Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

A hazy Eid in Malaysia | The Jakarta Post

A hazy Eid in Malaysia

Yuen Meikeng and P. Aruna, The Star/ANN, Petaling Jaya | World | Wed, July 30 2014, 11:49 AM

The Eid celebration turned out to be a hazy one nationwide with many areas recording unhealthy Air Pollutant Index (API) readings.

There has been a 40 per cent increase in patients with haze-related respiratory and skin problems at clinics and hospitals checked.

At 5pm yesterday, the worst hit area was Sibu with a reading of 145, followed by Batu Muda at 132 and Port Klang and Cheras, both at 117.

Other areas with unhealthy readings were Samarahan, Sri Aman, Banting, Petaling Jaya and Putrajaya.

The poor air quality in Sibu was due to a forest fire that broke out in the Bukit Lima Forest Park.

Visibility in Petaling Jaya dropped to less than one kilometre due to the thick smog while in Subang, it dropped to less than five kilometres.

While several people complained bitterly on social media about how the haze was ruining their health and had restricted their Eid celebrations, others decided to take advantage of the public holiday and set out with their families to the zoo to see the pandas in their air-conditioned enclosures or for picnics.

While the haze is expected to last until September, natural resources and enviroment minister G. Palanivel warned Malaysians that they would have to endure the current thick smog for at least another day.

Malaysian Meteorological Department (MMD) spokesman Dr Hisham Mohd Anip said the current weak winds, which were blowing at less than 10kph, would not blow the haze away.

“The wind strength has been weak since yesterday (Monday). As a result, the thick haze might stay at least until tomorrow (Wednesday),” he said yesterday.

He added that the situation was made worse by the forecast of little rain until the end of next week.

In peninsula Malaysia, seven hotspots were detected on Monday while in Borneo, nine hotspots were found.

The rapidly increasing number of forest fires on Sumatra also indicates that the haze situation here is unlikely to clear up any time soon.

Indonesia’s disaster agency had warned last month that Malaysia and Singapore could be badly hit by haze again after a large number of forest fires in Riau province, which was at the centre of an air pollution crisis last year.

On Monday, there were 133 hotspots detected on the island based on satellite images from the Meteorological Service Singapore website.

In a statement yesterday, Palanivel said there had been 4,408 cases of open burning locally from January until July 28.

Of this, there were 1,436 cases on agricultural land, 897 in forested areas and 1,011 bush fires.

“There have been 818 cases of small open burning incidents, 137 in construction areas, 75 at dumpsites and 34 in industrial areas,” he added.

Palanivel said 45 investigation papers were opened and compound notices had been sent to those involved in 315 open burning cases, adding that warning letters were sent for 101 other cases.

Under Section 29(A) of the Environmental Quality Act 1974, those convicted of open burning can be fined up to 500,000 ringgit (US$157,336) or sentenced to a jail term of up to five years or both.

They also face a maximum compound of 2,000 ringgit ($629.35) for each offence. (***)

WussRedXLi

El Niño indicators ease

Issued on Tuesday 29 July 2014 | Product Code IDCKGEWW00

Despite the tropical Pacific Ocean being primed for an El Niño during much of the first half of 2014, the atmosphere above has largely failed to respond, and hence the ocean and atmosphere have not reinforced each other. As a result, some cooling has now taken place in the central and eastern tropical Pacific Ocean, with most of the key NINO regions returning to neutral values.

While the chance of an El Niño in 2014 has clearly eased, warmer-than-average waters persist in parts of the tropical Pacific, and the (slight) majority of climate models suggest El Niño remains likely for spring. Hence the establishment of El Niño before year's end cannot be ruled out. If an El Niño were to occur, it is increasingly unlikely to be a strong event.

Given the current observations and the climate model outlooks, the Bureau’s ENSO Tracker has shifted to El Niño WATCH status. This means the chance of El Niño developing in 2014 is approximately 50%, which remains significant at double the normal likelihood of an event.

El Niño is often associated with wide scale below-average rainfall over southern and eastern inland areas of Australia and above-average daytime temperatures over southern Australia. Similar impacts prior to the event becoming fully established regularly occur.

The Indian Ocean Dipole (IOD) index has been below −0.4 °C (the negative IOD threshold) since mid-June, but needs to remain negative into August to be considered an event. Model outlooks suggest this negative IOD is likely to be short lived, and return to neutral by spring. A negative IOD pattern typically brings wetter winter and spring conditions to inland and southern Australia.

darkqwe

On the other note, I got one brand new LG-209WC Air purifier to sell if anyone is interested, won it in a lucky draw, dont think will be using. Just pm me on price

eXceSsivE

A28E original filter is HEPA10.

OEM can buy from sea. taobao.com but not the same size (need to cut and stuff and tape the edges to reduce the bypass). Need some volume/consolidation to forward to Singaoore in order to be wu hua. Typically H11 to H12 quality, which is more than gd enough.

Abit troublesome for OEM filter for Sharp A28E. Any idea where I can get the original sharp filter at a cheaper price?

WussRedXLi

After a period of brief respite after Hari Raya due to some rain in Riau, KL/Klang area once again kena slight haze.

156876425.WBSrE3B7.haze6AugKL.jpg

Unhealthy air quality in Port Klang

News
Haze
2014-08-06 11:45

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 6 (Bernama) -- Port Klang in Selangor recorded an unhealthy Air Pollutant Index (API) this morning, according to the Department of Environment (DoE).

The DOE website showed that the API reading for that location was 114 as at 8 am.

It also indicated that air quality to be at moderate levels in 18 places, among them Sri Aman (75), Miri (69), Seri Manjung (68), Cheras (62) and USM Penang (60).

The rest of the country had good air quality. An API reading of between zero and 50 indicates good air quality; between 51 and 100, moderate; between 101 and 200, unhealthy; between 201 and 300, very unhealthy and over 301, hazardous.

WussRedXLi

The H13/H14 HEPA that I got from taobao. It's a 5.4kg package, consolidated with my other packages.

I think the aluminium frame is needed for protection, but I guess you can take a risk by opting it out. The shipping cardbox offers very little protection for such a big flat piece of thing.

Can cut into 4 pcs for use with the Samsung AX40, just nice. The actual depth of the HEPA filter of this is 4cm, the aluminium frame is 5cm depth. So will fit the Samsung AX40.

Picture 2 shows the same filter design used at SGH Haemotology clinic/depth. Can see the black gasket edge that prevents bypass + vibration. Also used in HDUs and ICUs, seen it before in Mount E.

156881016.YTx1rENZ.1.jpg

156881017.wIhvdGdX.2.jpg

kcwlee

Great post!!!
For those looking to buy a sharp purifier, you can get it from rakuten.com.sg they are having 10% + 8x pts (18%) off for today. And if you have maybank credit card there is another 20% off. Delivery is free and local warranty. But they only have a few selection for sharp only. They do sell other brands as well but I feel that Sharp is more value for money.

FU-Z31E for around SGD 130 (after 18% + 20% (maybank credit card))

For those not familiar with rakuten, their promotion changes everyday at midnight.

aikseah7

Hi all, is bios life air purifier home unit a good buy?
For my room use. Recently found my room getting dusty and I having flu and cough these few days.

WussRedXLi

Hi all, is bios life air purifier home unit a good buy?
For my room use. Recently found my room getting dusty and I having flu and cough these few days.

Get a reputable one lah. That one ever hear before leh.

blues7

are we lucky or what?

not much haze problem this year

although much better prepared

total of 7 air filters for 2 homes

sound like overkill

and no need to use

xiasuaykia

Purchased a Sharp FU-A28E about a month ago, to fight my stupid sinus issue. and all I can say is I'm very very glad with my purchase. its been almost 3 weeks since my last sinus happen. Happy with the purchase.

WussRedXLi

are we lucky or what?

not much haze problem this year

although much better prepared

total of 7 air filters for 2 homes

sound like overkill

and no need to use

Air purifiers can use "forever" one. As in spoil then cannot use. Kept properly in plastic bag to prevent mould/fungi, HEPA filters can easily keep for many years.

N95 a bit "wasteful", 5 years nia, even though i bought at usd7-9 @ Amazon. If kept in dry box i reckon 8 years absolutely no issue. :)

But i agree, i bought too many boxes of 3M N95. Now is just use for virus pervention in office when there is a rise in workers in the office having flu/cough etc. I absolutely hate coughs esp those 2 weeks to 3 months type, running nose/sore throat i ok.

(It's surgical masks for those down with upper respiratory sicknesses, and N95 for those who are still healthy....to prevent breathing in aerosolised particles harbouring the viruses, the bypass % is magnitudes better than surgical masks)

But don't use too many times else you lose herd immunity, use only when you find that a certain period you cannot get sick due to certain activities, eg flying to your holiday destination, even though the cabins are equipped with HEPA.

:s22::s22:

http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/nas/rdrp/appendices/chapter6/a6-93.pdf

Protection provided by N95 and surgical masks increased with increasing particle size (for particles larger than 0.3 μm)

N95 filtering facepiece respirators offer 8-12 times higher protection than surgical masks

•No difference in protection factors between respirators with and without exhalation valves

There is also another Chinese test on virus filtration that i posted before, but i can't find it.

Anywaty...

Filter Performance of N99 and N95 Facepiece Respirators Against Viruses and Ultrafine Particles
http://annhyg.oxfordjournals.org/content/52/5/385.long

WussRedXLi

Purchased a Sharp FU-A28E about a month ago, to fight my stupid sinus issue. and all I can say is I'm very very glad with my purchase. its been almost 3 weeks since my last sinus happen. Happy with the purchase.

Wah.....A28E also so satki liao. Good of you to share your experience.

For me is allergic rhinitis.

But more often than not, if i may offer an explanation, it's due to your mouldy aircon FCU (if you use aircon that is). Clean it up, it shd be usually alright. :s13:

Even if your have a HEPA air purifier, there is no reason not to clean your aircon FCU every 2 months. Just DIY clean, i use the Jackie aircon cleaner. Think it's $12.50 for a 500ml can, can clean up 5 FCUs fins and cage fan together. I use the Panasonic oral irrigator that i purchased from Amazon to assist in the cleaning, cage fan can use a wet paint brush to assist.

Don't have to spend $50 each unit, 3 units $150 for chemical cleaning.

PS. I also use the new Jackie drain pipe cleaner, S$6.75 for 2 bottles now @ NTUC, 500ml each. Cheaper than Mr Muscle @ $8 per 500ml. Mr Muscle is gel type, this Jackie one is pretty much watery, but works as well.
Over the weekend, I just cleared 2 wash basins in the toilet (hair, grime etc) with 1 bottle. The basins were like 95% clogged, takes like 60-100 seconds for a full basin to clear the water, so yep it's pretty much clogged.

Won't hurt the env much, it's NEA approved. :D

NewJackieDrainopener.jpg

20120222_99f355.jpg

WussRedXLi

I think could be last chance for Haze 2014. Late July Early August, there were signs of warming again (the ocean cooled) and trade winds also weakened, signalling that the atmosphere could finally be interacting liao.

Peak burning is actually in Sept and lasts maybe early Oct even.

Indonesia Riau doesn't seem to be thaaatt dry this year.

A 2014 El Nino Is Still Possible Says BoM

Bureau of Meteorology ENSO bulletin
ENSO Wrap-Up

Signs of renewed El Nino activity are evident in the Pacific ocean, according to the latest update from the Australian Bureau of Meteorology (BoM).

“Some warming has occurred in the central and eastern equatorial Pacific Ocean in the recent fortnight, due to a weakening of the trade winds. If the trade winds remain weak, more warming towards El Nino thresholds is possible,” states the BoM in its update.

Sea surface temperatures (SSTs) have warmed in the central and eastern tropical Pacific during the past two weeks. Positive anomalies are present along most of the equatorial Pacific, with anomalies close to average in an area of the central Pacific and in the far western Pacific. Meanwhile sub-surface temperatures are generally near average, with waters above around 100m depth slightly warmer than average.

Prospects for an El Nino in 2014 have been impacted by the failure of the atmosphere to fall into an El Nino pattern despite warming oceans but the latest data suggests that the atmosphere may be starting to play ball.

The Southern oscillation Index – a key metric used by El Nino watchers which measures the difference in air pressure between Tahiti and Darwin – is now negative which is consistent with a developing El Nino. While westerly wind anomalies have been present over part of the western tropical Pacific, on and to the north of the equator, since late July. Sustained westerly wind anomalies would be a sign that the atmosphere could be falling into alignment with the signs of a developing El Nino in the ocean.

“This means the chance of an El Nino developing in 2014 is at least 50%, which is double the normal likelihood of an event. Five of the eight climate models surveyed by the Bureau suggest El Nino is likely for spring. However, if El Nino were to occur, it is unlikely to be a strong event,” states BoM.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.