Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

It was a very cordial conversation. I just asked nicely "hi, i would like to request a waiver on my shipping fees."

"I understand that it was under fssg previously n i really love to have this product. Pls assist on that, much appreciated."
Song dah!!!

WussRedXLi

how on earth did you get the shipping waived?

i paid over a US$100 for shipping my Honeywell 50250-S:(
on the other hand DHL is extremely fast, I ordered last Friday morning and DHL tried to deliver it to my house yesterday afternoon!:s22:

I remember last year haze the 50250 does not have freeship too.

It is really too big and heavy an item.

WussRedXLi

Wanted to try to get the HW 17000 from Amazon with Freeship...but do be advised that the replacement filters run for usd46 (usd23 x 2 pcs). Still cheaper than local of coz....but it would cost a bit more than the others.

The diameter of the filter is about 11 inches, I think from the picture, the HEPA pleats depth is pretty deep, I'd guesstimate at least a 2 inch possibly 3, coz the height of the filter is about 4 to 4.8 inch max (see the picture for a good ref).

The 17000 is a 130 for CADR, so used in rooms of about 25 m^2 max thereabouts. I guess with such usage at 12hrs a day, 2 years shouldn't be an issue. Remember, stuff like Novita filter is only 0.75 inch depth and 12 by 9.75 inch. Sharp A40 is 14 x 9.5 inch x 1.5 inch, A50 is even longer, Blueair filters are humongous.

Later calculate the surface area of the cylinder....11 inch dia and 4.8inch x 2. Ard there lah.

Amazon.com - Honeywell HRF-D1 Universal HEPA filter, HRF-D1 / Filter (D) - Air Purifiers

stam

It was a very cordial conversation. I just asked nicely "hi, i would like to request a waiver on my shipping fees."

"I understand that it was under fssg previously n i really love to have this product. Pls assist on that, much appreciated."

cut and paste now!!:s13::s13:

stam

honeywell 50250-S users, it this purifier only have 1 type of filter and washable like 50150-n?

this 2 purifier the difference is it just the size of the area it can purify?

are they available in SG? Thanks.

WussRedXLi

honeywell 50250-S users, it this purifier only have 1 type of filter and washable like 50150-n?

this 2 purifier the difference is it just the size of the area it can purify?

are they available in SG? Thanks.

H13 filters are not washable. Though Honeywell Quietcare series got claim 99.9% @ 0.3 and are washable.

You can google, HEPA are not washable. It will spoil the thing. I know there are some in the air purifier thread posted last year who said that HEPA can wash, but they are not. Do a google ba.

Not vacuumable also. The particulates are lodged firmly in the fibres. If so easily dislodged, then everytime you switch on Turbo mode also blow some particulates out liao (remember, H13 is 99.97 minimum at 0.3m minimum particulate penetrating size, other sizes are approaching very close to 100%). :D

The 50150 uses 2pcs of 21500.
The 50250 uses 3pcs of 24000.

I think can use this for the 50250, blow up the picture.
http://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-Uni..._sim_hg_4?ie=UTF8&refRID=0387XBS4MJ89DP8SH5HG

stam

H13 filters are not washable. Though Honeywell Quietcare series got claim 99.9% @ 0.3 and are washable.

You can google, HEPA are not washable. It will spoil the thing. I know there are some in the air purifier thread posted last year who said that HEPA can wash, but they are not. Do a google ba.

Not vacuumable also. The particulates are lodged firmly in the fibres. If so easily dislodged, then everytime you switch on Turbo mode also blow some particulates out liao (remember, H13 is 99.97 minimum at 0.3m minimum particulate penetrating size, other sizes are approaching very close to 100%). :D

Amazon.com - Honeywell Universal 14" Air Purifier Replacement HEPA filter, HRF-F1 / Filter (F) -

thanks bro, you like damn knowledgeable in air purifiers sia! :s13::s13:

WussRedXLi

Honeywell Air Purifier Reviews

17000S is another survivor of the round-filtered Honeywell designs, this one with the filter laid in sideways. Honeywell 17000 air cleaners use two modular HRF-D1 stacking replacement filters.

CADRs;

Dust 130,
Pollen 130,
Smoke 130.

Official room size is 200 sq. ft., nothing about this air cleaner (no plasma ion streamer or photocatalytic oxidation...) to suggest more than 1.0 sq. ft. per smoke CADR, so I think 130 sq. ft. is best room size.

Kaz has called this true-HEPA "Permanent, needing only periodic vacuuming to last indefinitely.

I have been skeptical of these claims.

Not an Energy Star, but Honeywell 17000 is as inexpensive as a true-HEPA air purifier can be.

WussRedXLi

Economy, durability, and an average Clean Air Delivery Rate (CADR) of 250 are some of the reasons for the continuing popularity of the 50250.

One piece filters have been dropped, replacements are stacked three high.

This insures long term replacement filter availability, but lets some air slip between the filters.

stam

Economy, durability, and an average Clean Air Delivery Rate (CADR) of 250 are some of the reasons for the continuing popularity of the 50250.

One piece filters have been dropped, replacements are stacked three high.

This insures long term replacement filter availability, but lets some air slip between the filters.

50250 must be bought from amazon? is it available locally in SG?

coldmilk

I have tried before with Fisher Price bouncer and Fisher Price rocker. Buay sai. But maybe now worth a try for those who want it....

Can just order, if even after chatting with 3 different CSOs cannot waive, still can cancel the order. The status usually change to "Preparing Shipment" only after 30 mins fastest, most times longer than that. Even then, still can cancel, just click the Cancel items/order button and type in any reason you want. But once they change to Shipping Now then mos likely cannot cancel via the button or CSO chat.

And they are most likely to ship it out via DHL.

I tried before with stuff like Evenflo Exersaucer and Bright Starts Activity Centre before, they errorneously put shipping wt as 1 pound so it just costs usd9.98 to ship over.
This Evenflo Exersaucer was also usd64 then, + 9.98 (now raised to 89.90). DHL 4 days, shiok. :D

Amazon.com: Evenflo Exersaucer Jump and Learn Stationary Jumper, My First Pet: Baby

Just make sure that the product are sold by Amazon (and not one of the other seller) and they are AmazonGlobal Eligible.

I think the weight limit is 20lbs per item but they can be flexible. So be polite to the CSO. The 50150N was just above 20lbs but they offered me the free shipping!

coldmilk

Amazon.com - Honeywell Universal 14" Air Purifier Replacement HEPA filter, HRF-F1 / Filter (F) -

The HoneyWell 50150N is supposed to be permanent and can be vacuum (not wash). Like you I am skeptical.

My plan is;
1. I am using 2 pre-filters. This should help to extend the life of the hepa filter. The airflow is still quite good with 2 pre-filters.
2. The hepa filter is supposed to last 2 to 5 years.
3. I plan to try to vacuum but will need to ensure that the vacuum cleaner do not suck and then blow the fine particle into the air. Best to do this outdoor and with a N mask on. I also will be using a powerful vacuum cleaner with a water filtration system (I have a rainbow cleaner). Alternatively use a VC with a hepa filter.
4. If the above fail, we can always get a new air purifer. A new air purifier (50150 or 17000) is about US$100 and you probably need to pay half of that in getting just the hepa and pre filter. After 5 years, getting a new system may not be a bad idea.

Akai Ryu

KGsD6GI.jpeg

coldmilk

50250 must be bought from amazon? is it available locally in SG?

Honeywell Singapore carry the HA170 model whoch I think is similar to the 17000 model sold in Amazom. Unfortunately the retail price is $509!! You can buy about 3 x 17000 (plus 3 step-down transformers) for that price!

========================
The HA170 is the medium-sized air cleaner, suited for average allergic situations. It is strong enough for use in a typical HDB-sized living room, and can be carried into the bedroom before sleeping. Uses medical-grade True HEPA filtration (99.97% at 0.3 microns), and a large activated charcoal prefilter to remove odour. Comes with handle for easy movement between rooms. RP: S$ 509inc GST.
http://www.allergy.com.sg/honeywell.html

RuoQin

No use one, don't buy.

You might as well get the 3M filter and secure it to the back of your fan. Works better and also verified with a laser air particle counter.

Today is v slightly hazy again. PSI 70. Looks like somewhere out there, fires still continuing to burn despite so many thunderstorms around the region.
thx for the reply~!

i bought the novita 101 instead~ hope will be useful~ :(

WussRedXLi

thx for the reply~!

i bought the novita 101 instead~ hope will be useful~ :(

The NP101 is way more useful. It has a CADR of 100, just good enough for say a 6 x 4.5m MBR since after putting a cabinet and a storage bed/TV console in then the volume of air in the room to be filtered drops quite a bit.

WussRedXLi

The HoneyWell 50150N is supposed to be permanent and can be vacuum (not wash). Like you I am skeptical.

My plan is;
1. I am using 2 pre-filters. This should help to extend the life of the hepa filter. The airflow is still quite good with 2 pre-filters.
2. The hepa filter is supposed to last 2 to 5 years.
3. I plan to try to vacuum but will need to ensure that the vacuum cleaner do not suck and then blow the fine particle into the air. Best to do this outdoor and with a N mask on. I also will be using a powerful vacuum cleaner with a water filtration system (I have a rainbow cleaner). Alternatively use a VC with a hepa filter.
4. If the above fail, we can always get a new air purifer. A new air purifier (50150 or 17000) is about US$100 and you probably need to pay half of that in getting just the hepa and pre filter. After 5 years, getting a new system may not be a bad idea.

My Sharp KC-840E is still going strong and no funny out of balance motor shaft sounds after 6 years of continuous daily 12-hr operation. Brushless DC motor. :D

2 prefilters is good. Wrap one more layer, preferably the second layer is finer. I am not sure how coarse/fine the Honeywell prefilter is, but can experiment with the 3M Filtrete or those Duck brand polyurethane foam aircon filter that you can get at 0.96usd from AMZ. :D

Actually the Sharp air purifiers have 2 prefilters. The first one is those mesh net type the stuff that you find in aircon fan coil units.

Then on the Sharp HEPA filter itself, the side facing the airflow side also has a very thin but very fine fibreglass mesh kinda netting. Something like your surgical mask but much thinner. Just designed to block a wee bit of dust, but that kind of dust that's blocked is way finer than what can be blocked by the regular air-con FCU mesh type of coarse prefilter. It is this layer that needs to be vacuumed (in addition to the outermost prefilter, of coz).....when you touch the dust it is the fine powdery type.

HEPA layer cannot be vacuumed. Also very sceptical that can vacuum, what actually can be vacuumed is that super fine layer of powder dust that accumulates on the "previous" mesh filter I guess. I guess if I make a super rough guess that's like 10 microns? HEPA is 0.3 microns MPPS worst cast scenario, I posted a link before that it can do even 0.01 to 0.1 microns, those are really lodged inside the HEPA filter.....be it HEPA10, 11, 12 or 13.

But I think only the Sharp HEPA filters have this additional very thin layer of prefilter on the HEPA itself (in addition to the net/mesh prefilter on the air purifier covering). Others don't have, like my Novita.

Seriously, also common sense lah...you see the Honeywell HEPA filters, the mini pleating is some 2 inches deep into the filter, how to vacuum man? The majority of the HEPA doing the work is really those mini-pleats, which aims to increase the surface area and those minimise pressure drop across the filter. Now if our N95s also got mini pleats, that'd help heaps regarding folks kaopeh say difficult to breathe. :D

The rainbox vacuum shd be good lah.

I think might not be able to push the Honeywell HEPAs to 5 years, even though they do have a lot more volume than say even the SHARP ones. I'll do a calculation soon. Maybe 2-3 years?

The Novita NP501 and I have also see then NP611i, I believe that size of HEPA is just maybe 8 months max (12 inch by 9.75 inch by 0.75 inch), my standard...before I buay tahan either the smell or drop in airflow (noticeably). 12 hrs per day....then add once per year super haze episode of 200-400 PSI. :D Really, that dense haze episode really clogs up quite a bit of the HEPA.

My vacuum cleaner is those regular Philips one you see in OG ba..... just that it uses S bag and also the Electrolux/Philips exhaust series "system".

So in the stores got Philips H10 vacuum bags and then H13 exhaust filter. So no issue there.

The exhaust is this one (it's still available, just have to click on the "9 new" link...the Amazon.com add to cart is inside) :
Now is 11.64usd. I got it for 9.18usd. :D SG retail is S$45. :eek::s8:
Amazon.com - 3M Filtrete Electrolux S / Eureka HF-1 HEPA Vacuum Filter, 1 Pack - Household Vacuum Filters Upright

HEPA-10 S bag. (Electrolux) You can get the Philips H10 bags in OG and Taka Best Denki.

Amazon.com - Genuine Electrolux Anti-Allergy s-bag EL202F - 4 bags - Household Vacuum Bags Upright

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.