Air purifier?

keigo22

You use longer then see and report back if there is a smell.

I am using pure HEPA (no AC) for all my stuff. Sharp original too without AC. And also DIY using Honeywell H filters. Or Fellowes H13, from AMZ.

The smell is strongest during initial startup.

Besides, this is well known, not only in this forum.

me been using my 2 x Sharp AP where one is close to 9 years and another close to 5~7 years and never notice any smell even I ON it daily when sleep regardless got haze or not. And during Haze time is like close to 24/7 running some more.

My AX40 is around 1 month old and I also smell nothing. Same for my 2 month old new Sharp AP too..

haha may my nose is spoil but I also no complain of smell from any of my family members too.

WussRedXLi

me been using my 2 x Sharp AP where one is close to 9 years and another close to 5~7 years and never notice any smell even I ON it daily when sleep regardless got haze or not. And during Haze time is like close to 24/7 running some more.

My AX40 is around 1 month old and I also smell nothing. Same for my 2 month old new Sharp AP too..

haha may my nose is spoil but I also no complain of smell from any of my family members too.

Then maybe we have more sensitive noses then. :( I operate 12 APs in SG, MIL 3 in her home, and my FIL operate 2 in Riau. All got smell.

I bought 2 x used APs, which is 1 x FU-Z31 and 1 x LG LA-Q379SB, ie in other pax's house. Also got smell. So it's not "a problem with our houses". :s13:

Coz in the 2015 El Nino and haze smell, there are so many people (first time users also) who complained that there is a smell liao.

But you'd need to be in the airflow. If you are just smelling the room's air, it is probably covered by the room's smell.

Granted, it's not overpowering. But it's there if you are looking for it.

WussRedXLi

Yes, but the smell is negligible unless you purposely go smell lor. :s13:

It's true lah. If the room already has a musky smell, which is most probably due to the Aircon FCU first and secondly the bedsheets, then nope, can't smell. Suspect that's one main reason

That's also why I change bedsheets once every fornightly, and also DIY wash aircon FCU with my Panasonic oral irrigator every 6-8 weeks. (with or without aircon foam, depends).

That's probably why we do no need activated charcoal fiter :crazy:

Thirdly - I guess also coz we are high floor with ample ventilation nearly 24/7 ba. (Except times in which whole of SG is windless). You've been to my place, my corner unit gets wind from both SE/SW and E and SE directions, ie 365 days.

PS. House got no VOC issue. The VOC meter is pretty sensitive (tested wih isopropanol, 3 drops on the living room table mixed with fan's airflow and it goes off the limit :s13:)

keigo22

Then maybe we have more sensitive noses then. :( I operate 12 APs in SG, MIL 3 in her home, and my FIL operate 2 in Riau. All got smell.

I bought 2 x used APs, which is 1 x FU-Z31 and 1 x LG LA-Q379SB, ie in other pax's house. Also got smell. So it's not "a problem with our houses". :s13:

Coz in the 2015 El Nino and haze smell, there are so many people (first time users also) who complained that there is a smell liao.

But you'd need to be in the airflow. If you are just smelling the room's air, it is probably covered by the room's smell.

Granted, it's not overpowering. But it's there if you are looking for it.

haha ok got what you mean, I mean who go and stand at AP and put your nose at the opening of the outlet to smell it??? I can only find some smell if I do that else if I standing and facing the wind direction of the AP also no smell..

My house is weekly change bedsheets one and I also DIY wash my Air-con..

WussRedXLi

No shiat........

Tefs6MR.gif

MTSAT_IR_Haze_20151008_113000.jpg

WussRedXLi

haha ok got what you mean, I mean who go and stand at AP and put your nose at the opening of the outlet to smell it??? I can only find some smell if I do that else if I standing and facing the wind direction of the AP also no smell..

My house is weekly change bedsheets one and I also DIY wash my Air-con..

Like I said, I can smell it pretty well in the airflow stream, not say very near to the outlet.

But seriously, one acid test that anyone can do, is to change out a new HEPA (taobao HEPA also can) and the difference is actually quite telling.

ie when I used the new LG PSR-459 and Midea KJ30NV that I got from carousell, the living room and my PC room was literally really fresh. Even though it was Sep 12 (if you remember, Sep 10 we got 268 ug/m3 peak, Sep 13-14 we got 200+ ug/m3 as well). Even my wife and MIL commented that.

A while after Sep 14, I changed out the Samsung AX40 original filter (which I took out of cold storage and put it into use due to Sep 10's 268ug/m3 1-hr PSI 317 episode) and put in the 60mm TB HEPA.

Not kidding you....I'm not the only guy who is saying that bro. I must have read more than 20 pax both here and the other thread. If it's really a non-issue, I'd not even be typing out such long stories or replying to the others complaining about the smell. :D

eurofunk

recieved the ax40, looks like it can sit in the storeroom liao while I just use the sharp kcd60

239mh0.jpg

WussRedXLi

After comparing a few, i bought Samsung AX40 from Qoo10 by GoniGlobal.

My question is, after on purifier and i sniff at air outlet, my throat started itching. Could smell machinery smell and weird smell.

Why is this so? Worried it's doing more harm than good.

My windows and doors have been closed for weeks already and i was using my old Europace 82H prior to Samsung's arrival.

Err...we don't have to mention that you can just just run the new HEPA for a few hours, without any pax in the room, if you really find it objectionable.

The Honeywell H type HEPA got new smell.
Fellowes HF-230 got new smell
Taobao PP media got new smell.

Some takes a few hours, some about 72 hours total run time, to out-gas, whatever.

Same thing for new clothes smell. You wash it and air it, or even wash 2X.

keigo22

Like I said, I can smell it pretty well in the airflow stream, not say very near to the outlet.

But seriously, one acid test that anyone can do, is to change out a new HEPA (taobao HEPA also can) and the difference is actually quite telling.

ie when I used the new LG PSR-459 and Midea KJ30NV that I got from carousell, the living room and my PC room was literally really fresh. Even though it was Sep 12 (if you remember, Sep 10 we got 268 ug/m3 peak, Sep 13-14 we got 200+ ug/m3 as well). Even my wife and MIL commented that.

A while after Sep 14, I changed out the Samsung AX40 original filter (which I took out of cold storage and put it into use due to Sep 10's 268ug/m3 1-hr PSI 317 episode) and put in the 60mm TB HEPA.

Not kidding you....I'm not the only guy who is saying that bro. I must have read more than 20 pax both here and the other thread. If it's really a non-issue, I'd not even be typing out such long stories or replying to the others complaining about the smell. :D

understood what you mean.. I'm just referring to another guy who complain about the AX40 smell like no diff from the haze smell during PSI 300 and making him headache or what.. it is like so unbelievable.. which I though some of you experience the smell at that kind of level where you ON AP and sitting in the room and the whole smell from the AP flood the whole room and making it smell like the haze..:s13::s13::s13:

WussRedXLi

understood what you mean.. I'm just referring to another guy who complain about the AX40 smell like no diff from the haze smell during PSI 300 and making him headache or what.. it is like so unbelievable.. which I though some of you experience the smell at that kind of level where you ON AP and sitting in the room and the whole smell from the AP flood the whole room and making it smell like the haze..:s13::s13::s13:

Of coz no lah.....

It's just smell, emanating from the particulate matter.

The particulate matter stays inside. For a H13, there is very close to 0 ug/m3 at the output, which is measurable.

But truth be told, the one LG LA-Q379SB that I bought used, was really smelling like dead fish. Whole living room like smoke out wanna puke smell. Suspect maybe quite a fair bit of mold inside too.

Immediately discarded it. That guy bought from SK and brought it here.

Luckily I have already customised 4pcs of PS-R459 filters, so just used them.

nwh_sg

3M filter? on portable fan?
Where to get the filter?

I bought the air razor filter for air con in the end. Felt good. One large piece can use for both my air con. There's two large pieces in a packet. :)

For that pic, I just used a portable fan to blast the air onto the filter which was resting at an angle against the wall. Now it is strapped behind the fan and blowing air at me. Bought from Amazon last year.

Does the air razor filter cause significant air flow reduction to your aircond?

laeticia

Goni refunded my money for the Samsung Compatibility filter.

Actually messaged them earlier during Q-Talk chat hours, they did say that it is original filter but didn't reply when I asked them about the difference with their more expensive listing at $59.90 + $19 that shows the Samsung logo

Astro

Yes, but the smell is negligible unless you purposely go smell lor. :s13:

I think i know the smell comes from where liao. It comes from the black rubber gasket of the hepa filter. Smells exactly like new tyres

laeticia

My AX40 filter started to smell after 1.5 weeks of use, quite a strong smell for a few seconds. Don't really notice it after that even when I have the air flow blowing at me (I use it like a fan)

Waiting for HappyMall to ship my 3rd AX40 (likely another 2 weeks) then I will switch filters since that's for the living room :s13:

SNAFU.

Just received my AX40 ordered from happy mall and testing it out now. It is really quiet compared to sharp FU-Z31E and sona air purifier at max speed.

Asakura

Just received my AX40 ordered from happy mall and testing it out now. It is really quiet compared to sharp FU-Z31E and sona air purifier at max speed.

so u get 1box of filter and another 1 inside the AP right? :s8:

hOp3SoT

i think the smell should be ok since normally no one would go so near the air inlet to smell it. :s13: i placed the purifier wif the air inlet opposite direction of me. :D

wizardundo

Goni refunded my money for the Samsung Compatibility filter.

Actually messaged them earlier during Q-Talk chat hours, they did say that it is original filter but didn't reply when I asked them about the difference with their more expensive listing at $59.90 + $19 that shows the Samsung logo

If the filter is original, why did the refund you the money? You asked for a refund? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.