Air force tech

Weztimonial

You are posted to AWTI - AFTC.
Your vocation is AIR FORCE TECH(TRAINEE).

any idea what i'll be doing? No camera handphone, jin sian, i stay cck somemore.

Kindaichi287

You will be working on aircraft (Fighter jet or Heli)
You can look up Flight line crew chief / Dedicated Crew Chief / Weapon Load Crew

Darkness_Eye

Got the same vocation too... bit disappointed not getting combat vocation, since i am pes B.
Anyone know during the first book just bring personal bag ? or need field pack :s11:
we just wear green smart 4 go hor ? no need go emart buy blue right ?

Weztimonial

Got the same vocation too... bit disappointed not getting combat vocation, since i am pes B.
Anyone know during the first book just bring personal bag ? or need field pack :s11:

wear green smart 4 i think. bring civ bag, no need field pack ba

Darkness_Eye

wear green smart 4 i think. bring civ bag, no need field pack ba

icic thanks ... we seem to bring very little stuff compared to our peers :s13::s13:
I wonder need return them ilbv and helmet anot ... since we probably wont be using again :s22:

LesterQ

Aftc is green zone . But posting order says not allowed. Weird?

One set of pt kit. Bring shoes also?

renfred89

Im posted to AWTI - AFTC
Vocation: AIR DEF WPN OPR(TRAINEE)

any idea what is the different between a tech ?

a tech usually deals with technical stuff like maintenance and repair.

you are a weapon operator, so ur job is to operate the machine..

mrpoker

AFTC not stay in immediately one. Have to attend some air force induction etc, then when your trade course start, then they will tell you to stay in.

j_t_fusion

Aftc is green zone . But posting order says not allowed. Weird?

One set of pt kit. Bring shoes also?

when SAF says PT kit, it means PT singlet + PT shorts + white PT socks + running shoes.

unless you want to wear army boots with singlet and shorts. :D

Darkness_Eye

Anyone know what to expect from this vocation?
Will we get any skill badge or go oversea in this 2 years?

pickAboo

You will get posted to AFTC for ~2 months. 1st week orientation program, next 1 month stay in and the rest stay out, that is during my batch, dunno if there's any changes.
Trust me... even when stay-in, AFTC is the heaven, so treasure your time there :D. AFTC is green zone except certain offices.. so camera phone is totally okay.

As an Airforce Tech you'll get posted to either FLC (Flight Line Crew) or EME (Electro Mechanical Equipment)

FLC - Either fixed or rotary wing. More of maintenance side, required to do shift jobs.

EME - Lucky ones get posted here, less xiong as FLC. You'll learn about air-con, airfield lightings and what not. No shift jobs as far as I know, but depending on bases.

So..after ~2 months you get posted to different airbases. You will be likely to get posted to Tengah Airbase as your closest one. Just to let you know..Tengah is full red-zone.

Why want to chiong sia :s22: Getting posted to Airforce is damn lucky. You will get your 3SG (albeit without combat pay and ippt pass) in less than 1 year)

Anyway.. no need field pack, bring your own civi bag and wear green smart 4. You will be issued blue no4 when in AFTC

IStayInHougangChalet

wa hope i will tio the EME
how they determine which side u go to? and whats the ratio for the posting ah? half half?
after the ~2 months then will know right?

and if i stay hougang area they most likely will throw me to which base?

pickAboo

wa hope i will tio the EME
how they determine which side u go to? and whats the ratio for the posting ah? half half?
after the ~2 months then will know right?

and if i stay hougang area they most likely will throw me to which base?

Not sure how they "determine" which side you get posted to, but for my batch it was like ~18 EMEs and ~40 FLCs. You will know your trade after the orientation, and about 1 week before getting posted out, your mentor will let you all know which airbase everyone will go.
They will try to assign depending on where you live, and the manpower required.
Your nearest airbase is either Paya Lebar or Sembawang. But doesn't mean you will either one of them. I got a batch mate stay in AMK and kenna posted to Tengah.

Anyone know what to expect from this vocation?
Will we get any skill badge or go oversea in this 2 years?

You will get a AFE badge that's all. EME VERY unlikely to go overseas.
Can't say for FLC though, but I'd say unlikely too.

IStayInHougangChalet

Not sure how they "determine" which side you get posted to, but for my batch it was like ~18 EMEs and ~40 FLCs. You will know your trade after the orientation, and about 1 week before getting posted out, your mentor will let you all know which airbase everyone will go.
They will try to assign depending on where you live, and the manpower required.
Your nearest airbase is either Paya Lebar or Sembawang. But doesn't mean you will either one of them. I got a batch mate stay in AMK and kenna posted to Tengah.

ah ok thanks alot man :s13: u also from airforce tech ah last time

and, since u say after orientation jiu know... means its 100% not based on ur performance in the airforce school one ah? :s22::s22:

pickAboo

ah ok thanks alot man :s13: u also from airforce tech ah last time

and, since u say after orientation jiu know... means its 100% not based on ur performance in the airforce school one ah? :s22::s22:

The time you spend in aftc is mostly all relax one :D, nothing to be graded upon except for some theory test and some practical lessons.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.