Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

thanks for all the updates n info WussRedXLi.

No problem.

Other than risks to Pregnancies (all 3 trimesters), infants and toddlers/kids < 2 years old, Stroke/cardiovascular disease/lung susceptible or those with history also need to take note.

Someone who is concerned for their parents PMed me for any read. The best link that i have found across is found here. (the guy C Arden Pope III is quite often cited)

Lung Cancer and Cardiovascular Disease Mortality Associated with Ambient Air Pollution and Cigarette Smoke: Shape of the Exposure.

Conclusions: The exposure–response relationship associated with PM2.5 is qualitatively different for lung cancer versus cardiovascular mortality. At low exposure levels, cardiovascular deaths are projected to account for most of the burden of disease, whereas at high levels of PM2.5, lung cancer becomes proportionately more important.

158085841.7NzUGEx4.3novaa.jpg

WussRedXLi

Ok, as mentioned, yest 12noon to today 12 noon, West and South got 73 and 69 ug/m3 24-hr avg.

So that's total of 1752ug and 1656ug, or 1.75mg and 1.65mg.

You can assess the risk for Cardiovascular Disease/CVD, isochemic stroke yourself. (look at the fine insert at the right small window of the pic above)

What is RR/Relative Risk?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relative_risk

Ok, i blew up the pic, here :
158085911.p29PHGZl.3novab.jpg

chuanz

Something funky is going on @ Yahoo side.
I can pull the data (and charts) just fine when running on US/EU proxy, but not when direct. what the shiat is this... :(

WussRedXLi

Something funky is going on @ Yahoo side.
I can pull the data (and charts) just fine when running on US/EU proxy, but not when direct. what the shiat is this... :(

IP tio barred?

Can try another IP range for troubleshooting, like mobile tethering.

chuanz

IP tio barred?

Can try another IP range for troubleshooting, like mobile tethering.

u can access mah?

The connection is: your browser -> Yahoo (API service) -> NEA

Nowadays a lot of fancy stuff going on behind the scenes that when something breakdowns, it's quite difficult to track down the failure point.

Off-topic technical details:
From what I have traced so far, apparently something within Yahoo's cloud service is broken and the failover is not happening. That would account for the region specific unavailability of service.

And the failure point is between one Yahoo service and another, so the main access point (the Yahoo API service) is still available, but cannot get any results :(

Casper

I've placed an order for the Samsung AX40 and looking at the delivery status, it could arrive later this week... Perhaps the haze situation would be good by then.

:)

WussRedXLi

Turning on my A28 on full blast now! :s13:

The little bugger sure is noisy.

--------------------------------------------

Please do not play play with your newborns infants and kids.

Wildfire smoke exposure linked to reduced immune system, lung functions :: UC Davis News & Information

Wildfire smoke exposure linked to reduced immune system, lung functions
January 9, 2014

California wildfires in 2008 led to a natural experiment with monkeys living outdoors at the California National Primate Research Center at the University of California, Davis, showing for the first time that exposure to high levels of fine particle pollution affects both development of the immune system and lung function.

"These animals were breathing the same air that we were breathing, so from a health point of view, it's very significant," said Professor Lisa Miller, who carried out the study and leads the center's Respiratory Diseases Unit. Miller noted that the monkeys, which live in outdoor corrals, would have received a higher dose than human residents of Davis.

In June 2008, widespread wildfires in Northern California caused notable smokiness in the Davis area. Over a period of 10 days levels of small particles classed as PM2.5 (inhalable particles smaller than 2.5 microns) at the UC Davis campus were recorded at 50 to 60 micrograms per cubic meter. Some readings reached nearly 80 micrograms per cubic meter, well over the federal standard of 35 micrograms per cubic meter.

Several parameters of immune system function that help protect the body from bacterial infection were reduced in the animals exposed as infants to the wildfire PM2.5, compared to animals born the following year. This is the first time fine particle pollution has been shown to influence the branch of the immune system that combats infectious disease.

Unexpectedly, investigators found a link between reduced immune system function and abnormalities in lung function, particularly in female animals.

The results suggest that, as a result of the adverse impact on the immune system, the exposed monkeys are more susceptible to infectious disease. The results also suggest that infancy is a period during which high PM2.5 exposures may adversely influence both development of the innate immune system and development of lung function. Infancy may be associated with increased vulnerability to high levels of air pollution exposure because of the rapid lung and immune system development that occurs during the early months of life.

WussRedXLi

Ansyor Idrus

The Jakarta Post

Publication Date : 04-11-2014

Haze again blanketed cities in Sumatra and Kalimantan on Monday, including Palembang, which decided to extend its emergency status.

“The emergency response operation apparently ended on Oct. 31, but as the forest and peatland fires continue, we extended the period until the middle of this month,” said South Sumatra Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBD) head Yulizar in Palembang on Monday.

The BPBD has submitted a request to the National Disaster Mitigation Agency (BNPB) to send additional planes for weather modification as it has faced difficulties in putting out the fires in several regions where hotspots were detected.

Consequently, the BNPB will dispatch an Air Force Hercules plane based in Palangkaraya, Central Kalimantan on Nov. 4.

“The Hercules will replace the Casa 212-200, or PK-PCT, from Pelita Airways because it is able to carry four tons of salt for cloud seeding, while the Casa can only carry a ton of salt,” said Yulizar.

He revealed satellite images in October had detected 2,420 hotspots in Ogan Komering Ilir (OKI) regency, which was experiencing the most hotspots in the province. Forest and peatland fires have not ceased despite water bombings by helicopters.

As of Oct. 31, South Sumatra had also received assistance in the form of an air tractor aircraft that can carry as much as 3,000 litres of water. “The aircraft had carried out nine sorties with a total of 27,000 liters of water,” said Yulizar.

Meanwhile, the Palembang Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysical Agency (BMKG) observation and information head Agus Santoso said that the wind direction indicated the haze would reach Singapore.

“The haze could cause havoc in neighbouring countries. It has reached Jambi as of now and caused incoming flights to Jambi to be diverted to Palembang,” he added.

Agus said rain had not fallen in South Sumatra over the past few days because of air pressure from the northeast, and the Nori storm from the Philippines would keep the area dry over the next five days, after which the weather would be cloudy with the normal potential for rain.

“Despite the rain, we predict it will be sporadic and light in nature. The Nori air pressure will gradually travel inland and cause light rain in Muba, Banyuasin, and Ogan Ilir. On Nov. 7, we forecast light rain at the Muba-Banyuasin border,” said Agus.

He predicted rainfall would be very low, between 100 and 200 millimetres in November and above 200 mm in December. “The conditions are like that of 2006,” he added.

Separately, the Palembang office of state airport management firm PT Angkasa Pura technical division head Tamzil said the haze had interrupted flights since last Saturday.

“On Monday flights were postponed until 9 a.m.,” said Tamzil.

Three flights served by Garuda Indonesia, Lion Air and Sriwijaya Air were delayed and hundreds of passengers were stranded at the airport.

So far, he said, the lowest visibility was recorded at 200 metres during the haze in October and 1,000 metres of late.

The haze has recurred in the South Kalimantan provincial capital of Banjarmasin, not only on the fringes of the city as was the case days earlier.

Based on observations in Banjarmasin, South Kalimantan on Monday, the haze covering the city from early Monday was denser compared to that of previous days and residents who went outdoors had to wear masks once again.

Besides Banjarmasin, haze, mostly caused by forest fires, also blanketed the Sampit and Kotawaringin Timur regencies, Central Kalimantan.

Central Kalimantan Prosecutor’s Office head M. Roskanendi revealed his office was currently handling two cases of forest fires.

“All the perpetrators of the forest fires are individual residents. We have yet to find any involvement by companies in the cases,” Roskanendi was quoted as saying by Antara.

On Sunday evening, flights from Jakarta and Surabaya to Sampit were rerouted to Banjarmasin as Haji Asan Airport in Kotawaringin Timur was covered by thick haze.

plasticpistola

Now ok.

But for West, South and North commuting on bus/MRT during peak period would have kena 80 to 100ug/m3.
As usual, those in Sensitive Group...probably Pregnant women office ladies would need to take note.

I assume infants and elderly w heart/stroke/lung issues all smart enough to stay at home.

But srsly from what i see....all bochup, even though when i walked to tg pagar mrt with the crazy 2km visibility. :D

Good morning!!

Ya lor, as long as no burning smell, people will be much less kan cheong.

WussRedXLi

Number of days in which 24-hr daily mean is > WHO standard = 58 + 10 = 68 days for 2014

Number of days in which 24-hr daily mean is > US EPA standard = 33 + 9 = 42 days for 2014

158115097.PUat0XaP.5novaa.jpg

158031911.zMhHE8Lt.30octall.jpg

WussRedXLi

Good morning!!

Ya lor, as long as no burning smell, people will be much less kan cheong.

Not much smell. If you are ard City Hall, Raffles, Tg Pagar MRT walking around you wouldn't even know there is haze if you are glued to your mobile phone. :D

Some people question me when i tell them about the haze, they maintain that 2014 has got zero haze. :D

To the leftmost is the 290m Tg Pagar Plaza. Then CPF. Right is Intl Plaza.

To the right of the 2 cranes is a small box structure that is barely visible, think that is the KPE ventilating building structure.

1-hr avg is PSI 147/100ug per m3 on NEA, but i believe this peaked as high as PSI 170 on my PM2.5 monitor relatively speaking. (and i may be understating that even)

158081902.vcwQOp3I.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.