Air purifier?

kimsim

I think my AX40 carbon filter is saturated, there is strong sour smell when I switch it on, previously there wasn't. What should I do?

Try to replace another extra hepa and totally wipe up the dust when stick on.

Wether the old hepa filter Ins't got that sour smelly

dqwong

Just a random thought:

Will it be better if we alternate between two sets(A&B) of HEPA/Carbon filters?

1) Use set A for First day then switch out to set B.
2) Vacuum and apply UV ray(either Sun or UV bulb) to SET A
3) Switch out Set B for Set A(rinse and repeat)

Akai Ryu

Just a random thought:

Will it be better if we alternate between two sets(A&B) of HEPA/Carbon filters?

1) Use set A for First day then switch out to set B.
2) Vacuum and apply UV ray(either Sun or UV ray) to SET A
3) Switch out Set B for Set A(rinse and repeat)

No imo, but to sun during hazy days is as good as when some kpkb why some no wear mask:D

HEPA works better as it clogs up slightly

I only change the orientation of the hepa.

New hepa use in ac rm. Use for non ac rm ap when abt to change hepa.

Akai Ryu

Thinking of getting ion tester....measure for good stuff instead of the bad

Akai Ryu

This is the only spec i can find so far:

foobot-spec-sheet.jpg

Saw this too, think i read somewhere that its natural air flow instead of pull air in to read?

mindgamey

on another note.

The sour smell from my xiaomi ap is gone after 150 hours of operation (50% of the time at medium speed)

Didn't do much airing of the AC layer.

Akai Ryu

I'm chemically sensitive and smell a sickly sweet chemical coming out either when it is sitting on a table or in line with the fan.

This made me wake up every morning with a sore throat and excessive post-nasal drip. I have run it at full speed for about 72 hours, both in a well-ventilated area and then a poorly-ventilated area I was not in to try to clear it out, but either it wasn't long enough or it will never smell better. Normally I leave it at the lowest speed setting (1).

If it weren't for the design of the entire unit, I would put the V-5 gas and odor filter on top of the HyperHEPA just to filter IT. But as that is not physically possible, I have no choice but to discontinue use and request a manufacturer refund.

IQAir sent me a free replacement from their stock after I asked for a RMA and linked to these reviews.

This is what they replied: "We're also aware of a certain lot of HEPA filters that are taking longer than usual aeration times for the filter smell to dissipate. A production variation appears to have caused a small percentage of customers complaints about a prolonged "new" odor."

I've been running this secondary replacement for approximately 100 hours now. It emits a sweet odor (like the original filter in the unit) but not a sickly sweet chemical one (the initial replacement). I am experiencing no obvious ill effects. For grins, I smelled the initial and secondary replacements outside the fan housing and the same difference of smell exists between the two.

I can conclude that a basic sweet smell is normal, but if it is sweet and sickly, that means it has been contaminated with some toxic chemical on the manufacturing line and needs to be replaced with a filter from a different lot.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/reviews/B000R4GNQY

Akai Ryu

Sounds serious😨
Lucky discovered in time

Just guessing here but perhaps y some are experiencing the "sour" or "sweet" smell fr their ax40 original hepa is due to sudden spike in demand for their ap thus lack of qc?

But some do indicate that the smell is normal. Or even indicating that ur filter is working

http://www.all-air-purifiers.com/iq...ifier-machines-gives-off-a-strange-smell.html

http://www.air-purifier-power.com/formaldehyderemovalpurifiers.html

http://www.air-purifier-power.com/sharpwashablecarbonfiltersweetodor103009.html

WussRedXLi

Wow again, when do u plan for bring it in?

8k + 600RMB shipping how to bring in?

I might as well spend 1.9k with shipping incld bring in that 2000 m3./hr @ only about 45 dB big arse cleanroom FFU U17 filter with external powder coated cabinet (looks nicer and less noise) better. But I don't live in a GCB, so don't need 2000 m3/hr. :s13:

kyuushin

Want to seek advice... my honeywell 18200 is emitting that same tcm sour smell and my carbon prefilter is very full of dust (which I've tried to vacuum).

Want to remove the prefilter and swop it. Any recs on cheap prefilter material I can change often or if it's possible to make/buy those air con filter like stuff as prefilter?

I plan to put activated carbon in the round cavity of the purifier

Akai Ryu

wonder if this is snake oil...mb good ion generator+electrostatic filter for 247 but alotta mixed review about this lightair. Reminds me of how common household fan accumulate dust overtime

kena slam by consumer report

but japs testing seem to suggest it works

So did this Taiwanese TV marketing program(if u can sit through the oooohh and awwwwss), their ion counter $500++SGD at amazon and TB :( mb can buy the cheapo usb looking type

hokkien

What is negative ion? aka marketed by some coy as plasmacluster, virusdoctor etc but with some ozone generation at the same time, ozone has ill effects on health but recall that its reported to be of low rate when generated by most ionising APs thus no issue when in use. Difference is charged particles collected via hepa filter vs lightair positive charge electrotatic collector, assuming that it works that is

chuanz

Moi Goni "compatability" filter shipped liao yesterday. Not tryint to turn this into a shipping tracking thread but just a headsup for a couple of others also waiting for this.

dtdw1988

The only thing i wish foobot could do is using laser instead of light scattering. It really isn't that much more expensive. some taobao sellers combine all the parts together (VOC + pm2.5) also doesn't reach 200 USD.

At such price without particle count down to 0.3 is quite a let down. The only thing I see useful is the history and graph logging, which I have yet to find any seller doing it easily.

IMO, the perfect AQM must have
-laser
-particle count
-VOC,CO2
-software logging

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.