All in One Rig Suggestions?

NoraaC

My current gaming laptop is spoiled and I have decided to switch to a legit gaming machine (my first rig too!).

This rig will be used for gaming ranging from Dota 2 all the way to the latest titles Watch Dog etc. It will also be used for some programming and photoshopping.

I sort of already have my preferences but not exactly sure what to get, as this is my first DIY Rig. Oh yeah, I also want to try venturing into overclocking when I have the time.

Asus Maximus VI Formula + i7 4790K (or should I go for other ROG mobos? / other i7 CPUs?)

Asus GTX780POSEIDON PLATINUM 3GB
OR (not sure which is better)
Asus GTX780Ti DCII OC 3GB

Yes, I am a Asus fanboy.

Corsair AX760i Full Modular, 80 PLUS Plati 760w
OR (not sure which is sufficient)
Corsair AX860i Full Modular, 80 PLUS Plati 860w

Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz 16 GB

SDD will be savaged from the laptop.

CPU cooling will be Corsair H110 or other water coolers?

Does those cooling fans really matter that much?

Casing-Still deciding

Any other suggestions or recommendations are welcomed too! If I missed out anything please do tell me thanks!

Just want to make sure this rig is well future proof and maintenance free for the next few years.
:s12::s12::D:D

Smartypants

My current gaming laptop is spoiled and I have decided to switch to a legit gaming machine (my first rig too!).

This rig will be used for gaming ranging from Dota 2 all the way to the latest titles Watch Dog etc. It will also be used for some programming and photoshopping.

I sort of already have my preferences but not exactly sure what to get, as this is my first DIY Rig. Oh yeah, I also want to try venturing into overclocking when I have the time.

Asus Maximus VI Formula + i7 4790K (or should I go for other ROG mobos? / other i7 CPUs?)

Asus GTX780POSEIDON PLATINUM 3GB
OR (not sure which is better)
Asus GTX780Ti DCII OC 3GB

Yes, I am a Asus fanboy.

Corsair AX760i Full Modular, 80 PLUS Plati 760w
OR (not sure which is sufficient)
Corsair AX860i Full Modular, 80 PLUS Plati 860w

Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400MHz 16 GB

SDD will be savaged from the laptop.

CPU cooling will be Corsair H110 or other water coolers?

Does those cooling fans really matter that much?

Casing-Still deciding

Any other suggestions or recommendations are welcomed too! If I missed out anything please do tell me thanks!

Just want to make sure this rig is well future proof and maintenance free for the next few years.
:s12::s12::D:D

Why no Asus power supply, Asus heat sink, and Asus casing . . .

NoraaC

Was on their G74, impressed me a lot and confident with their products mah...

Actually thought of just getting one of their pre-builts but out of budget mah and want to experience building own rig... sorry lah I fanboy Asus too much liao... hahaha

NoraaC

Under 2.8K (of course lower the better).
I know number bigger does not mean better , but, again, was from using a laptop and first time building. So, I dunno when does a number matter most or not lah.. and thats why seeking the forums help into cutting cost and maximizing my price to performance ratio for this rig mah... while maintaining my main preferences

Thanks guys!

zenniz

If you are looking to cut cost and maximizing price to performance ratio, ASUS is a bad choice cause they are slightly overprice than most of the brand with same specs and many DIYer will avoid ASUS due to its pricing.

royfrosty

Under 2.8K (of course lower the better).
I know number bigger does not mean better , but, again, was from using a laptop and first time building. So, I dunno when does a number matter most or not lah.. and thats why seeking the forums help into cutting cost and maximizing my price to performance ratio for this rig mah... while maintaining my main preferences

Thanks guys!

If you are a true fanboy you will know how much is your total rig should roughly cost. Second it does not come at the price of 2.8k for all your items listed from you. Thirdly do you know or did you do your research on this few stuffs:

How many physical cores are needed for gaming?
Is an expensive mobo gonna yield any form of gaming performance?
Do you know what is the difference in a 1600mhz ram vs a 2400mhz ram in terms of gaming performance?
Do you know what kind of gpu actually is needed if you are just running a 1080p display at just 60hz refreshing rate?
Do you know what kind of psu is actually needed for a single gpu setup?

Lastly. Paying more does not mean future proof or good. It does not work this way and it does not mean it will give you huge performance boost.

Upgrading it yearly will help you future proof your pc.

NoraaC

If you are a true fanboy you will know how much is your total rig should roughly cost. Second it does not come at the price of 2.8k for all your items listed from you. Thirdly do you know or did you do your research on this few stuffs:

How many physical cores are needed for gaming?
Is an expensive mobo gonna yield any form of gaming performance?
Do you know what is the difference in a 1600mhz ram vs a 2400mhz ram in terms of gaming performance?
Do you know what kind of gpu actually is needed if you are just running a 1080p display at just 60hz refreshing rate?
Do you know what kind of psu is actually needed for a single gpu setup?

Lastly. Paying more does not mean future proof or good. It does not work this way and it does not mean it will give you huge performance boost.

Upgrading it yearly will help you future proof your pc.

Yeah thsee are all the doubts I'm having. My laptop is spoily since Monday and I need to do work urgently on it (besides gaming) so yeah didn't have much time to research and only gotten bits and pieces from online.

That's why I'm here looking for the community for help mah..

Really my first rig and damn clueless about it. Just liked Asus products cause the ones I have worked pretty damn well.

So yeah, any suggestions about the parts I should get based on my original intentions will be greatly appreciated.

And yes, when 4K monitors are more affordable I'm jumping in. So I guess that's why I went with 780

shadow84

Yeah thsee are all the doubts I'm having. My laptop is spoily since Monday and I need to do work urgently on it (besides gaming) so yeah didn't have much time to research and only gotten bits and pieces from online.

That's why I'm here looking for the community for help mah..

Really my first rig and damn clueless about it. Just liked Asus products cause the ones I have worked pretty damn well.

So yeah, any suggestions about the parts I should get based on my original intentions will be greatly appreciated.

And yes, when 4K monitors are more affordable I'm jumping in. So I guess that's why I went with 780

When 4K becomes affordable, gpu by then also wun be good enough to support. Still need xfire/SLI to push it. If it can tame the 1440p with 1 gpu with ease, i would then sae the gpu is ready for 4K.

Also, by getting majority of ASUS, u will be paying a premium for the same features i can get with asrock or msi. Premium ranges from $50+ to 200 for mobo and maybe $100 for gpu as compared to other brands.

It is good that ASUS can milk u anyway.. More profits for them.

For ur basic asus rig:

i7-4790k + Asus maximus VII ranger
corsair H100i
16gb corsair dominator
ASUS 780Ti DCII 3GB..
samsung 250gb evo
western digital blue 1-2tb
corsair ax860i
wins 7 home edition
Corsair 750d

You can look up the prices from PC theme, will give a rough gauge of how much u will be spending.

NoraaC

When 4K becomes affordable, gpu by then also wun be good enough to support. Still need xfire/SLI to push it. If it can tame the 1440p with 1 gpu with ease, i would then sae the gpu is ready for 4K.

Also, by getting majority of ASUS, u will be paying a premium for the same features i can get with asrock or msi. Premium ranges from $50+ to 200 for mobo and maybe $100 for gpu as compared to other brands.

It is good that ASUS can milk u anyway.. More profits for them.

Ah thanks for the enlightenment for 4K.
I guess I'm afraid to venture into unfamiliar brands mah...

So what's a good set up with my prefered choice oh yeah, maybe I don't need such extreme mobo I don't need such extreme cpu such high frequency of ram and high wattage supply.. so I'm really clueless right now .. yeah.. Thanks guys

Edit: just read what u updated, thanks

shadow84

If u r open to other brands, you have plenty of choices. If u r stucked to ASUS only, then prepared to get chopped.

Then again, u look rich, so ASUS wouldnt mind.

NoraaC

If u r open to other brands, you have plenty of choices. If u r stucked to ASUS only, then prepared to get chopped.

Then again, u look rich, so ASUS wouldnt mind.

Was mentally prepared from the start to invest in a good rig , but after hearing what u all have said, seems like future proofing is constant upgrade then I guess there's not a need for top of the line parts.

Well, I'm always open to suggestions, what do u recommend if I decided to forego Asus but want similar performance ?

shadow84

Was mentally prepared from the start to invest in a good rig , but after hearing what u all have said, seems like future proofing is constant upgrade then I guess there's not a need for top of the line parts.

Well, I'm always open to suggestions, what do u recommend if I decided to forego Asus but want similar performance ?

U can get the TOTL gpu for now, but in few months time wen Nvidia release Maxwell, your gpu can be considered 'obsolete' in a sense, not literally though.

can conside msi mobo, avexir rams, corsair case, thermaltake aio cooler...

NoraaC

U can get the TOTL gpu for now, but in few months time wen Nvidia release Maxwell, your gpu can be considered 'obsolete' in a sense, not literally though.

can conside msi mobo, avexir rams, corsair case, thermaltake aio cooler...

Erm.. then a 760 / 770 will do just fine ?

I'm a bit noob ah, really new to these. Z87, LGA etc all these means what ah? Till today I still don't quite know actually. .
Was looking at the price list until blur liao...

And so is it worth still going for the i7 ?
Paiseh for the crash course on diy comp building

Any specific mobo etc to recommend ? I just want a decent pc which I can tweak around every now and then

shadow84

I suggest before u wanna go tweaking around, go read up on basics first... No point throwing to you a decent list and u dunnoe wad does each part means...

NoraaC

I suggest before u wanna go tweaking around, go read up on basics first... No point throwing to you a decent list and u dunnoe wad does each part means...

Erm.. well.. I need a pc asap and I'm heading down to sls to get one this weekend so I guess I need the list soon and slowly tweak around when I know more..

Thanks man, really appreciate your effort

shadow84

i5-4670K + MSI Z97 gaming 5 / ASrock Z87 Extreme 4

2x 8gb avexir core LED rams 1600mhz or Corsair Vengeance non-pro

samsung evo 250gb (amazon) or crucial mx100 256gb (local)

WD blue 1tb

Fractal design arc midi r2

wins 7

Seasonic X850w( if u gonna sli/xfire) or superflower HX600w

MSI r9 290 gaming (get directly from corbell amk)

NoraaC

i5-4670K + MSI Z97 gaming 5 / ASrock Z87 Extreme 4

2x 8gb avexir core LED rams 1600mhz or Corsair Vengeance non-pro

samsung evo 250gb (amazon) or crucial mx100 256gb (local)

WD blue 1tb

Fractal design arc midi r2

wins 7

Seasonic X850w( if u gonna sli/xfire) or superflower HX600w

MSI r9 290 gaming (get directly from corbell amk)

Thanks man!

shadow84

I missed out on corsair h100i or thermaltake 3.0 extreme. Its for ur CPU if u gonna OC.

royfrosty

Is still better for you to read first before purchasing. Dont go there with no knowledge in mind. We can help you in parts to choose, but one must still understand why we choose this parts instead. Just to let you get an idea what we mean,

A 2k rig

Msi z97 gaming 5 + i5-4690k ~ $548
Avexir Core Series 1866mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $129
WD Purple AV 1tb ~ $84
Samsung EvO 250gb ~ $168 (amazon)
Msi r9 290 4gb twin frozr ~ $529 (corbell)
Seasonic g650 650w 80+ gold semi modular psu ~ $139
Corsair Obsidian 450d ~ $169
Samsung dvd drive ~ $21
Windows 7 home premium 64bit oem ~ $110
Corsair h100i hydro cpu cooler ~ $147

Total $2044. Buy at tradepac. Diy

What you actually need

ASRock b85 killer + i5-4460 ~ $355
Gskills Ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $110
WD blue 1tb ~ $71
Crucial mx100 256gb ~ $161
Msi r9 290 4b twin frozr ~ $529
Superflower hx600 600w 80+ gold semi modular psu ~ $108
Fractal design arc midi ~ $129
Samsung dvd drive ~ $21
Windows 7 home premium 64bit oem ~ $110

Total ~ $1594. Buy at tradepac. Diy

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.