Aircon leaking water possible to DIY?

Medicated Oil

Some problems can DIY.
Some cannot.
TS should know what is your strength.
Ask your friends for any reliable Aircon handyman.
Give them a call and ask for a quotation.
Dun waste your time busting your mind over what to do.
That is what I did for the past few weeks over numerous repairs in my house.
Some of them have to leave it to the handyman cos I dun want to cause further damage by using the wrong method or approach.
Just sharing with you my recent experience.

banbleh

I use mitsubishi starmex.
Vacuum the pipes, open the blower, clean/suck up jelly from front drip tray, brush and clean the cooling fins. There's a part where the back drip flows to the front drip tray, when it's clogged with jelly, the drip flows onto the blower cover instead of the drip tray. This tricky part is at the left end of the rotating tube fan blade. If it's beyond fixing, just attach a hose and drip to a bucket.

coern

honestly depends on usage also.

if your aircon can last 14 yrs then get clogged, the usage isn't high. probably do simple cleaning once a yr and chemical wash every 3 to 4 yrs is good enough.

Simple ac cleaning DIY for ur ac unit filter and also brush dust off fan coil can diy.

Those heavy cleaning like vacuum drainage pipe, dismantle entire ac unit to take out entire fan coil, cooling coil chemical wash etc better leave it to the sexperts.

Pricing wise. Chemical wash around 130 to 160 per unit. Simple maintenance per unit around 30.

Top up gas if not cold around 50 to 70 ba.

Suggest chemical wash minimum once a year if ac unit is use daily.

Simple maintenance u can diy. Like u buy those small paint brush and brush the dust off the fan coil then wipe clean the fan coil.

Sent from Harmony Os using GAGT

sinkie886

hearsay aircon the fanspeed better on minimum 3 bar... if not will easier form jelly.... duno true or not.

Mecisteus

Not true. The fan speed is also ways minimum 3. Leak water every night now. I care even on aircon for long

If choke and got jelly, then must clear the jelly.

Any speed also no use.

If clean already, then recommended to put to high speed to prevent jelly.

paperplane1943

Leaking ac just get someone to do thorough ac cleaning la. 货比三家。maybe u can get 3 quotes to compare if u scared chop carrot head

Sent from Harmony Os using GAGT

junjie433

Usually is the jelly thing cause the blockage. I learn from youtube on how to diy cleaning it.

Kiwi8

Aircon will start to leak water after 30 mins to 1 hr, unit already 14 years old. Possible to self fix? Will it resolve by itself in future? Thanks!

Can first try to use a wet/dry vacuum to vacuum the outlet pipe of your air con, see if it solves the leaking problem. It solves it in 90% of the cases.

pohw0008

Slow speed definitely will trap more dust.. cause less airflow.. more dust settling around..

hearsay aircon the fanspeed better on minimum 3 bar... if not will easier form jelly.... duno true or not.

pohw0008

Yeah.. my living room aircon usually they come open see liao didn't even bother to use the vacuum to clean.. like waste money.. :(

honestly depends on usage also.

if your aircon can last 14 yrs then get clogged, the usage isn't high. probably do simple cleaning once a yr and chemical wash every 3 to 4 yrs is good enough.

zachary123

Use a pump, like shampoo bottle pump to get as much water out of tray as possible.

Then use boiling water, rush it down the aircon tray. Hopefully this creates enough force and heat to melt abit of the jelly and dislodge the stuck part.

If cannot, try mr mckenic aircon cleaner

virtualape

70% probability is choked waste water pipe. 20% is blockage at the drain pan. 10% is the drain pan behind the coil (cannot see one).

troubleshoot in this sequence:

1) suck out water from the grey drain pipe. best is if have a wet/dry vacuum cleaner. if dont have, use lung power but careful not to swallow anything. there should be some jelly like thing coming out.

after you think its clean enough, run the a/c. if leak again, go to step 2

2) remove the external cover, find the hole where water goes out on the drain pan (either left or right side). use a cotton bud to swirl around the hole. see if there are any jelly. remove as much as you can with the cotton bud. if you know how to remove the drain pan, even better. if not, use a cotton bud.

then pour warm water slowly into the drain pan hopefully can soften some of those jelly to flow down into the pipe. you can repeat step 1.

after you think its clean enough, run the a/c. hopefully no more leaking after this.

if leak again, go to step 3

3) call the aircon tech. cos need to strip the metal coils to access behind drain pan.

check that a/c thread. alot of diy tips there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.