Aircon gas leakage

kickim

call tech to check, if top up gas already still continue to leak, very hard to find source of leak, may cost few hundred bucks just to isolate and test, and take a few days...

usually tech will advise change new AC if AC old.

jsbaba1234

Top up gas lor. The intervals of topping up gas will slowly get shorter and shorter then u probably have to decide whether to change everything once and for all.
Top up gas. Didn’t even last 3 weeks. So pressure test it is i guess. 😅

jsbaba1234

call tech to check, if top up gas already still continue to leak, very hard to find source of leak, may cost few hundred bucks just to isolate and test, and take a few days...

usually tech will advise change new AC if AC old.
6 years using. Still like brand new. 😢 got quote pressure test ranging from $490 to $700. Want to change but might be moving out in 2 years time. House just MOP.

virtualape

Using system 4. All FCU not cold at all. Compressor still spinning.

On 1 first. Run for 5mins. If cold, off it on second unit, if cold, off and do the same for 3 and 4.

If running each individually cold, means ac gas not enough. Gas can leak thru the copper pipe especially if they strip down to clean even though the compressor valve is closed. Some Alibaba technician don't bother to check gas after putting back the cleaned unit.

From para 1, if any of the units ain't cold, possible the thermistor is faulty. This is assuming your compressor is working properly. If all 4 not cold after testing individually, hope it's not the compressor

jsbaba1234

On 1 first. Run for 5mins. If cold, off it on second unit, if cold, off and do the same for 3 and 4.

If running each individually cold, means ac gas not enough. Gas can leak thru the copper pipe especially if they strip down to clean even though the compressor valve is closed. Some Alibaba technician don't bother to check gas after putting back the cleaned unit.

From para 1, if any of the units ain't cold, possible the thermistor is faulty. This is assuming your compressor is working properly. If all 4 not cold after testing individually, hope it's not the compressor
I did as per your advice. Not 1 of it is cold after 5 mins. 😂 if it’s compressor, easier to replace. But if piping, hosai liao.

virtualape

I did as per your advice. Not 1 of it is cold after 5 mins. 😂 if it’s compressor, easier to replace. But if piping, hosai liao.
Jialat.... hopefully is compressor. Maybe the compressor tank leaking. Yeah. Piping... troublesome to troubleshoot...

Mecisteus

6th year using it. Maybe wear and tear. MHI really CMI.
MHI is a good brand. They have been around for decades.

Leak won't happen easily if the pipes were installed properly.

My 1st aircon was a MHI and I am using the same pipes for 14 years now.

Are you sure its lack of gas ? Or the FCU is dirty ?

When was the last time you top up gas ?

jsbaba1234

16/01/24 just serviced my aircon before CNY. Realised aircon start to not be cold, blowing chilled air on 24/02/24. Ask technician top up gas on 7/03/24. On 26/03/24 not cold anymore. Seems like the last service spoiled the aircon. 🤷‍♂️

jsbaba1234

i thought MHI is a good brand too. It’s quite popularly used in Aus. But over here, everyone promote ME starmex. Some companies don’t want to service MHI.

Mecisteus

16/01/24 just serviced my aircon before CNY. Realised aircon start to not be cold, blowing chilled air on 24/02/24. Ask technician top up gas on 7/03/24. On 26/03/24 not cold anymore. Seems like the last service spoiled the aircon. 🤷‍♂️
What did the service men do ?

They may have damaged something.

Use a meter to check gas pressure and temperature.

Not cold is quite subjective to different people.

virtualape

What did the service men do ?

They may have damaged something.

Use a meter to check gas pressure and temperature.

Not cold is quite subjective to different people.

I heard from the technician that strip down and chem wash my fancoil, there will always be gas leakage that is leftover in the pipe even after the compressor side valve is closed. If the piping is long, imagine the amount of gas that has escaped.

But since he already had gas topped up and was cold and then not cold, high probability is leak.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.