Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
Share my experience of usage with ME Starmex sys 3, last weekend we engage Ah Yi for changed my living room unit from 13k BTU to 18k BTU now, also asked him to adjusted the outdoor condenser unit for current limitation from 8.5A to 11A maximum now.

The overall cooling very impressive from 8.5A load very slowly, even at night time we open bedroom door for while can feel the air is gone and keep room slighly warm, after switch to 11A now we realise the outdoor works quite responding to kick in and load up same amount of cooling to be keep the room temperature unchanged, just our master bedroom no Aircon ledge can near slighly loud from outdoor unit, but will remain around 15mins then back to normal as quiet operation again.

So our rooms setting from previously we need set to 25C after it we just set to 26C the cooling amount is the same as before and more cooling already.

This time from our decision are made and never let us disappointed to be adjusted the current limitation.

Ah Yi had test the current runs at maximum amp is around 10+/- only, for turns on all and set to mid fan with lower down the temperature for all.

If we used as normal setting to set as 25 to 26C and low fan speed from the current draw in wouldn't too much different at all, just the cooling amount changed a lots with outdoor unit works slighly more responding now.

Also our living room changed the FCU to 18k BTU is never regret for that, now we set to 25C with low fan speed can feels more wide airflow with more cooler than before, we set to 24C with high fan speed for all the times.

This zen series Ah Yi help us to find within whole s'pore and very low stocks now, so he able to get it for us, we are very appreciated with him and his jobs done from converted copper size as well.

3AD98DD4-D892-48FC-B8E2-C1E1403E2E9C_zps0qefvf6g.jpg


Then the pre unit we keep it for spare
F6262105-59C2-4593-B64E-5CF21FBBB503_zpseoy5emjg.jpg


Anyway he did the great jobs for us and thanks with Ah Yi :D
 
Last edited:

STREAM2

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
Share my experience of usage with ME Starmex sys 3, last weekend we engage Ah Yi for changed my living room unit from 13k BTU to 18k BTU now, also asked him to adjusted the outdoor condenser unit for current limitation from 8.5A to 11A maximum now.

Anyway he did the great jobs for us and thanks with Ah Yi :D

Hi Kimsim,
By changing the current limitation to 11A, will it void the 5 year compressor warranty?
And will it cause the SwitchBox to trip during the hot day when all units are turned on?
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
Hi Kimsim,
By changing the current limitation to 11A, will it void the 5 year compressor warranty?
And will it cause the SwitchBox to trip during the hot day when all units are turned on?

The main switch is 15A plug, we turns on all for every night, but the temperature we set to 25-26C only.

Also Ah Yi monitor on the power meter measurement is load on 8.5-9A only for normal setting, unless set to maximum at 18C with high fan for all rooms then the compressor will be high jet speed draw for 11A as max load.

Warranty for compressor 5 yrs is covering for full load or limitation from factory setting as well.

If really cannot take it, i guess most of single split can't Last long for it, from the single split don't have such thing call current limitation setting.

11A is around = 2500w only, if we using cloths dryer power input watt for 2800w I guess will be trip instantly wow
 
Last edited:

super365

Master Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
3,950
Reaction score
12
Seems like adjust the outdoor condenser unit for current limitation from 8.5A to 11A maximum, it will feel cooler even when set the degree at the same degree when using 8.5A? That is the main purpose?

11A uses more electricity and bill higher?

I do not know what A my aircon is using. How to see what A?
 

STREAM2

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
The main switch is 15A plug, we turns on all for every night, but the temperature we set to 25-26C only.

Also Ah Yi monitor on the power meter measurement is load on 8.5-9A only for normal setting, unless set to maximum at 18C with high fan for all rooms then the compressor will be high jet speed draw for 11A as max load.

Warranty for compressor 5 yrs is covering for full load or limitation from factory setting as well.

If really cannot take it, i guess most of single split can't Last long for it, from the single split don't have such thing call current limitation setting.

11A is around = 2500w only, if we using cloths dryer power input watt for 2800w I guess will be trip instantly wow

OK noted.
What is done when changing limit to 11amps?
Is it just a simple connecting of AC wires at compressor terminals or need some kind of modification ?
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
OK noted.
What is done when changing limit to 11amps?
Is it just a simple connecting of AC wires at compressor terminals or need some kind of modification ?

You need go outdoor and screw out the Mitsubishi logo cover for adjust inside smaller PCB
1DEE0F5A-E72E-4937-B927-81DB324560EA_zpsaayrdh31.jpg
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
so is it a good time to wait or ???

Have some comparison here for ME new Starmex 5 ticks
CURRENT MODELS

2E20VA - 5.27KW = 17,986BTU - 6.9kw/8hrs usage per days
2G20VA - 4.83KW = 16,480BTU - 5.03kw
(Different less than 1k BTU = Still ok)

3A28VA - 7.31KW = 24,941BTU - 10.9kw
3G28VA - 6.12KW = 20,881BTU - 6.38kw
(Different less than 4k BTU = Consider alot)

4V28VA - 7.52KW = 25,658BTU - 11.02kw
4G28VA - 6.60KW = 22,510BTU - 6.69kw
(Different less than 3k BTU = Still ok)

4V38VA - 9.01KW = 31,049BTU - 12.67kw
4G38VA - 7.50KW = 25,590BTU - 7.79kw
(Different less than 6k BTU = Too much)

Conclusion :
Higher BTU = greater cooling.
 

Gribber

Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
11,563
Reaction score
0
Have some comparison here for ME new Starmex 5 ticks
CURRENT MODELS

2E20VA - 5.27KW = 17,986BTU - 6.9kw/8hrs usage per days
2G20VA - 4.83KW = 16,480BTU - 5.03kw
(Different less than 1k BTU = Still ok)

3A28VA - 7.31KW = 24,941BTU - 10.9kw
3G28VA - 6.12KW = 20,881BTU - 6.38kw
(Different less than 4k BTU = Consider alot)

4V28VA - 7.52KW = 25,658BTU - 11.02kw
4G28VA - 6.60KW = 22,510BTU - 6.69kw
(Different less than 3k BTU = Still ok)

4V38VA - 9.01KW = 31,049BTU - 12.67kw
4G38VA - 7.50KW = 25,590BTU - 7.79kw
(Different less than 6k BTU = Too much)

Conclusion :
Higher BTU = greater cooling.

so in other words, they reduce the power so that you could save more $$$.

hopefully my understanding is correct.
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
so in other words, they reduce the power so that you could save more $$$.

hopefully my understanding is correct.

From A is save money
From B is not save, cause you might increase the temperature lower down at least 2 to 3 stop from standard 25C.

You get it right, 1 stop lower temperature = money also.

For me I would prefer the current models, cause 2 ticks is good than enough, at least the overall BTU not as lower than New 5 ticks models.
 
Last edited:

Gribber

Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
11,563
Reaction score
0
From A is save money
From B is not save, cause you might increase the temperature lower down at least 2 to 3 stop from standard 25C.

You get it right, 1 stop lower temperature = money also.

For me I would prefer the current models, cause 2 ticks is good than enough, at least the overall BTU not as lower than New 5 ticks models.

thanks alot for the clear explanation!
 

petetherock

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
7,898
Reaction score
16
New model should be this look
F37A06F5-8118-4466-9F20-13EAE5FFB70F_zpstqnq3o3t.jpg

E9DD9CE0-AA24-4460-93B1-39A3856B7F37_zpswfhqbmyd.jpg

Is that Mitsubishi or the Heavy Industry one? What's the difference anyway?

I have one that is pretty large, so I am looking at Daikin, unless this one can fit the same space as the typical Daikin?
 

Gribber

Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
11,563
Reaction score
0
Is that Mitsubishi or the Heavy Industry one? What's the difference anyway?

I have one that is pretty large, so I am looking at Daikin, unless this one can fit the same space as the typical Daikin?

i too am looking at MHI but nobody here seems to have experience with it.
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
Is that Mitsubishi or the Heavy Industry one? What's the difference anyway?

I have one that is pretty large, so I am looking at Daikin, unless this one can fit the same space as the typical Daikin?

Anyway ME or MHI has same company name, but different division and different design from each other's.

ME has strong sales and supports in Sg also Main branch in Asia support for sales and services, MHI just smaller company bring it to Sg and after sales support would be by 3rd party,

From MHI vs ME
MHI the selling point is more cooler and 3D airflow and even 10k BTU models.

ME don't have 3D airflow for smaller FCU such as 10 to 18K BTU and excepted for 24 & 26K BTU only, also easy clean feature for user can easier clean out by user to access on fan blower to wipe out dusty blower & interior portion.

MHI don't have easy clean feature cause the design by ME only.

Quality wise ME quality control and material of PVC abs pastic casing will be thicken than MHI cover cashing can be bend or cracked easily if you accidently remove out the cover.

Again MHI fan blower can be removeble too, but the fan motor connection into blower portion can be getting rusty or cracked on blower joint, some Aircon man try to avoid for dismantle this and chemical with fan coil unit as together.

Anyway if talks cooling wise both are same, if talks on quality wise ME is a winner, if wanna concern for slighly cheaper for MHI is winner too, cause the price will be around Fujitsu brand.
 
Last edited:

petetherock

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
7,898
Reaction score
16
Thanks
Which one will fit in an older toshiba slot ?
I have a l cove around my old toshiba which limits the dimensions. I can fit a daikin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top