All Intel processors affected by memory leaking vulnerability

Ark Law

And yet throw i must :s34:

*throw stone at asrock* when can i expect a patch at the hardware level instead of relying on bandaid?

Risk big, win big.

Anything to avoid paying through the nose for DDR4 memory kit. :crazy:

Stay vs Update/Upgrade

4790 vs 8700 | stay lose
$100 16GB DDR3 vs $230 16GB DDR3 | stay win
$100 H81I vs $180 Z370 | stay win

Stay and remain vulnerable sua :(

Ark Law

Never noticed. Even if there was, anecdotally 3-5% at most. That said, I think Firefox itself (using Quantum and ESR simultaneously) is a bigger battery hogger. I would try acclimatising to Edge for better batt but I can't install uBlock on 1607's Edge.

So phuck you M$ :mad:

Ferolare

Stay vs Update/Upgrade

4790 vs 8700 | stay lose
$100 16GB DDR3 vs $230 16GB DDR3 | stay win
$100 H81I vs $180 Z370 | stay win

Stay and remain vulnerable sua :(

For me,

Find a H97 board with the updated microcode and then buy a GT1030 or something

Probably cheaper than kabylake i3 (i think this is the min cpu/gpu for hdr), h270 and ddr4 kit bah

Ark Law

For me,

Find a H97 board with the updated microcode and then buy a GT1030 or something

Probably cheaper than kabylake i3 (i think this is the min cpu/gpu for hdr), h270 and ddr4 kit bah

GT1030? Currently no GPU meh?

Personally, I doubt any Haswell ITX board would get a bios update at all.

Encrypted11

I could be wrong then

but I read somewhere that coffeelake also caught the s3 sleep state issue (also microcode 80 like kabylake) but I don't use s3 at all, not even windows 10 fastboot/hybrid shutdown

Ferolare

GT1030? Currently no GPU meh?

Personally, I doubt any Haswell ITX board would get a bios update at all.

Current gpu won't do 4K HEVC and VP9 decode hence the nvidia card :sad:

(sadly amd rx550 and probably the upcoming raven ridge apu won't do netflix 4k thanks to drmsss)

hlots123

Never noticed. Even if there was, anecdotally 3-5% at most. That said, I think Firefox itself (using Quantum and ESR simultaneously) is a bigger battery hogger. I would try acclimatising to Edge for better batt but I can't install uBlock on 1607's Edge.

So phuck you M$ :mad:
i nvr tried installing any extensions for edge, but can u dl & install older versions of ublock origin manually?
https://github.com/nikrolls/uBlock-Edge/releases

hlots123

the stilt hevc decoding benchmark 1.61 lost about 1 second too :s34:
i dun have "before" hevc results to compare, but realbench cpu tests all significantly slower... :(:(
Ujcmf5E.png

Orcfk0O.png

Encrypted11

i dun have "before" hevc results to compare, but realbench cpu tests all significantly slower... :(:(

One thing I realise recently, the single thread test in rb doesn't really scale beyond maybe 4.8GHz how uh :s34:, all are after.

I2WGdNN.png

0coJiEB.png

ZdUKydO.png

Stilt shushu hevc before after
agzLp8O.png

KA4OcDz.png

Ferolare

apparently all ryzen users need to do is (from the inspectre tool)..

- patch windows
- wait for microcode update from amd/board/w.e.

tl;dr - same as intel :crazy:

Just saw some MB drivers updates in MSI app, gonna update and try again.

And my AMD chipset driver is at 1.02gb sia...
use the one direct from amd if you need to bah

it's only 200mb ish unpacked

hlots123

One thing I realise recently, the single thread test in rb doesn't really scale beyond maybe 4.8GHz how uh :s34:, all are after.

I2WGdNN.png

0coJiEB.png

ZdUKydO.png

Stilt shushu hevc before after
agzLp8O.png

KA4OcDz.png
woah... tats strange :s11:
but before updates, wasn't like that right? then cud be the fixes resulted in this bottleneck... (got 2 minds to go back older bios)
this ars tech article too cheem for me, they mentioned abt TLB flushes - do u think related to GIMP image editing performance?

elmariachi

Not bad Gigabyte's latest BIOS for the Z170 came out a few days back and just updated. Confirmed at least according to the app!

vNpSWx2.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.