[Official] WP Alexis Dang's Fan Club

eeLoyH

I know of 3 teachers personally... and they love teaching but candidly told me teaching only takes up 20% of their time...

Guess where they spend their time?

Have you spoken to teachers or known more about teacher workload?
Boss read my subsequent messages lah. My immediate families have teachers.

Teaching as a career is not only just standing infront of students la. Like with all other jobs

but bifurcation of it would sometimes make no sense also.
- Like you mark what you teach
- you plan what you teach
- you hold ccas as part of your job
- you feedback to student parents

all these are part of teaching too. It’s the extra add ons that are busy

tokong

Rubbish proposal.

Teachers teach more than a class of students. They are the most familiar with each student, so administrative tasks should be handled by teachers since they know the students' personality, performance, and family background. Better help can be provided to students in this way.

I hope our beautiful 亚历克斯姐姐 also try to learn more about education job first before voicing out in those boring podcast.

Legionchaos

Another one of those got problem outsource whats the differences with the real problem we have in the society? Locals expensive ahh no problem out source lor biggest pool ready is from north.

TanKianW

From the common feedback I received from my friends in the teaching profession, teachers do have a lot of admin work, when they should spend more time on teaching and nurturing their students.

So I will support less admin work for teachers, whether if outsourcing could be the solution. But I think we should first streamline the reporting and administration process, adopt digitalisation with automation/AI where possible, and then outsource where practicable.

A special work group/taskforce within the ministry and govt-tech should do an extensive study on this....or maybe it has already started?​

Taloona

And that’s why people like that shouldn’t get elected.

you split out admin you create more admin between teachers and the admin person

doesn’t reduce work or even worse increase cost then school fees increase
Spouse of a teacher here. I think teachers should not do CCA duties. I don't understand when schools employ instructors for CCAs such as hockey, the teachers still have to be there. The reason for their presence is to mark attendance and be an extra pair of hands in case students injure themselves. My spouse has had many weekends burnt when there are tournaments. If students injure themselves, he has to send them to A and E and stay with them until the parents arrive. The next day, he has to submit a report. All these while, his marking is piling up (humanities subjet at JC level, the marking is no joke. Don't tell me AI, AI cannot mark for conceptual understanding and other nuances of the language).

Well, which minister was it who said teachers' job is also to mould the students' character and CCAs are one of the means to achieve this. Which other job includes the responsibility to mould your client's (for want of a better word) character?

Taloona

sagu reminds @eeLoyH to consider the long school holidays break that many office workers don’t enjoy and so it’s a balance after all 😇

#saguwisdom :vijayadmin:
Don't make me laugh. Do you know teachers have to go back for meetings, camps, workshops and what-nots during the school break? And if it is the March, June and Sept break, there are assignments to mark, to be returned to the students after the break. My spouse is a teacher. For the last 30 years, he has had to bring his students' work to mark on our trips. As he teaches JC level, he may also receive whatsapp messages from his students asking him to write their uni admission letter and some of them even had the cheek to inform him that the deadline is 2 or 3 days time! Hello! Your teacher is not your butler, ok?

NintendoSwitch

Nowadays teacher after school still has to reply to student and parents in group chat until late in the night. Next morning wake up early reach school by 7am.

No work life balance. Last time after school at most bring back student homework to mark only.
AI cumming. Soon will be AI with human nannies in the classroom to help kids change diapers nia.

eq2addict

MOE has to merge schools every year even after changed to single session citing not enough students. But class size still about 40 students.
By right there should be excess of teachers. If MOE do not merge schools then can shrink the class size.
is the lack of teachers. my time , only 25-30 student per class and single session and already got a lot of FT teachers already at that time.

1. some ang moh teacher from UK for english ( she is very technical, ie talk about nouns,pronouns ,verbs , tenses, i basically dunno wtf going on esp since she has a accent)
  2. a very old old lady teacher for chinese ( this one is very good, makes us think n understand why & how the verbs / wording used )
  3. english literature teacher is some hippy sinkie .
  4. There are supplmentary chinese class with PRC teacher who only teach us to copy pasta big chucks of paragraph to answer the exam questions. tell us to use simple words so cannot be deduct marks etc etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.