Air purifier?

Akai Ryu

Actually sharp filter can really last 10 yrs on daily usage? I use barely a year but I feel like changing though I do vacc e odour filter and the mesh on the hepa

WussRedXLi

KGsD6GI.jpeg

The S$109 one is the A50 H13 filter. HFE.

Don't mix up with the cheaper S$69 DFE, ie Deodorising filter. Activated charcoal.

WussRedXLi

Can see the Sharp HEPA filter here. The green netting "mesh" takes care of the fine powder dust that is missed by the coarser prefilter that's located on the airpurifier itself, something like your air-con FCU coarse prefilter. It is this layer that needs to be vacuumed.

The HEPA10-13 filter is behind this green layer.

The first pic shows both sides of the filter. One is facing the airflow, one is already facing the motor side.

14722386_201308151032.jpg

sharp-hepa-filter-fz-c100hfe.jpg

Akai Ryu

The S$109 one is the A50 H13 filter. HFE.

Don't mix up with the cheaper S$69 DFE, ie Deodorising filter. Activated charcoal.

Yup didn't buy coz forgot to check model number for my A50. Thinking of changing all filter including the one for the humidifier. .or just buy to standby

ping81

Yup didn't buy coz forgot to check model number for my A50. Thinking of changing all filter including the one for the humidifier. .or just buy to standby

Tats a lot of money! Can buy new 17000 le

WussRedXLi

Humidifier wick filter no need to replace one lah. I think most folks would just don't use it after some time.....at most is just use during the first few hours of switching on the aircon. Besides not super effective in bringing up the humidity anyway. Just an additional feature that I guess some may "just use".

DFE / activated charcoal filter, I feel also a bit waste money. After 4-6 weeks not much "feel" liao.

I buy activated charcoal by the kilogram from AMZ, those aquariums one. I know, form factor and type of AC also a bit different from the air purifiers one.

But note, DFE filter S$69. That kind of money, I can buy about 5kg of high quality AC from Amazon. WTF? How much does the Sharp DFE weigh? I think the AC inside like 100 grams nia. But the AC type is very effective for adsorbing scent.

Disclaimer : AC type used in air purification is usually coconut husk. AC type used in aquarium is bituminous coal. The difference is the size range of the pit size in the AC. The angstrom size of the pits, so that the scent and VOC/Volatile Organic Compounds molecules can fit into those pits. The angstrom size range of the pits in bituminous coal is more like optimised for adsorbing dissolve organic compounds found in water of aquariums/ponds....not air / scent molecules. But that doesn't mean that it won't work...just a matter of (1) efficiency (2) effectiveness.

10000 angstrom = 1 micron. 0.3 microns = 300 angstrom.
Scent molecules are like 0.x to a few angstroms nia.
10 angstroms= 1 nanometre

So as you can see, HEPA or ULPA can't touch scent molecules at all.

My experience, the aquarium type of AC still works great in our HDB rooms. I have about 1kg of AC in use at any one time, lasts about 6 months.

Akai Ryu

Hmmm ok will just buy hepa and wash the carbon filter. Btw if water run out faster than usual. .. any cause for concern?

WussRedXLi

Hmmm ok will just buy hepa and wash the carbon filter. Btw if water run out faster than usual. .. any cause for concern?

Water run out, what concern are you afraid of?

DFE activated charcoal cannot wash one. Also cannot dry in sunlight to recharge. I think it's the same type of marketing gimmick that says HEPA can wash. Or 10-year HEPA filter gimmick.

Even if you say boiling water for the DFE to recharge it, not that effective. Trust me, I have boiled my DFE with 3 kettles of 100 deg C boiling water. For one, it is also very dangerous. 2 litres of 100 deg C x 3 = 6 litres.

This is not new info. The aquarium hobbyists know this very well.

Wait I google...
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_can_a..._can_activated_charcoal_be_cleaned_and_reused

http://freshaquarium.about.com/od/filtermedia/a/Activated-Carbon-In-The-Aquarium.htm

Recharging Activated Carbon
Stories about recharging activated carbon abound. Some even give step by step instructions, which generally involve baking the carbon in your oven. These stories are myths. The temperature and pressure required to recharge exhausted activated carbon cannot be achieved in your oven at home.

Akai Ryu

Water seem to last longer in the past....i use bottled distilled water. Now run out quite fast....than again maybe coz i use daily for about 8 hrs

manual state can wash the carbon filter...so its just marketing gimmick???

Asure7

for some sharp purifiers, the charcoal is one whole bag placed in front of the hepa filter, also acting as a pre-filter for the pre-filter... u'll be amazed how much dirt it can trap. washable and expected to last 5 years.
the bag is quite thick and as big as the hepa filter

WussRedXLi

Water seem to last longer in the past....i use bottled distilled water. Now run out quite fast....than again maybe coz i use daily for about 8 hrs

manual state can wash the carbon filter...so its just marketing gimmick???

Ok, these "wick" humidifying filters, not unlike how those evaporative air coolers work, depends on how wet the air is. ie RH %. If you whack your a/c to say 21 deg, the FCU metal coil condenses a lot coz it's very cold always below the Dew Point of the ambient air, then of coz it would run out of water faster. So it depends.

If you could measure the temperature of the air output from your Sharp A50 with the humidifying function turned on, you'd find that it's a somewhat like 4-5 deg C cooler than the ambient air temperature in the air-con room (say you take a fan and blow it at the thermo sensor). Due to this evaporative cooling.

Those mist type humidifiers use a powerful piezoelectric ultrasonic transducer to excite the water and atomise it into ultra tiny water droplets, and "spray" it out. Different.

Wah, you very rich ah...use bottled water. Relax lah.

I'd say mostly marketing gimmick. It might work a wee bit, but seriously I don't feel it. Probably trick yourself into believing that it works nia. :D

Now I use 1 kg of bituminous coal AC that I purchase from AMZ, even though it's for aquarium use.....man. Sibeh power. As long as got airflow, will do. Put it into those laundry bag, put at the air purifier intake, aircon FCU intake.....can run liao. :D

Only -ve is that you gotta rinse it a bit first, to get rid of the AC "ash".

Akai Ryu

for some sharp purifiers, the charcoal is one whole bag placed in front of the hepa filter, also acting as a pre-filter for the pre-filter... u'll be amazed how much dirt it can trap. washable and expected to last 5 years.
the bag is quite thick and as big as the hepa filter

oh mine is KCA50E

btw i noticed that the humidifying filter tend to grow mold like this pic but a simple wash and not using humidifying function for a few days does the job

DSC_0529.JPG

Akai Ryu

Ok, these "wick" humidifying filters, not unlike how those evaporative air coolers work, depends on how wet the air is. ie RH %. If you whack your a/c to say 21 deg, the FCU metal coil condenses a lot coz it's very cold always below the Dew Point of the ambient air, then of coz it would run out of water faster. So it depends.

If you could measure the temperature of the air output from your Sharp A50 with the humidifying function turned on, you'd find that it's a somewhat like 4-5 deg C cooler than the ambient air temperature in the air-con room (say you take a fan and blow it at the thermo sensor). Due to this evaporative cooling.

Those mist type humidifiers use a powerful piezoelectric ultrasonic transducer to excite the water and atomise it into ultra tiny water droplets, and "spray" it out. Different.

Wah, you very rich ah...use bottled water. Relax lah.

I'd say mostly marketing gimmick. It might work a wee bit, but seriously I don't feel it. Probably trick yourself into believing that it works nia. :D

I stopped using bottled water recently due to high usage...use to be two 1.5 liter per week...ya mb running out faster than usual due to AC temp

Akai Ryu

this is how the manual instruct how to wash the carbon filter for sharp

DSC_0305.JPG

Then dry in this orientation
DSC_0307.JPG

KCA50E_01.jpg

WussRedXLi

More poison for the DIYer. :D

I got this, 100 ounces or 2.835kg
I feel that the pellet size and weight is not that optimised. It is very heavy per pellet, but what we want is max surface area that the AC can be exposed to the air.

Amazon.com: Acurel LLC Extreme Activated Carbon Pellets, 100-Ounce: Pet Supplies

I feel this is a better purchase. 1.135kg. I got 4pcs of this. Actually this container and the container above is nearly the same size, I think this one is just 30% smaller in volume. But the weight is so much different.
Amazon.com: Marineland PA0373 Black Diamond Activated Carbon, 40-Ounce, 1134-Gram: Pet Supplies

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.