Air purifier?

clementiboy

Which area u stay? maybe can ask ppl tumpang order lor... Simran or Power Bright should be ok, both have CE marking.

p/s: Above statements are not endorsement of the products. When it comes to power transformer, always use at own risk.

I stay in Clementi hence my name :o

Yes I am looking at the Power bright one
Amazon.com: Power Bright VC500W Voltage Transformer 500 Watt Step Up/Down converter 110/120 Volt - 220/240 Volt: Patio, Lawn & Garden

See if anyone is buying anything from Amazon then tumpang loh..

mosmos

I stay in Clementi hence my name :o

Yes I am looking at the Power bright one
Amazon.com: Power Bright VC500W Voltage Transformer 500 Watt Step Up/Down converter 110/120 Volt - 220/240 Volt: Patio, Lawn & Garden

See if anyone is buying anything from Amazon then tumpang loh..

tik moi see similar one selling at IMM best denki ard sgd50-60 sometime back, brand powerpac~

P47.jpg

WussRedXLi

Chances of New El Niño Cycle in 2014 Impact on Agricultural Commodities

21 April 2014 | Indonesia Investments
Subjects | Brazil, Cacao, Coffee, Commodities, CPO, Crops, El Niño, Global Commodity Prices, Goldman Sachs Group, Harvests, Natural Disasters, Nickel, Nickel Price, Palm Oil, Weather.

Concerns about the arrival of a new El Niño weather phenomenon have increased in recent weeks. A possible new El Niño cycle has a major impact on the global commodities market. El Niño - a weather phenomenon that occurs once every five years on average - involves periodical warm ocean water temperatures off the western coast of South America which can cause climatic changes across the Pacific Ocean. Its impact on harvests and the world varies; sometimes passing almost unnoticeable (such as in 2010) but it can also be felt worldwide.

Australia's Bureau of Meteorology stated at the beginning of April 2014 that chances of the arrival of a new El Niño cycle this year are estimated at more than 70 percent. At the start of last month, the institution projected a 50 percent chance of a new El Niño cycle in 2014.

A major side effect of the El Niño cycle is that less rainfall in Southeast Asia and Australia results in declining production of agricultural commodities in countries such as Indonesia, Vietnam and Thailand (and it can spur forest fires). Affected commodities include crude palm oil (CPO), cocoa and coffee. As a result of the looming El Niño, prices of palm oil and cocoa have increased by 10 percent in the last three months. Meanwhile, the price of coffee surged 60 percent. However, the latter is particularly brought on by severe drought in Central Brasil, the world's most important region for (arabica) coffee production.

There is, however, another remarkable consequence of El Niño cycles. In previous cycles, the price of nickel has been heavily impacted by the weather phenomenon as low rainfall in Indonesia causes a lower level of electricity generation at hydropower plants thus leading to blackouts at energy intensive mining activities. Historically, the price of nickel increased 14 percent due to an El Niño cycle. However, as current inventory levels of nickel are much higher than in previous El Niño cycles, while the current global nickel demand is relatively weak, the impact of a new El Niño cycle on nickel prices is expected to be less severe compared to previous cycles.

Palm oil production in Indonesia in the first quarter of 2014 has already been affected by dryness. The onset of a possible new El Niño later this year can further increase declining CPO production rates. Last week, the Goldman Sachs Group mentioned palm oil among the crops that could be hurt by the new El Niño cycle. Combined, Indonesia and Malaysia account for nearly 90 percent of global palm oil output.

WussRedXLi

NBC News - Breaking News & Top Stories - Latest World, US & Local News

Monster El Nino May Be Brewing, Experts Say

"Averaged across the equatorial Pacific, there is a far larger than normal amount of heat, which is a necessary precondition for an El Niño. At the moment, the amount of heat is comparable to that prior to the extreme El Niño of 1997-98."

If a monster is brewing, the models will know by the end of May, early June, he added. At that point, large scale patterns in the ocean and atmosphere "lock together and start to build a significant El Niño or La Nina event … as you start to move into that season and you get something going, it is much more likely that it will keep going into the future."

The 97 El Nino was when we got hit with the PSI of 226, the last record.

Zabiyaki

Applicable Floor Area / ft2(m2)
250 (23)

Dimension (HxWxD) / mm
595 x 336 x 235

Six-Layer Filtration System
Washable Pre-Filter / HEPA Filter / Photocatalyst Filter /
Carbon Filter / UV Light / Ionizer
1 / 2 / 4 / 6 / 8 Timer

looks overpriced le

lala81

my other 17000 just kana shorted.
The power cable of the Super 300watt transformer was caught on something while the unit was operating. Think the honeywell's plug came slightly loose from the transformer and heard a "****" sound.
Sian man.

Give up on all these 110watt appliances.

WussRedXLi

my other 17000 just kana shorted.
The power cable of the Super 300watt transformer was caught on something while the unit was operating. Think the honeywell's plug came slightly loose from the transformer and heard a "****" sound.
Sian man.

Give up on all these 110watt appliances.

Interesting... Maybe there was a surge or something and done in by the transformer. Won't get that with 240V, I have heavily abused so many motor stuff before from transformers to fans....I mean I am sure many people have arc-ed 240V stuff before esp with motors (start up is a pretty stressful event)

Thanks for the warning.

WussRedXLi

Still no news on Sharp Purifiers?

Nope, no news yet.

In the meantime, enjoy this documentary with tests done on Ah tiong air purifiers and you can see stuff like Sharp/Philips AC4074 inside being tested also. Skip to 3.50 if you are impatient. :) Ah tiong follows ISO standards, good stuff.

I think the Delonghi AC230 failed in a certain category!! :crazy:
Believe it's Formaldehyde. (Jia3 quan2?)

WussRedXLi

The Sharp air purifier being tested in the above vid.

SHARP/夏普 KJF420AA 空气净化器
ã€*SHARP/å¤*æ™® KJF420AA 空气净化器】报价_å*‚æ•°_评测_图片_怎么æ*·_SHARP/å¤*æ™® KJF420AA 空气净化器怎么æ*·-百度知é*“|买什么

P2130002.JPG

Believe it's the A80.

434 m^3/hr CADR. Do not confuse with the Honeywells as they use CFM. (metric and imperial thingy I guess)

WussRedXLi

Bought at novita e store,
For me, it's good. My son used to wake up every morning sneezing. Used it for 3 days so far he has not been sneezing in the morning.

Confirm can alleviate quite a few allergic rhinitis cases. The same thing goes for my colleague, my dad and myself. Can attest personally as I suffered the same symptoms last time probably due to a dirty Aircon FCU. Servicing the fan coil unit helps but only temporarily for a few weeks as I am quite sensitive.

Some people say that aircon is bad for them as cannot tahan Aircon due to cold temperatures, that is partially true only. I can go to cold countries (countless times) even -ve deg C and not have uncontrollable sneezing.

kikham

Confirm can alleviate quite a few allergic rhinitis cases. The same thing goes for my colleague, my dad and myself. Can attest personally as I suffered the same symptoms last time probably due to a dirty Aircon FCU. Servicing the fan coil unit helps but only temporarily for a few weeks as I am quite sensitive.

Some people say that aircon is bad for them as cannot tahan Aircon due to cold temperatures, that is partially true only. I can go to cold countries (countless times) even -ve deg C and not have uncontrollable sneezing.

Thanks for the info,think i will go ahead and get the novita.

But can i just check,if i put the purifier in the living room with the windows open,does it mean there wont be any effect?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.