Air purifier?

widman01

For honeywell, Carbon pre filter is so cheap... Us$8-10@ amazon. No need to think whether washable or not
I have been using it for my air purifier, aircon, pc and dehumidier. Dirty then throw

mosmos

oh mine is KCA50E

btw i noticed that the humidifying filter tend to grow mold like this pic but a simple wash and not using humidifying function for a few days does the job

DSC_0529.JPG

:s22: then the air blowing out ish bacteria or mould spores~?

WussRedXLi

For honeywell, Carbon pre filter is so cheap... Us$8-10@ amazon. No need to think whether washable or not
I have been using it for my air purifier, aircon, pc and dehumidier. Dirty then throw

Yeah, that's another option. Just cut into size and scotch tape into the Sharps or Novitas ba.....

Or if the hand is itcher, try my DIY activated charcoal method.

Try once, sure kena addicted. Mountain fresh air, really.

WussRedXLi

Actually not as bad as this pic...jus some yellowish growth in the middle which washed off with lukewarm water

U let it stay or remove

I removed it, since I don't really whack my a/c to 22 or 23 deg C so no issue with really low humidity. Also have a thermo and hygrometer in the room so I always know how dry/wet it is.

WussRedXLi

widman01

What's the difference? The premium one has zeolite is it?

Amazon.com - Honeywell Universal Carbon Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-AP1 / Filter (A) - Carbon Prefilter Air Purifiers
Honeywell Universal Carbon Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-AP1 / Filter (A)

Amazon.com - Honeywell Premium Odor-Reducing Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-APP1 / Filter (A) - Hepa Prefilter
Honeywell Premium Odor-Reducing Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-APP1 / Filter (A)

Look the same maybe price error.

I bought usd9 from amazon before. It is exactly same item best denki selling at s$29.90

Added:
Read from reviewer, APP1 (the premium) has added zeolite

clementiboy

What's the difference? The premium one has zeolite is it?

Amazon.com - Honeywell Universal Carbon Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-AP1 / Filter (A) - Carbon Prefilter Air Purifiers
Honeywell Universal Carbon Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-AP1 / Filter (A)

Amazon.com - Honeywell Premium Odor-Reducing Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-APP1 / Filter (A) - Hepa Prefilter
Honeywell Premium Odor-Reducing Air Purifier Replacement Pre-Filter, HRF-APP1 / Filter (A)

yeah looks exactly the same too.
ended up i did not buy.
wait till i get my 50250-s up and running first :D

WussRedXLi

7 hrs ago. I think most times the satellite cannot get an accurate number of hotspots due to cloud cover coz nowadays always raining. So sometimes is just one.... below picture shows 49.

Remember, got rain, also got hotspots. :crazy:

So now we all ish just waiting for mama nature to dry out the region nia. And then we don't get the variable wind dir (intermonsoon) and we get SW and W most times. Then huat liao.

p_09M_TXUWD5FB-qXIbFAPTB_dPgAzFQ8utk6QyYLkxSHdMQiLK_0DT9AAddMmc66VfzS1yQ0UKT5obFqyEo5uPBjCnhron3mtfp3rt_mTK0puwvWf7FER80jzT9Yg=s0-d-e1-ft

nasa_haze_news_featured.jpg

WussRedXLi

I have calculated ....

The Honeywell 17000 filter quite power actually.

pi x diamter = circumference.

Box dimensions 4.8 by 11.6 by 11.6 inches. So take it to be 10.5 inches diameter.

Circumference = 3.142 x 10.5 = 33 inches.

17000 needs 2 of these, so take 4.5 inches x 2 = 9.

So effective it's a 33 inches by 9 inches HEPA,

The pleating depth of the filter is likely to be 2 inches. See pic below and use a ruler to measure the black part and central donut hole, and take total diamter to be 10.5 inches.

So it's a 33" x 9 x 2 inch HEPA. If a Sharp A40 14 x 9.5 x 1.5" I say can last approx 1.5 years in my real life setting 12hrs per day and 1 dense haze episode per year, then this can last 3 times longer, ie 4.5 years.

4 years would definitely be ok for everyone. Just a little loss in airflow and not too loud (due to increased pressure drop)

This pic would elaborate more
honeywell-hrf11-2.jpg

WussRedXLi

Finally got the power comsumption of the 17000.

http://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-Long-Life-QuietCare-Purifier-17000/product-reviews/B000050AQ5

Just received Honeywell 17000N today. This is my 3rd air purifier in my house, the others are: Panasonic FP15HU, and Whirlpool Whispure AP250.

I will only talk about noise in this review, since I think most HEPA-type air purifier should almost equivalent to each other, in terms of cleaning the air.

At its lowest setting, the Honeywell 17000N is quite loud, although it does have higher air flow than my other two air purifiers at their lowest settings. The other review mentioned the noise level resemble hair dryer. I agree with this assessment, although more likely it sounds like hair dryer on its lowest setting.

Here is how noisy it is (at the lowest setting): I put it at about 4' from the door in a 11x11 size room. With the door closed, at 6' away I can still hear the whoosh sound of the air purifier.

I am still not sure whether to put this in my son's room, or just put it in a general area like the living room. Will see if he's able to tolerate the noise through the night.

UPDATE: I just used a power meter to check the power usage of my air purifiers. At the lowest setting, here's the power usage:
Honeywell 17000N - 58 watt
Panasonic FP15HU - 40 watt
Whirlpool AP250 - 26 watt

No wonder Honeywell is the loudest of the bunch, and it uses twice as much power as the Whirlpool AP250.

Here's the power usage at the highest setting:
Honeywell 17000N - 80 watt
Panasonic FP15HU - 96 watt
Whirlpool AP250 - 45 watt

WussRedXLi

If we take a difference of 50W (including slight transformer loss/inefficiency) between this vs say the Sharp or Novitas power consumption in medium/high speed.

$0.275 per kWh incld GST.

50/1000 kW * $0.275 * 12 * 365 = S$60 per year.

plasticpistola

Finally got the power comsumption of the 17000.

Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Honeywell Long-Life Pure HEPA QuietCare Air Purifier, 17000

Just received Honeywell 17000N today. This is my 3rd air purifier in my house, the others are: Panasonic FP15HU, and Whirlpool Whispure AP250.

I will only talk about noise in this review, since I think most HEPA-type air purifier should almost equivalent to each other, in terms of cleaning the air.

At its lowest setting, the Honeywell 17000N is quite loud, although it does have higher air flow than my other two air purifiers at their lowest settings. The other review mentioned the noise level resemble hair dryer. I agree with this assessment, although more likely it sounds like hair dryer on its lowest setting.

Here is how noisy it is (at the lowest setting): I put it at about 4' from the door in a 11x11 size room. With the door closed, at 6' away I can still hear the whoosh sound of the air purifier.

I am still not sure whether to put this in my son's room, or just put it in a general area like the living room. Will see if he's able to tolerate the noise through the night.

UPDATE: I just used a power meter to check the power usage of my air purifiers. At the lowest setting, here's the power usage:
Honeywell 17000N - 58 watt
Panasonic FP15HU - 40 watt
Whirlpool AP250 - 26 watt

No wonder Honeywell is the loudest of the bunch, and it uses twice as much power as the Whirlpool AP250.

Here's the power usage at the highest setting:
Honeywell 17000N - 80 watt
Panasonic FP15HU - 96 watt
Whirlpool AP250 - 45 watt

Bro I oso just ordered the Honeywell from amazon but it's the round round one.

Can sic which transformer you're using and how much?

TKIA!

WussRedXLi

Bro I oso just ordered the Honeywell from amazon but it's the round round one.

Can sic which transformer you're using and how much?

TKIA!

I didn't get the Honeywells. Just get the 500W one. This one some bros are using, they said don't get warm in lower speeds so pretty ok. Thuis one is FSSG so can tag with your other purchases as well.

Amazon.com: Power Bright VC500W Voltage Transformer 500 Watt Step Up/Down converter 110/120 Volt - 220/240 Volt: Patio, Lawn & Garden

plasticpistola

WussRedXLi

can sic a transformer i can get locally? cos amazon oredi shipped out my order liao, cannot tompang oredi :(

Wah, then would be a bit more ex liao in the range of S$50-70 and some of them would have the PSB sticker (safer, at least in theory as it's stress tested locally). Check Sim Lim Tower ba...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.