Air purifier?

s3856

Any news of sharp air purifier stock available? Replied from Sharp Singapore stock is available around April, but can't find any stock available at departmental store or GAH.

clementiboy

honestly is sim lim tower open today?
i want to go down and get my step down transformer...
but if some people want to buy the step down transformer from amazon for Free ship to SG, do let me know too :)

mosmos

Selling at IMM Best Denki roadshow on level one, outside MCD~

extra 5% discount until sunday~

w56Cheq.jpg

amihe

It was a very cordial conversation. I just asked nicely "hi, i would like to request a waiver on my shipping fees."

"I understand that it was under fssg previously n i really love to have this product. Pls assist on that, much appreciated."

So glad I found this thread!

I was ready to luge it back from CA next month. But not happy about the tax and $25 domestic flight baggage fee. Still it is far cheaper than the $150 Amazon charges for shipping.

Thankfully, I stumbled upon WussRedXLi's post on the Amazon's thread and it finally lead me here.

I had the 50250S and the step-down in the cart and emailed a CSO... quoted ping81 word for word. Got rejected, replied nicely and they responded they would make a one time waiver! OMG. I'm a happy man now.

Thank you coldmilk, ping81, WussRedXLi and many others who contributed to the thread.

Btw, clementiboy and WussRedXLi which pre-filter would you recommend? Sorry if this had been discussed and I missed it.

WussRedXLi

Selling at IMM Best Denki roadshow on level one, outside MCD~

extra 5% discount until sunday~

w56Cheq.jpg

Was searching for data on the Samsung AX022 and saw this on taobao.
HEPA can handle 0.1 microns easily.

T2skxMXI8XXXXXXXXX-63371835.jpg

2.5 microns data.

T2TOlGXNdaXXXXXXXX-63371835.jpg

WussRedXLi

I had the 50250S and the step-down in the cart and emailed a CSO... quoted ping81 word for word. Got rejected, replied nicely and they responded they would make a one time waiver! OMG. I'm a happy man now.

Thank you coldmilk, ping81, WussRedXLi and many others who contributed to the thread.

Btw, clementiboy and WussRedXLi which pre-filter would you recommend? Sorry if this had been discussed and I missed it.

Jialuck, I can imagine Clementiboy flipping tables liao... But well, such is life.

I am using very thin PU foam as an additional pre-filter in my Novita NAP501. I put it after the coarse net pre-filter.

Amazon.com: Duck Brand 1285234 Replacement Air Conditioner Foam Filter, 24-Inch by 15-Inch by 1/4-Inch, 1-Pack: Home Improvement

Amazon.com: Thermwell Products 15X24x3/16 A/C Filter F1524 Air Conditioner Filters: Home Improvement

WussRedXLi

Samsung AX041, 354m^3/hr airflow (208 CFM). 45 dB, 34W. Around Sharp A50 performance but slightly less noisy.

T2N3vFXfJbXXXXXXXX-490021512.jpg

T2blrsXpBaXXXXXXXX_!!490021512.jpg

GegeV2

Bought 2 units of the Samsung 20㎡ AX20H5000EBD air purifier

Very quiet...

adrianloh

Samsung vs sharp fa50

I'm not a very techie guy and I really know nuts about all this...

Really need assistance.

In the forum, sharp was so strongly recommended and so often being mentioned, it has drilled into my head that I must get this. Fortunately recently the air quality was good all thks to the rain but would wana get this as standby cos dun wana caught in another situation again.

I wana know is this Samsung on par with sharp fuA80?

If the recommended is still the sharp, I rather wait for the model to restock.

Appreciate your help. Thks

WussRedXLi

I'm not a very techie guy and I really know nuts about all this...

Really need assistance.

In the forum, sharp was so strongly recommended and so often being mentioned, it has drilled into my head that I must get this. Fortunately recently the air quality was good all thks to the rain but would wana get this as standby cos dun wana caught in another situation again.

I wana know is this Samsung on par with sharp fuA80?

If the recommended is still the sharp, I rather wait for the model to restock.

Appreciate your help. Thks

Personal opinion is that currently you may wish to wait for the Sharp as current situation is good.

The A50 is on par with the Samsung AX041. The FU-A80 is slightly better (it uses HEPA 10, so gotta times the airflow figures by 85% to get the clean air delivery rate if you know what I am getting at coz HEPA 10 retains 85% at 0.3 microns)

Sharp replacement filters are carried by Best Denki locally (check out Taka BD branch) and can be easily purchased. I have personally seen stacks of the A40 and A50 (prob most popular here) in Taka. In fact I counted nearly 100 pieces of the A40 and A50's HEPA filters at Taka Best Denki last year in Jul/Aug after the haze episode.

Not sure about the Samsung, but I believe you'd have to put in more work for that like calling the local Samsung office or something (even then they may not stock it).

WussRedXLi

16 hours ago.

52 hotspots. (may be slightly higher as cloud cover obscures detection)

North part of SG is 89.

jM_0fvz7jkRN-e1mW9NKTvVSB3Xa00osvGlWSOiJ_1wCzCk6LRoaPOGl8Q38hnUYvRmuHDmZxutFx3f7_hBobFxPCX5RC1CGB48Ed9z8qfQEr0tVKEBmtIZwHDtYTA=s0-d-e1-ft

cnotsniw

Asure7

Interesting that Samsung publishes results on PM2.5 and 0.1 micron testing, but doesn't say anything about 0.3 micron particles (the most difficult to filter) which is the industry standard. That type of results, many other brands of air purifier can produce.. don't even need HEPA-13.

But if you are only concerned about the haze... it works fine i guess. But the skeptical side of me thinks they are misleading the ill-informed that just because they can do 99% on 0.1 micron (with a testing time of 1hr) means any particles bigger than that will be the same or even better.
And why testing done by China when its made in Korea? :s11:

WussRedXLi

Interesting that Samsung publishes results on PM2.5 and 0.1 micron testing, but doesn't say anything about 0.3 micron particles (the most difficult to filter) which is the industry standard. That type of results, many other brands of air purifier can produce.. don't even need HEPA-13.

But if you are only concerned about the haze... it works fine i guess. But the skeptical side of me thinks they are misleading the ill-informed that just because they can do 99% on 0.1 micron (with a testing time of 1hr) means any particles bigger than that will be the same or even better.
And why testing done by China when its made in Korea? :s11:

(1) the Samsungs have true HEPA filters, ie HEPA-13. As per standard, > 99.95% @ 0.3 microns MPPS. Just take that as more than good enough.

(2) It's nice to know that it can do 0.1 microns, "confirming" my earlier posting that HEPA-13 filters can easily handle 0.1 microns and somewhat below too. As sampled in Beijing, the haze particles predominantly range between 0.02 microns to 0.1 microns, sizeable amount between 0.1 to 1 microns.

Three, China has its own testing bodies as well. In fact Beijing has been using PM2.5 way before us here in Singapore, since 2010 I believe. That's thanks to the US Embassy who reported PM2.5 also when Beijing was still reporting PM10 (and as you'd know, huge discrepancy there)...so they had to follow suit due to fierce online debates not unlike here. That's 4 years more advanced than us. :s13:
Quite a few of their stuff have certification, ie fire extinguishers, weighing apparatus for jewelry/trading etc. Something like our PSB / CASE or something. This is due to the rampant "cheong" goods that do not perform according to spec and just emphasize on low price only.

In fact, Air Purifiers are in HUGE demand in China. Even HK SAR also, it's just that last year and this year our air purifiers sales caught up. Coz their problem is constant bad quality air in the form of smog, much worse than us. Some parts of China near Beijing kena 400-500 for many months in a stretch. Yes, we were actually "lagging" in this aspect.

3A, whether or not this cert and test result is also cheonged or bribed, that I cannot confirm. :s13:

Just take it as it is, pretty ok lah.....it's not a laboratory apparatus that we are buying here.

WussRedXLi

chuanz

Where can I buy the replacement filter ? Thanks

WussRedXLi mentioned that Sharp replacement filters are carried by Best Denki. Not sure if they carry this model though (I personally have not checked with them). Maybe u can call them and ask? Contact Us | BEST Denki Singapore

If don't have, u can call/email Sharp to check stock availability. That's where I got the price info from.

https://sharp.com.sg/web/contents/content.aspx?contid=4

Customer Service Address : 438B Alexandra Road
#06-01/02 & #06-04 Alexandra Technopark
Singapore 119968
Opening Hours : 0900 - 1700 hour ( Mon-Fri )
0900 - 1300 hour ( Sat )
Closed : Sun & Public Holidays
Service Hotline : 6419 5222
6419 5233 ( LCD TV Hotline )
Fax : 6225 7757
Authorized Parts Centre : 6742 0523 (Digital Electronic Services)
Customer Service Email : svc_enquiry@srs.sharp-world.com

clementiboy

URRGHH:slant::slant::slant::frus:

You r so lucky! I should have pushed my luck and asked for a shipping waiver.
Now I have to spend over S$50 to get a 500W step down xformer (no chance to go Sim lim tower over the long weekend):(

Still do let me know if anyone is getting the transformer from Amazon.

chuanz

URRGHH:slant::slant::slant::frus:

You r so lucky! I should have pushed my luck and asked for a shipping waiver.
Now I have to spend over S$50 to get a 500W step down xformer (no chance to go Sim lim tower over the long weekend):(

Still do let me know if anyone is getting the transformer from Amazon.

Which area u stay? maybe can ask ppl tumpang order lor... Simran or Power Bright should be ok, both have CE marking.

p/s: Above statements are not endorsement of the products. When it comes to power transformer, always use at own risk.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.