Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

gentoro

Master Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
4,464
Reaction score
0
Guy, I am also considering the smile series.
The electrician brought up the idea of having 2 compressors instead of one. But I don't really understand why it is better (my Chinese is bad). He mentioned something like it will be colder and if one compressor breakdown, still got one more working at least for the other rooms. Correct me if I am wrong please.

So if I follow his suggestion and go for 2 compressors (my house and 3 br, 1 living room), will it look like this?

Eg. 1:
Daikin smile series system 3
- this will be for the 3 rooms

Daikin smile series system 2
- This will be for the living room (2 Aircon units)

Or....

Eg. 2
2 x Daikin smile series system 2
- One for living room and a smaller room
- Other for MBR and another room

Is that correct? Any other way to configure?

If I go for 1 compressor, I can just go with a Daikin Smile series system 4. Will that be better?

The salesman is smart. The setup is ideal also. It helps you save more and more flexibility in ur AC usage. If the cost is ok, I would recommend this setup of 2 compressors.

Another plus point is you divided your load into 2 compressors and so less chance of getting spoiled.

Bad points - will cost more in maintenance if you need to top up gas. because you be paying double for it.

Oh please take example "1" if your bedrooms are mostly occupied and tend to use AC more frequently.

take example 2 if your "Smaller" room is less frequent used.

If cost is a factor, take 1 compressor, cooling efficiency will drop aka, take longer for you to cool down the room or living room which you will drop the temp to make it cooler and in turn you use up more power and increase workload for the compressor. Can be done but not advisable unless ur taking 38VA compressor which also high power consuming.
 
Last edited:

JuMbOfaT

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
198
Reaction score
0
Hey Gentoro, thanks for your Suggestion.
So based on your use-case scenario, I am most likely going with the 2 compressor option.

Question! If I am only going to fully use MBR and one of the room's Aircon frequently (2 rooms in total), do I put them both on the same compressor or spread them out between the 2.
 

petetherock

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
7,899
Reaction score
16
I actually have 3 systems in a three room setup:
Living - two units
Study - one unit
Two bedrooms - one unit each

Living room has a unit which is a standalone and shared one. Overkill? I only use what is needed depending on the guests and my energy bill is low, especially after using a 4 tick Panasonic.
 

devilcup

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
16,060
Reaction score
0
Just close deal with JK Aircon Specialists atYishun for a system 4 Daikin Smile series
Hope it will be problem free during the installation
same price as the facebook post? i think it is really a good deal but i already got the deal before they made the post.
 

gentoro

Master Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
4,464
Reaction score
0
Hey Gentoro, thanks for your Suggestion.
So based on your use-case scenario, I am most likely going with the 2 compressor option.

Question! If I am only going to fully use MBR and one of the room's Aircon frequently (2 rooms in total), do I put them both on the same compressor or spread them out between the 2.

Get them together in 1 compressor> If suay suay spoil, just 1 compressor or frequent servicing on just 1 compressor.
 

JuMbOfaT

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
198
Reaction score
0
Okay noted guys!
Where is good to go to buy? Or do any if you have a very good lobang that can share with me?

Decided to go with 2 compressors of Daikin Smile system 2 (5 tick). 2 x 9k btu and 1 x 9k btu and 1 x 18k btu
 

simcn

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Nat aire

I bought a 5 tick LG A4UQ26GFA2 System 4 from the Nat Aire during the weekend. Delivery and installation was arranged within a week. Their employees were very polite and patient as we discussed routing of the piping. They came in the morning and completed the job within the day.

A few days later, air coming out of all the fan coils was not cold. I called them up on Monday morning and the same installation team came in the late evening and problem resolved immediately

I highly recommend DIYappliances /Nat Aire builder. Good product 5 ticks system, reasonable priced and fantastic installation and after-sales service.
 

Arcane36

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Hi all, I want to remove my faulty aircon outdoor unit (not installing new one).
Can someone please recommend me a reliable contractor ?

Thanks in advance.
 

kun1he2

Master Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
Messages
3,191
Reaction score
21
I'm have the same unit, having the same problem of aircon not cool. Did a test some months back, seems like there's a leak somewhere. Top up gas will stay cool for a few months, then back to same problem.

Weighing my options now, last resort is replace the whole system, but I'm reluctant coz current piping runs through hidden panels everywhere! Plus the leak means I can't reuse old piping.

Same here, lasted about 3 months and had to do a top up today.

Anyone experienced using aircon leak stop sealants? E.g. here's a link:

http://www.achrnews.com/articles/132144-do-you-use-refrigerant-leak-stop-agents

If yes, how's the result? Any contact and how much did it cost?
 

UptheToon

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
29,049
Reaction score
49
Hi guys, my aircon installer installed the trunking already. May I know how to check if he used G22 and 1/2 inch insulation?

1/2 inch insulation means the insulation is exactly half inch thick? Is the entire diameter or only the thickness inside?
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To UptheToon,

1/2 refers to the thickness of the insulation.
 

gentoro

Master Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
4,464
Reaction score
0
I will recommend you 3/4 inch class 1 amaflex. 1/2 inch will last you 3yrs at most and will get mould. Please be "amaflex", not some unknown no brand. 2 reasons
- Too thin, get condensation and in turn get mouldy
- Disintegrate and you get black scrap of insulator, no more insulation
My minimal standard would be 1/2 inch class 1 for insulator in trunking. Expose insulator should be at least 3/4 inch thick.

Prevent leakage or choke, did you ask for 20mm piping? Be reminded the corner pipping should be at least 23mm wide PVC.

For the 22G copper pipe, the thickness is 0.7mm thick or it engrave on the pipe itself.

In short - avoid material which is made in China
 
Last edited:

devilcup

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
16,060
Reaction score
0
I will recommend you 3/4 inch class 1 amaflex. 1/2 inch will last you 3yrs at most and will get mould. Please be "amaflex", not some unknown no brand. 2 reasons
- Too thin, get condensation and in turn get mouldy
- Disintegrate and you get black scrap of insulator, no more insulation
My minimal standard would be 1/2 inch class 1 for insulator in trunking. Expose insulator should be at least 3/4 inch thick.

Prevent leakage or choke, did you ask for 20mm piping? Be reminded the corner pipping should be at least 23mm wide PVC.

For the 22G copper pipe, the thickness is 0.7mm thick or it engrave on the pipe itself.

In short - avoid material which is made in China

are you saying that 20mm pipe will not get choke or not easy? so 16mm will get choke more easy? so more regular maintenance on the pipe is needed?
 

xxxjhxxx

Master Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2007
Messages
2,764
Reaction score
9
I saw Air Connection got quite alot of good feedback here.. was looking at Daikin website and realised that Air Connection is actually not an official retailer of Daikin. Will there be any problems on warranty etc?
 

JuMbOfaT

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
198
Reaction score
0
I will recommend you 3/4 inch class 1 amaflex. 1/2 inch will last you 3yrs at most and will get mould. Please be "amaflex", not some unknown no brand. 2 reasons
- Too thin, get condensation and in turn get mouldy
- Disintegrate and you get black scrap of insulator, no more insulation
My minimal standard would be 1/2 inch class 1 for insulator in trunking. Expose insulator should be at least 3/4 inch thick.

Prevent leakage or choke, did you ask for 20mm piping? Be reminded the corner pipping should be at least 23mm wide PVC.

For the 22G copper pipe, the thickness is 0.7mm thick or it engrave on the pipe itself.

In short - avoid material which is made in China

Hey bro, I just got a quote for Daikin smile system 2 (5 ticks) and they said they will provide these.

- 22 gauge copper pipe. (Never state diameter)
- Armaflex insulation class 1, 1/2inch thick.
- 16mm water pipe.

Is this okay?
 

popdod

Honorary Member
Joined
May 8, 2001
Messages
126,122
Reaction score
303
Just close deal with JK Aircon Specialists atYishun for a system 4 Daikin Smile series
Hope it will be problem free during the installation

how much for sys 4??
what r the specs provided?

:s11: :o :s11:
 

ilovedaisy

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Your system 4 configurations are underpower.If 4 FCUs were to turn on together, the temperature is not cold. Around 23+-. You will see the underpower during hot day.

I just installed A4UQ30GFA0. It is a high capacity ACU. Just $200+. But you have to check the access route to see whether any obstruction or not.

I plan to do the same config 9+9+9+24 with A4UQ30GFA0 but i can hardly find any local and recent (past 2 years) review for LG Art Cool Did you proceed with the setup? Reviews please?
 

ilubchiu

Master Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
4,501
Reaction score
77
just went to imm best denki. actually i was looking for mitsubishi electric or daikin but the salesman keep promoting fujitsu. anybody got exp with fujitsu?
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To xxxjhxxx,

Warranty by Daikin/Mitsubishi etc will be valid as long as you have the warranty cards and do an online registration.
The installing company will be responsible for the workmanship warranty only.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top