Air purifier?

t258jgn

Anyone who sees major stores replenish Sharp Air Purifiers please report here.

Thanks

WussRedXLi

Hi, can share where is this offer available?

Thanks.

Should be able to order this at major stores like Robinsons, Best Denki.

NAP611 got more stocks than the 501. Probably coz cheaper. More stocks as in you can get it faster via pre-order. I think there is even a possibility of having current stocks now, stocks for that should have arrived. (it's 7th April tomorrow)

For now, next batch for Novita NAP501 is end May ETA.

But currently the risk of haze is v v low coz Riau/Sumatra hotspots are basically put out, this is from the Satellite pix. But no guarantees can be made as once the dry season hits after end April (hence the surface is dry), the remaining underground peat fires that are still burning/smouldering now can reignite the surface again.

And of coz once the dry season hits, the buggers would clear land. Issue is that the buggers are paid by the big corporations as the "fall guy" who are paid to take the jail term.

The winds are already shifted, in fact sometimes is from the W/NW liao (it blows from my kitchen instead of from the living room)....like yesterday whole afternoon period.

WussRedXLi

My FIL was in Dumai area over the weekend.

Simi ** shoot on sight order that you read in the news is pure 100% bull shiat one lah, he said.

WussRedXLi

My pre-order set of Novita NAP501 has arrived yesterday. (Orchard Robinsons)

Collecting tomorrow. Got FOC delivery by Speedpost but I'd rather not.

peacefoo

air purifier?

Hi I hv a philips air purifier AC4025 bought 7 mar 14 at $229 best denki (will pass u receipt) to let go at $180. If keen pls let me know thanks!

mikeeeey

Just an advice to all.

Invest in an air purifier. Don't wait till the haze come then panic to buy. Even ulu ulu brand also snatch. By then ulu ulu brand also OOS.

Now that the haze seems to be better. Its wiser to buy and keep first. You can choose and compare among brands that you like.

barbaricboon

anyone using the Winix air purifier made in Korea?? The price seems reasonable. Want to hear some review from any 1 who owns it

cnotsniw

Should be able to order this at major stores like Robinsons, Best Denki.

NAP611 got more stocks than the 501. Probably coz cheaper. More stocks as in you can get it faster via pre-order. I think there is even a possibility of having current stocks now, stocks for that should have arrived. (it's 7th April tomorrow)

For now, next batch for Novita NAP501 is end May ETA.

Thanks Wuss, was looking at Novita website for twinpack offer but no free filters, which is why asking where the offer could be found for that particular promotion. If no free filter, its as good as buying individual units and not twinpack.

Akai Ryu

Dont use the 3M filter in ur ac...will burn fan motor in long run...good for temp measures....I use the 3M filter in my air purifier to extend hepa filter life

Btw still no stock for Sharp?

s3856

My pre-order set of Novita NAP501 has arrived yesterday. (Orchard Robinsons)

Collecting tomorrow. Got FOC delivery by Speedpost but I'd rather not.

NAP611 stock is available at Bisban Best Denki selling for $599. Whose who's interested can get from here but call them them before you go here incase OOS.

WussRedXLi

Thanks Wuss, was looking at Novita website for twinpack offer but no free filters, which is why asking where the offer could be found for that particular promotion. If no free filter, its as good as buying individual units and not twinpack.

Twinpack got no free filters.

It works like this.

NAP611 1pc = 599. It has the $129 FOC filter.
599*2 = 1198. 2 purifiers 2 filters.

2-pack = 899. Add 129*2 = 1157. 2 purifiers 2 filters.

I went to check out the NAP611's filter, it's a 1 inch thick HEPA-13. It's definitely smaller than even the Sharp A40, from what I measured it's 12 inch by 9.5" by 1-inch.

Sharp A40 is 9.5 inch by 14 inch by 1.5 inch.

"More volume, higher ability to hold the fine particulates". Like small bag vs big bag. So in the same room size, can last longer.

Compare with Blueair air purifiers (of coz they cost quite a bit more). Even for the entry level model Blueair 203, the HEPA-13 filter is pretty big. In that same room, it would last even quite a fair big longer before needing filter replacement. The 203 is also meant for rooms that are in the range of ~ 25 m^2.

One thing that isn't often mentioned is that as you use the air purifier, it'd get slightly noisier over time, coupled with a gradual and slow drop in airflow.

Blueair 203 filter. It's a whooping 2-1/5 by 15 by 18 inches
Amazon.com - Blueair 200/300 Series Particle Replacement Filter - Air Purifier Replacement Filters

blues7

Yes if really worry about haze, get air filter

Bought OSIM iLife air filter some years ago, used for a while and stopped

Use or no use like not much diff on normal days

Last year's haze condition really bad and worry for family so bought air filter but only manage to Philips and not true hepa

This year bought Novita becoz all other brands no stock and this brand has up to date e store

So far so good in terms of online transaction and self collection

Didn't use air filter yet becoz haze condition not serious now

End of the day, typical kaisu mentality here, scare serious haze so standby, lazy to operates on tolerable days

WussRedXLi

Anyway, the NAP501 filter is sized at 12 inch by 9.5 inch by 1.5 inch. S$109. Ouch!

So you can go to Amazon to check out which HEPA filter that you can DIY. No need for cool catalyst or activated charcoal. Cut it, use scotch tape to secure and prevent bypass. You don't really change out the filter until after 12-18 months so the effort is really minimal overall.

11 x 1.2 x 13.2 inches
Eg Amazon.com: Fellowes HF-230 True HEPA Filter, for use with Fellowes AP-230PH Air Purifier (9370001): Office Products

I mentioned before, just get one of those $2 daiso laundry bag and put about 300 grams of activated charcoal into it and spread it out, put in front of the aircon. Give it a good rinse first to get rid of the charcoal dust. Works way better in absorbing odours and giving you that damn fresh smell in the room.
Actually activated charcoal needs to change like once every 1-2 months, the effectiveness wears down as it absorbs and it drops quite fast coz it's pretty effective. So does the ones in your air purifier.

Amazon.com: Acurel LLC Premium Activated Filter Carbon, 40-Ounce: Pet Supplies

PS. I believe you guys know how to shop at Amazon.com and get the Free shipping to SG with usd125 min order right? (plus some other small conditions).

WussRedXLi

Just an advice to all.

Invest in an air purifier. Don't wait till the haze come then panic to buy. Even ulu ulu brand also snatch. By then ulu ulu brand also OOS.

Now that the haze seems to be better. Its wiser to buy and keep first. You can choose and compare among brands that you like.

Yes if really worry about haze, get air filter

Didn't use air filter yet becoz haze condition not serious now

End of the day, typical kaisu mentality here, scare serious haze so standby, lazy to operates on tolerable days

It can be said to be a yearly affair. Anything can happen.

The following picture can jog one's memory, I guess.

"Don't wait until want to diarrhoea then find toilet"....

IMG_3469_small.jpg

clementiboy

Hahah...
I finally got my Honeywell 50250-S 99.97% Pure HEPA Round Air Purifier from Amazon at US$115.99. Yesterday was US$134.99.

Now it has gone back up to US$134.99 again :o

Heng Sia!!

WussRedXLi

Hahah...
I finally got my Honeywell 50250-S 99.97% Pure HEPA Round Air Purifier from Amazon at US$115.99. Yesterday was US$134.99.

Heng Sia!!

Yep...I saw the drop in price this afternoon as well.

WussRedXLi

Remember, in Riau this year....many places like Pekanbaru was hit by 300-500 PSI peaks regularly, over a period of 2 months. Even the hardcore Indonesians in Pekanbaru were fleeing the city.....buay tahan. Several tens of thousands of people got severely sick.

Pekanbaru Residents Flee Haze-Hit City for Hometowns
Pekanbaru Residents Flee Haze-Hit City for Hometowns - The Jakarta Globe

If you are rich and don't have to work, whole family can go to Taiwan for a period of 1-8 weeks on short notice to siam the haze should it hit hard, then power to you. :D

Not 1 week like what we kena last year.

If people can spend money at Morton's, get the latest Samsung S5 or Note 3, get Kate Spade/LV/Chanel bags, then they can also easily afford a $200-300 purifier that can be used for at least 5 years or so.

Why I regularly spam this thread is not because I Am simply boliao, have too much spare time, or kiasu.

And definitely do not rely on Vivian to get the haze cleared this year again..... He's no magician.

blues7

It can be said to be a yearly affair. Anything can happen.

The following picture can jog one's memory, I guess.

"Don't wait until want to diarrhoea then find toilet"....

IMG_3469_small.jpg

Agree

That's why bought air filters and replacement filters this year

Still a bit rush too becoz only did it when haze came

At least not as frantic as last year, running around like mad to get 3M mask

Come to think of it, was more scared last year than SARS

In addition, now with baby, so need to take more precaution

Reminder - do not use extra filters on air conditioners, it will tax the Aircon too much

Get separate air filter 'machine' if want to fight haze

yixiang1

Yep...I saw the drop in price this afternoon as well.

Hahah...

Heng Sia!!

Price just went back to $115.99... Grab fast!!!

EDIT: Apparently, price shot back up within a few minutes.. Its $169.99 now!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.