Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Wah just now 10am and 11am South side got spike to AQI 151 and 152. 56 amd 58 ug/m3.

Whole region rained until buay lin chu also so difficult to clear the remaining PM in the air.

tmkedmw

heavy rain coming in from the north in a north westerly direction.
Hope it hits the south region gao gao.

WussRedXLi

Power lah.... rained here @ South. But now getting slightly hazy again.

Hit 60 ug/m3 PSI 105 just now.

I actually rained twice today @ South, hence the sawtooth graphs.

158212072.aU2XNUg9.12nov.jpg

WussRedXLi

so is officially gone till next yr?

need to keep the standby air purifier =:p

Technically the hospots are subdued.....S sumatra kena 4 bouts of heavy rain liao. Need like at least 3 more and can consider the peat fires put out. Heavy rain is forecasted for the next few days there.

Still got some small short spikes from time to time, but extremely unlikely to cause any problems to healthy pax. Infants/toddlers/pregant, the elderly and those having lung/heart issues have to be mindful a bit.
(especially having heart and related issues like stroke and cardiovascular diseases)

WussRedXLi

Pretty clean air in Singapore (due to showers).

But some 20-100km away (horizon), the air is still full of PM.

High res picture (click to enlarge)

158222833.30RpJWoz.ESC_2119.JPG

WussRedXLi

Totally not advisable. It will put up a lot of resistance to the fan coil unit even at high fan speed. Unless you do not switch on the air-con compressor.

Use this instead. And even then, do get a bottle of air-con foam cleaner and clean up your FCU first. When using this, make sure you switch on the fan speed to the highest.

You can also stick some to your fans to provide more filtration.

They do work, but just a wee bit only. So it won't be useful for say over 70ug/m3 or PSI 115 scenarios. In 2014 1-hr PSIs, we hit over that many times and for many hours.

Over the long run, it will cost a lot. More advisable to get an air purifier.

3M

T2SlwiXclaXXXXXXXX_!!865693267.jpg

T2dA.iXjJXXXXXXXXX_!!865693267.jpg

WussRedXLi

Samsung AX40 used since beginning April (7 months ago)

Sep 1 to Nov 6th 2014 haze season really clogged it up nicely.
Starting to smell also.

Going to change out the Sharp tomorrow.

Before changing
158254388.FqVfjEFD.20141116_131700.jpg

After changing
158254389.ZPC1llAZ.20141116_224028.jpg

WussRedXLi

Now you guys can have a somewhat quantitative feel of how much junk the Samsung managed to filter out during these 2 months Sep to early Nov.

Don't think April to Aug had much haze.

Going to cut up the Samsung HEPA soon and take pictures of the PM.

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

You would have to purchase 3 boxes of the H filter, so you get 6pcs. Effectively that is good for 2 filter changes (1 filter change uses 3pcs). Each box has 2 pcs.

Out of the 3pcs needed, 1 pc needs to have the hard plastic trimmed. It's a 10-15 min job with a plier cutter. No too difficult.

The other 2pcs fits PERFECTLY. After cutting out the hard plastic, the 3rd piece fits perfectly also, interestingly. No gaps at all. But as always, always use some foam or tissue paper to stuff up all gaps, just to be sure, to prevent bypass (like your N95 mask usage).

158266048.7aRHvWjC.20141117_212503.jpg

158266049.AzZYHWSy.20141117_212529.jpg

158266050.GoQLcfid.20141117_212616.jpg

158266051.UyLTRkl6.20141117_213909.jpg

WussRedXLi

Previoiusly, I mentioned that I took out the humidifying filter element, coz it is growing a heck lot of mould.

I figured that i'd put some of those taobao bought activated charcoal bags into it. Managed to put 3 bags without affecting airflow speed, as measured by my Mastech anemometer. I tried to stuffed 6 bags in but the airflow dropped a wee bit, as you can see if you put a lot of bags then they'd block the intake of the fan blades in there.

158266052.5CQVPPMn.20141117_214125.jpg

WussRedXLi

I did not get measurements (forgot!!), but after changing the filter, the airflow improved tremendously. Again, the filter got quite a fair bit clogged due to the 2 months haze + some months of usage before that.

WussRedXLi

The Honeywell H model filter is AmazonGlobal Saver eligible, ie free shipping if you hit usd125.

So maybe can get 3 pcs (for 2 filter changes). That's 50.97usd for 2 filter changes or SGD33 for 1 filter change. Compared to SGD99 for the Sharp True HEPA H13 filter, that's cool.

Of course, you need to buy other stuff as well to hit usd125. MAybe get 6 boxes (4 filter changes) ba. Already usd102 liao, add a bit more can get usd125 free ship.

plasticpistola

3 of these will fit the Sharp KC-840E as well as Sharp A40. Sharp A40 and Sharp KC-840 both use the same dimensions filter. I know coz I have the 840 and I bought 2 of the A40 filter from Best Denki Taka already.

This Honeywell filter is good. The Sharp HEPA H13 filter is 1.25" deep. This is 1.4" deep (physically with the plastic edge it's 1.5".

Amazon.com - Honeywell True HEPA Air Purifier Replacement Filter 2 Pack, HRF-H2 / Filter (H) - Honeywell Hepa Type Replacement Filter

Think I'll hoot this during BF. thanks WRX bro!

And you know what? I just found out that my sis forgot to put the pre-filter into the Honeywell AP ever since she set it up for my parents *facepalm*

So they've been using the filter for a mth without the pre-filter :vijayadmin:

Will it damage the AP ah?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.