anyway, 2 of my 3 fcu is unused. i guess i'll just leave it as now.

a fellow forumer suggested me to check with toshiba for advice, i guess i'll check with them at a later time.

anyway, i asked the dr. cool asia technician for advice on a system replacement. judging from my current setup, he suggested a daikin r22 system 3, which would cost around 2.7k.

the main problem lies with the piping from the mbr, where goes through 2 built-in cabinets. pictures attached below:-


Photo%2014-2-14%206%2041%2051%20pm.jpg



Photo%2014-2-14%206%2041%2010%20pm.jpg


in order to change the piping, the built-in cabinets would need to be removed. if existing piping is used with a r410a system, sweating might occured.

any advice on this?

anyway, does aircon installer help to plaster the wall nicely after the installation?

Hello Eyz,

What your contractor suggested is to do a switchover by isolating the jammed compressor and to connect the master bedroom unit to the other working compressor. (Non inverter)

You will have to sacrifice 1 common room so that the outlet can be used for the master bedroom.

What your technician mentioned is correct as most 2nd hand compressors does not come with warranty. Only warranty would only be for the workmanship and not the compressor itself. Also, most probably as the compressor was jammed and not running, it means that he is unable to test the system completely to detect other underlying fault hence he would not be able to guarantee if changing the compressor would make the whole system work again.

Based on the model given, the unit should be around 7-8 years of age? Basically you do not have much choice as compressor replacement does not come cheap and most probably not cost efficient to do so much repair on an old system. However this would be up to personal discretion.

What you could most probably do other than to change a new system would most probably be to get the most competitive pricing for the 2nd hand compressor replacement. Other then that sacrificing the aircon of 1 lesser utilized common room and opting for the switchover might be the only other way.

Personal opinion I would consider changing a new inverter system as this is an old 1 tick non inverter.

Hope you have this resolved soonest

Best Regards,

Jason Tham
 

maxicoolservices

Suspended
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
359
Reaction score
0
Hello Eyz,

Yes you are able to directly power up the compressor to determine if the compressor is really jammed. However most of the time this would not be necessary as technicians should be able to measure using multimeter and coupled with experience they should be able to advise if this is really the case.

However since the switchover has already been done and 2 of the 3 FCU is unused, then you should most probably leave it as that until the last compressor fails before looking into a system replacement.

Concealed pipings are usually a factor to consider during the replacement of aircon. The hacking would be costly and a hassle.

If you are looking into replacement by using back the old pipings/insulation, then Daikin R22 gas model 3MKD or MA56 would be the ones that should most probably fit your requirements.

To use back the old pipings would mean taking a risk on sweating pipings/gas leak and if you choose an inverter running R410A gas, the gas pressure is much higher as compared to R22 which means that your old pipings might not be able to withstand over long periods not to mention the flushing and prep work required to have your old pipes ready for the R410A gas.

Other then that a new system would be expected to last at least 7 years with proper maintainance. It would be a gamble to have your old pipings last that long. Personally I would not prefer to use back existing pipings if possible.

Plastering of walls would depend on individual contractors that does installation. Some might plaster over with white cement however the painting you will have handle. Best to check with the one that is handling the replacement for you.

Drop me a PM if you have more queries.


Best Regards,

Jason Tham


Hi

thanks for the detailed and prompt reply.

anyway, are there any way to direct power up the compressor, so as to determine that the compressor is really jammed?

the gaincity technicians ever came down to diagnose my mom's place aircon. they did a direct power up to the compressor, so as to determine that the compressor was not faulty.

however, when i suggest to the technician, he didn't get what i was trying to say and went ahead with the switchover.

anyway, 2 of my 3 fcu is unused. i guess i'll just leave it as now.

a fellow forumer suggested me to check with toshiba for advice, i guess i'll check with them at a later time.

anyway, i asked the dr. cool asia technician for advice on a system replacement. judging from my current setup, he suggested a daikin r22 system 3, which would cost around 2.7k.

the main problem lies with the piping from the mbr, where goes through 2 built-in cabinets. pictures attached below:-

in order to change the piping, the built-in cabinets would need to be removed. if existing piping is used with a r410a system, sweating might occured.

any advice on this?

anyway, does aircon installer help to plaster the wall nicely after the installation?
 
Last edited:

derrickgoh

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
39,096
Reaction score
3
All along I thought Daikin air con was a lot more expensive than Mitsubishi. But according to my ID, its only about $100-200 more? Is this true? Assuming he is right, would you invest in a Daikin or Mitsubishi?

I have a relative who is quite knowledgeable about such stuff and he said Daikin is better. Reason is they only make aircon so they are more specialised. But my ID said from his experience Mitsubishi is better.

What do you guys think?
 

eyz

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
7,616
Reaction score
61
Thanks Jason!

Apparently, the only testing they did was removing the signal cable that activate the compressor to determine that the power did not trip when the FCU was turned on.

Previously, I encountered the same problem and called the technician to come down due to the power tripping. However, the power was okay when they came and they didn't manage to find any fault.

This was the 2nd time and the power did tripped when the FCU activates the compressor. The power just tripped in the middle of the night.

No other testing were done, which made me wonder the knowledge and professional level of the technicians.

Should I get another technician to come down to check on the compressor?

Hello Eyz,

Yes you are able to directly power up the compressor to determine if the compressor is really jammed. However most of the time this would not be necessary as technicians should be able to measure using multimeter and coupled with experience they should be able to advise if this is really the case.

However since the switchover has already been done and 2 of the 3 FCU is unused, then you should most probably leave it as that until the last compressor fails before looking into a system replacement.

Concealed pipings are usually a factor to consider during the replacement of aircon. The hacking would be costly and a hassle.

If you are looking into replacement by using back the old pipings/insulation, then Daikin R22 gas model 3MKD or MA56 would be the ones that should most probably fit your requirements.

To use back the old pipings would mean taking a risk on sweating pipings/gas leak and if you choose an inverter running R410A gas, the gas pressure is much higher as compared to R22 which means that your old pipings might not be able to withstand over long periods not to mention the flushing and prep work required to have your old pipes ready for the R410A gas.

Other then that a new system would be expected to last at least 7 years with proper maintainance. It would be a gamble to have your old pipings last that long. Personally I would not prefer to use back existing pipings if possible.

Plastering of walls would depend on individual contractors that does installation. Some might plaster over with white cement however the painting you will have handle. Best to check with the one that is handling the replacement for you.

Drop me a PM if you have more queries.


Best Regards,

Jason Tham
 

maxicoolservices

Suspended
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
359
Reaction score
0
Hello Eyz,

Removing the signal wire to the compressor is to determine that the indoor units (FCU) is in working condition (disconnected from compressor and FCU does not trigger a trip) and if the signal wire is joined back and the FCU causes a trip, it is proof that the outdoor unit is the one that is causing the trip. As for whether the actual fault lies in the compressor, further measurement is required.

As the switchover has already been done, it might not be cost effective to have another technician come down to do another check however this would be up to individual discretion.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham


Thanks Jason!

Apparently, the only testing they did was removing the signal cable that activate the compressor to determine that the power did not trip when the FCU was turned on.

Previously, I encountered the same problem and called the technician to come down due to the power tripping. However, the power was okay when they came and they didn't manage to find any fault.

This was the 2nd time and the power did tripped when the FCU activates the compressor. The power just tripped in the middle of the night.

No other testing were done, which made me wonder the knowledge and professional level of the technicians.

Should I get another technician to come down to check on the compressor?
 

mrairc

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
318
Reaction score
0
All along I thought Daikin air con was a lot more expensive than Mitsubishi. But according to my ID, its only about $100-200 more? Is this true? Assuming he is right, would you invest in a Daikin or Mitsubishi?

I have a relative who is quite knowledgeable about such stuff and he said Daikin is better. Reason is they only make aircon so they are more specialised. But my ID said from his experience Mitsubishi is better.

What do you guys think?
Daikin is better .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top