Alaska Cruise Recommendations

dilphinus

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Am planning for an Alaska cruise next year or the year after.

I am just beginning to re-start my research.

I'll be going with my mum. She's in her late 60s.

I'm good with starting the cruise either from Seattle or Vancouver.

Please recommend the cruises you have taken before or you would think is suitable for us.

Thank you!

patryn33

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
is cost a concern?
I was looking at it for a 60s parents. didn't make it happen due to covid and the passing of one. there are pros and cons, I am looking at 1 way and spend time in the park. for convenience more like round trip.

dilphinus

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
is cost a concern?
I was looking at it for a 60s parents. didn't make it happen due to covid and the passing of one. there are pros and cons, I am looking at 1 way and spend time in the park. for convenience more like round trip.

Cost is not really a concern. Have not looked at costs and budget yet. Am thinking of around S$10k for each person, excluding flights from SG to North America (return).

We can fly in/out from Anchorage too.

Am also thinking of a cruise from North America back to Asia.

Last edited:

belgarathc

Reaction score
Instead of a cruise, we went with Alaskan State Ferry for part of the Alaskan trip after our research as we thought a cruise may be a bit boring and will take too many days. But maybe it is suitable for an elderly. We only did the usual popular spots - no midnight sun, no northern lights. We took the 3 day (i think) ferry from Bellingham (came down from Vancouver) to Juneau with a stop at Ketchikan. Spent a few nights at Juneau before flying to Anchorage. There we rented a car and drove up to Denali, Fairbanks and around before flying to Seattle. If we had more time, we will likely take the state ferry and explore a few more places, maybe even a flight to Barrow.

hfngshnll

Reaction score