Air purifier?

dtdw1988

Seems like not possible to open up without spoiling it leh
Best i could do :o

Yeah. I'm also not really fond of tinkering with products that doesn't have screws. Seems like need some special openers like those for phones.

I read somewhere lots of gadgets like to use VOC to calculate CO and CO2, which is wrong method. Although it closely resembles the reading, VOC and CO, as well as CO and CO2 is different.

I don't know how humans can emit VOC, but foobot can detect when there is lots of humans in a place as high CO2 by using VOC calculation. Strange.

nwh_sg

Yeah. I'm also not really fond of tinkering with products that doesn't have screws. Seems like need some special openers like those for phones.

I read somewhere lots of gadgets like to use VOC to calculate CO and CO2, which is wrong method. Although it closely resembles the reading, VOC and CO, as well as CO and CO2 is different.

I don't know how humans can emit VOC, but foobot can detect when there is lots of humans in a place as high CO2 by using VOC calculation. Strange.

The other way is to get another CO2 sensor (dedicated type) and compare the readings. If quite close then the Air Cube is enough for our purpose (estimation of the CO2 density), don't need to be very accurate. But Provided we can get one to do that.

Jasonrulez

Still struggling ax40 or xiaomi ap
Saw 1 in qoo with stock ready but cost higher 355sgd without any local warranty. Hmm

imacbie

Saw 1 in qoo with stock ready but cost higher 355sgd without any local warranty. Hmm
If dun mind second hand ones, probably hold a few days.
Haze likely to be ending for this year. So there might be pple disposing theirs.

kandinsky

Hmm, found something about that:

VOCs are also emitted from humans and animals in their breath, sweat and directly from their skin. In fact, the majority of VOCs in an indoor space are generated by humans.

http://openrb.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Understanding-Air-quality.pdf

----------

On a side note, saw that awicn did a breakdown of a Haier airbox. Cos of the similar features, wonder if the aircube could have similar insides.
http://aqicn.org/experiments/haier-air-box/

aegis123

whirlpool AP628W

Hi guys

question on the above air purifier

i bought it off someone and when i took the thing apart, i realised that the original owner had not removed the plastic bags covering the air filters prior to using the machine. will this have any impact on operation of the machine?

Additionally, the whirlpool unit has a ioniser / UV function. If i turn it off, it is guaranteed that it will be turned off completely? or is there a chance that some negative ions / ozone may be released as by-product?

Thanks

swastikas

Good weather to wash my ax40 dirt filled pre filter today (one month old everyday on >12hrs,sometimes 20hr).

Tcm smell is back.. maybe it's never gone because of the layer of dirt on the pre filter somehow masked it

kandinsky

Hi guys

i bought it off someone and when i took the thing apart, i realised that the original owner had not removed the plastic bags covering the air filters prior to using the machine. will this have any impact on operation of the machine?

It might stress the fan out a bit due to additional resistance, but it might still fall within the operating tolerances anyway. Unless there are obvious signs of damage (burning smell or what) I would see this as a plus though, you got a brand new filter. :s13:

Additionally, the whirlpool unit has a ioniser / UV function. If i turn it off, it is guaranteed that it will be turned off completely? or is there a chance that some negative ions / ozone may be released as by-product?

Thanks

It should be turned off completely... no reason to think otherwise unless there's some malfunction.

laeticia

Good weather to wash my ax40 dirt filled pre filter today (one month old everyday on >12hrs,sometimes 20hr).

Tcm smell is back.. maybe it's never gone because of the layer of dirt on the pre filter somehow masked it

I forgot to wash the pre-filter today! Yesterday opened up to check, can see that there is a thin layer of dirt.

I think its this haze that causes TCM smell. I swopped out for a new AX40 filter after a month and the new filter also got TCM smell in less than a week.

clay9477

Aiya you never say earlier. 65daigou got free agent shipping until today 28 October. So you only pay 899rmb for machine and charges for shipping only.

clay9477

Aiya you never say earlier. 65daigou got free agent shipping until today 28 October. So you only pay 899rmb for machine and charges for shipping only.

Realise is very cheap. The whole ap plus box at most weigh 10kg. Ap cost only $200 and shipping $40 with no agent fee. Can hoot.

Jasonrulez

If dun mind second hand ones, probably hold a few days.
Haze likely to be ending for this . So there might be pple disposing theirs.

True also.. today weather quite good. Haha

Aiyo. Over liao
But my salary only paid next few days T.T

dante-z

Hi guys

Thanks

you got a good seller, he gave you a brand new filter ! upz him

Astro

Get ax40. Trust a brand u more likely to trust :D

dtdw1988

Do you guys use shopback before and got 10% cashback? I wonder what's the difference between ai.taobao.com vs world.taobao.com .. most AP and sensors not appear in ai.taobao but i saw alot of filters there.

orangeman

Bro WRX , just checking if the filter for LG is used daily in a shop , can the filter EOL be around 3 months ? Seems like the filter is quite dirty the b4 measure 17 at the outlet

kandinsky

Do you guys use shopback before and got 10% cashback? I wonder what's the difference between ai.taobao.com vs world.taobao.com .. most AP and sensors not appear in ai.taobao but i saw alot of filters there.

Didn't get anything close to 10%. I tried on my recent purchases, seeing between 1-5%...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.