Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

the box fan filter one looks interesting.

Bad thing is shipping the filter over will make it roughly the same price as the Sharp or

I saw a taobao one but dunno how much shipping would be for this
Éè¼Æ/¶¨ÖÆÖÐÑëзç¿Õµ÷¸ßЧhepaÍø/¿ÅÁ£Ì¼¹ýÂËÍø/³õЧԤ¹ýÂËÍø-ÌÔ±¦Íø

The guy is from malaysia and he basically did this to make an air purfier
Particle Counting

Fan can be gotten from here for 26

Qoo10 - Takada Classic Box Fan (TKBF-30) : Home Electronics

Go to Giant, Morries same model as depicted, about S$19. But the airflow would be very weak. Last year's air purifier thread we discussed a lot on this. You'd need a powerful one.

WussRedXLi

Those are ok prices, remember that is 1-pack only.

The 3M Filterete MPR2200 Elite Allergen filter is MERV-13 rating, I got a 2-pack from Amazon last year at US$42 + 11.95 shipping (via DHL, they used that coz oversized mah). 20 x 30 x 1 inch size, 2 pieces.

I got it last year to standby for another emergency filter just in case the haze worsens or continued. Luckily the very bad days lasted 3.5 days only (Wed, Thur, Fri and half day for Sat). It arrived 5 days after PSI 401. :s13:

I reckoned that I can use it in my KC-840 Sharp as a replacement filter (cut it out) as well, the costs are lower than a HEPA-13 replacement. Coz 20 x 30 2-pack I can cut out 8 pieces. Each piece can use for about 6-7 weeks.
At the end of 8-weeks I could feel my allergic rhinitis coming back so yeah 6-7 weeks effectiveness approx.

Now usd50 liao. :(

Filtrete Premium Healthy Living Filter, 16-Inch by 25-Inch by 1-Inch, 2-Pack - Amazon.com

osirisx

is this type useful?

my impression is that its useless, but the video seems to shows it clearing the smoke, or is it just circulating it?

mikeeeey

Lucky i bought the sharp A80 during cny period, in anticipation of the stupid haze

WussRedXLi

is this type useful?

my impression is that its useless, but the video seems to shows it clearing the smoke, or is it just circulating it?

In last year's air purifier thread, someone got a branded model that is v big. His comment is that it is not very useful and you gotta change out the water fast. Also got smell if you do not change it out, since it involves water.

As you can see from the video, it does work. Takes some 20 seconds to clear. It's a small box.

Take this one, it's only a HEPA-10 or E10 filter. Some commented that it does not really work for haze particles. In reality, it does.....take 2 purifiers and equip one with E10 and the other with H13/True HEPA. Both has the exact same cleaning power or CADR @ 0.3 microns if the E10 purifier has an airflow of 100 CFM and the H13 has an airflow of 85 CFM.

So with that, lets watch this vid of an E10 equipped blower. It's a very basic entry-level Sharp (I think it's the KC-A28E, 100+ dollars nia). It takes some 2 seconds to clear, similarly it's a small box. :)

blues7

Those are ok prices, remember that is 1-pack only.

The 3M Filterete MPR2200 Elite Allergen filter is MERV-13 rating, I got a 2-pack from Amazon last year at US$42 + 11.95 shipping (via DHL, they used that coz oversized mah). 20 x 30 x 1 inch size, 2 pieces.

I got it last year to standby for another emergency filter just in case the haze worsens or continued. Luckily the very bad days lasted 3.5 days only (Wed, Thur, Fri and half day for Sat). It arrived 5 days after PSI 401. :s13:

I reckoned that I can use it in my KC-840 Sharp as a replacement filter (cut it out) as well, the costs are lower than a HEPA-13 replacement. Coz 20 x 30 2-pack I can cut out 8 pieces. Each piece can use for about 6-7 weeks.
At the end of 8-weeks I could feel my allergic rhinitis coming back so yeah 6-7 weeks effectiveness approx.

Now usd50 liao. :(

Filtrete Premium Healthy Living Filter, 16-Inch by 25-Inch by 1-Inch, 2-Pack - Amazon.com

when you cut, what do you do with the side of the filter?

do you need to tape it or something?

WussRedXLi

when you cut, what do you do with the side of the filter?

do you need to tape it or something?

You can cut and tape it to prevent bypass.

Of course you can cut it such that it's 0.5cm bigger so that you can squeeze it in leaving literally no gap. There won't be much bypass to start with, just plug any holes (cutting errors) with a small piece of tissue.

NWT1978

Ok guys, latest update.

Good news, everything looks good now. Not sure why, wind is still from ENE and NE.

Bad news, currently the fire situation in Riau is worse than June 2013.

1. How Many Fires Are Burning Compared with June 2013?

From February 20 through March 11, Global Forest Watch detected 3,101 "high confidence" fire alerts on the island of Sumatra using NASA's Active Fire Data. That exceeds the 2,643 high-confidence fire alerts detected from June 13 – June 30, at the peak of the previous fires and haze crisis.

These charts show the distribution of fire alerts in the region.

The fact that the fires are now even more prevalent than in June 2013 is of great concern, especially given the steps that Indonesian and other governments have taken to try and contain the problem since then. Plus, these fires are burning at an unusual time—almost no fires were seen in Indonesia during the same period in 2013. This latest crisis is clearly linked to the extreme drought now affecting the region, which makes burning easier and increases the likelihood that fires will burn out of control.

Detailed reports
Fires in Indonesia Spike to Highest Levels Since June 2013 Haze Emergency | World Resources Institute

Fires in Indonesia at highest levels since 2013 haze emergency | Environment | theguardian.com

FIGURE%201_.png

so far the haze dropped to 75 plus for east side... didnt on the air purifier...

having flu since last night...think the nasty haze causing it. Finally got one night without that much haze and thought able to sleep nicely but Flu...difficult to breath... WTH:(

NWT1978

Maybe I miss your earlier post

Don't mind me asking, which shop is this? Can reserve stock

Thanks

Should be ok... Boss friendly and said some customers got reserved from him...

as to whether by call or using FB, I dont know =:p but I did through PM and replied within a day with reserved 1.

Latest replied from him, said can go to his shop if air purifier got problem :D nearer too :D

There you go...

https://www.facebook.com/tsyongtrading

Info.

https://www.facebook.com/tsyongtrading/info

there you go

you are the second one I help out to request for address and contact.=:p

windmill

I got Philips air purifier 4025 at OG.
you guys may want check at OG to see if there's any stocks

WussRedXLi

so far the haze dropped to 75 plus for east side... didnt on the air purifier...

having flu since last night...think the nasty haze causing it. Finally got one night without that much haze and thought able to sleep nicely but Flu...difficult to breath... WTH:(

High chance the the Johor hotspots (near Kota Tinggi) have been put out, I was checking out the 70km weather radar. At least 3 hrs of moderate to heavy rain.

So until late March/early April, shd be ok for now.

The Riau peat fires raging a few tens of metres below ground are a different animal. They'd need at least a few good days of today's rainfally we experienced in SG to be put out. I called my father in law, he said about 1hr of rain there nia. (50km from Dumai, Riau).

And no, it wasn't a torrential downpour.

rad70.gif

WussRedXLi

WussRed bro, the KC Sharp, it states 10 years no need change filter meh??

Filter lifespan depends on the total surface area of the HEPA filter.
This depends on the amount of pleating that the filter has (but usually all the HEPA filters I have seen have a heck lot of pleating). Also depends on the length and width of the filter, and also the thickness of the filter (a thicker filter has longer pleats.

ie Total surface area.

The Sharp filter has 1.5-inch pleating.

10-years use, I guess if you are living along the coast in Cambodia or up in the mountains operating the air purifier daily for 8hrs, can achieve lah.

In SG, maybe can achieve that with 30 mins use per day and without PSI 401 yearly. But then what's the point?

In my experience, 8-12hrs a day, typical environment......can use for 1.5 years before you really buay tahan the airflow dropping. (it's a gradual drop)

NWT1978

High chance the the Johor hotspots (near Kota Tinggi) have been put out, I was checking out the 70km weather radar. At least 3 hrs of moderate to heavy rain.

So until late March/early April, shd be ok for now.

The Riau peat fires raging a few tens of metres below ground are a different animal. They'd need at least a few good days of today's rainfally we experienced in SG to be put out. I called my father in law, he said about 1hr of rain there nia. (50km from Dumai, Riau).

And no, it wasn't a torrential downpour.

rad70.gif

Unless they start another round in May 2014...

if true, they want us to breath in more haze twice a year instead of once a year...

if they are meaner, go through the burning 4x a year...

Bro.......ani air purifier ........k Gip moi?????!!

now mostly out of stock...:(

can try Qoo10 but need wait for delivery...:(

or can wait till April 2014 / May 2014 then got stock:(

WussRedXLi

Super impressed with Amazon's DHL delivery. Ordered Honeywell AirGenius5 on 13 Mar & I just received it. Now, I can't wait for the transformer to be delivered from Amazon liao. Had to go SLT to buy...

You paid about usd100 for standard shipping right?

These oversized stuff, they will usually upgrade and use DHL. If no delays, is usually get it at your doorstep 4 days after you press the CHECKOUT button. :o

Many times I paid standard shipping, they will use DHL for oversized. I believe like 10 times liao. One good eg is that 3M Filterete MPR2200 Elite Allergen filter. 11.95 shipping and they whack DHL, even though it's v light.

Too bad about the 110V and 240V difference. Else I think a lot more will hoot electrical stuff, BEST Denki/Courts/HN also will get noticeably affected in sales of many stuff.

PS. Be v careful with the voltage selection and plugging of the appliance. Double check everything. Amazon has A-Z guarantee for 30 days. Anything wrong, they cover 100%. High chance is 100% refund, or they pay you to ship back at their cost, or you get to retain the faulty item and they rush out a replacement order for you.

WussRedXLi

Unless they start another round in May 2014...

if true, they want us to breath in more haze twice a year instead of once a year...

if they are meaner, go through the burning 4x a year...

(

April and May is blowing mainly WSW, sometimes W (if there are tropical systems west of Philippines), SW. So then we'd be at the mercy of Riau, Indonesia.

Just now the wind already changed a bit. Used to be ENE and NE 100% of the time.

1:30 PM 24.0 °C - 24.0 °C 100% 1013 hPa 4.0 km Variable 5.6 km/h / 1.5 m/s - N/A Rain , Thunderstorm Thunderstorms and Rain
2:00 PM 25 °C - 25 °C 97% 1012 hPa 5 km WNW 1.9 km/h / - - Rain Light Rain
2:00 PM 25.0 °C - 25.0 °C 100% 1012 hPa 5.0 km WNW 1.9 km/h / 0.5 m/s - N/A Rain Light Rain
2:30 PM 26.0 °C - 25.0 °C 94% 1011 hPa 8.0 km Variable 1.9 km/h / 0.5 m/s - N/A Rain Light Rain

Wei Xiaobao

You paid about usd100 for standard shipping right?

These oversized stuff, they will usually upgrade and use DHL. If no delays, is usually get it at your doorstep 4 days after you press the CHECKOUT button. :o

Many times I paid standard shipping, they will use DHL for oversized. I believe like 10 times liao. One good eg is that 3M Filterete MPR2200 Elite Allergen filter. 11.95 shipping and they whack DHL, even though it's v light.

Too bad about the 110V and 240V difference. Else I think a lot more will hoot electrical stuff, BEST Denki/Courts/HN also will get noticeably affected in sales of many stuff.

PS. Be v careful with the voltage selection and plugging of the appliance. Double check everything. Amazon has A-Z guarantee for 30 days. Anything wrong, they cover 100%. High chance is 100% refund, or they pay you to ship back at their cost, or you get to retain the faulty item and they rush out a replacement order for you.

I'm heading to SLT now.. What is a good brand of transformer to get? Read that " Don't buy those cheap plastic Newstar / Super brand transformers as their power is overrated. "... so don't know what is a good brand..

WussRedXLi

I'm heading to SLT now.. What is a good brand of transformer to get? Read that " Don't buy those cheap plastic Newstar / Super brand transformers as their power is overrated. "... so don't know what is a good brand..

For your Honeywell AirGenius 5, 200W with PSB safety sticker. Safety sticker is mandatory IMO. Then you don't have to worry about the brand, coz its bee tested before. It's as good as it gets.

The good thing is that the AirGenius 5 has low power consumption. Only 40W. CADR of 161. It's very energy efficienct, as good as the Sharps.

You pay a bit more compared to say the Honeywell 50150/50250, but extended daily operation would easily earn back in your Singpower bill in less than 6 months (if left in high mode drawing 40W 12hrs a day, it's 27 cents per day savings - you do the math if in medium etc). They also claim whisper quite operation.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.