Altalabs Route10 beware.

ShapeShifter

https://forum.alta.inc/t/route10-firmware-1-3u-released/4302/25

Their products are plagued with bugs, which I have reported numerous times across various accounts. Although they may provide minimal acknowledgment at first, they often disregard the issues later. If you press them or challenge their responses, they resort to suppressing or silencing your feedback. They even delete legitimate complaints and bug reports. When questioned further, fake accounts seemingly operated by them may counter your claims, and if you expose this behavior, they will silence you entirely.

ew83LIw.png

PedL2EV.png

They don't even bother fixing simple bugs, let alone addressing more significant issues. Route10 is only suitable for basic home users who just need connectivity for YouTube or casual web browsing. Power users should steer clear at all costs.

xiaofan

Maybe this is also kind of expectations related. After all, Alta Lab is not an established company with proven track record yet.

The problem is that Route 10's current main buyers are the power users who want to get a cost effective 10G capable wired routers without going to the DIY way (eg: Intel N100 mini PC with dual SFP+ ports, or Banana Pi BPI-R4 with dual SFP+ ports).

Example: VQ bundles Alta Labs Route 10 as part of the offerings to Power Users (Route 10 + Huawei OptiXstar S800E SFP+ ONU Stick).
https://viewqwest.com/sg/residential/broadband/

ShapeShifter

Exactly, I was attracted by the 10G capable wired routers, but now I understood why firewalla gold pro was able to command a higher price vs route10. Software side on route10 is just too shitty and buggy. Worst, they will silence bug reporters that are reporting too many bugs.

Here are some irritating bugs and those who are on vq can test.
With hardware accelerator enabled, do a speed test on vq servers on their 2.5G port, u get way below 1gbit connection, many other sg servers except for FPT and CTSCI servers. For FPT and CTSCI you be getting only 1.9gbit on download but 2.5g on upload. Disabling their hardware accelerator would also mean very high loads on the cpu.

Throttling on torrents with hardware accelerator disabled, flow control disabled. It be like a roller coaster ride from graph chart.

UI bugs, under devices you can sort asc/dsc order on names, but clicking the button on IPs, mac address will have no sorting at all. This has been reported by users for months and remain unsolved now.

No bugs but extremely irritating.
Hardcoded DNS on the device, no DOH support unless you change their https-dns-proxy and dnsmaq and having to load it on bootup to overwrite their persistent drive. Normal users won't be knowing how to do so.

Lehnsherr

Think it needs more time for it to mature, at least until they get all the promised features released

use normally is OK. The hardware given vs the price is good. I have no problems with torrent but i not on VQ though

Besides the UI i find some of the quirky language used like the recent EEE option. It has "default", "on" and "off". then the ? icon says default = off. lol why not just put "on" and "off" only and then ? icon just say "by default is off"?

jasonho

Chill mate, i understand the frustration of reporting bugs and not getting it fixed.

But there no need to sound provocative or aggressive replies like "......exposing..." la. It's like "you better fix the problem, else I report you to social media to expose you..." :ROFLMAO: It doesnt help to solve the situation or neither will they expedite fixing your bugs due to your act.

And like what XiaoFan explained, this is a new product, and if you didnt know that new products = potentially lots of bugs at your point of purchase, then you should have known by now. So setting the right expectation is key.

For the record, I own 3 units of Route 10, one in my parent place on VQ, 2 on my home on VQ and MR. I have these units for almost 1+ months. At the point of purchase, there wasnt any IDS/IPS, No Wireguard VPN server. Ok I must admit that one of the reason why I purchase is due to the "Ai Pee, Ai Chee....." mentality la.

I paid $300 for a router with hardware features (SFP+, POE+) and knowing anything above is a bonus. I also encountered lots of bugs , like the mobile app always alert firmware upgrade when my units were already upgraded and the EEE quirks as stated by bro Lehnsherr.

Also the guide was slow to update. Until now, I still dunno how to fill in IPV6 on my VQ or neither do I know whats the difference between the Low/Medium/High in the IDS/IPS portion, so I kiasu, all put high la šŸ˜

Last but not least, I am a well-known Speedtest fan in this forum. I do alot of 10gbps and Wifi7 speedtest as part of my daily routine but I didnt really test out the 2.5 port thoroughly. My take on speedtest is, most of the time, the different speedtest server are the culprits rather than router bugs. Different servers will give you different results at different time of the day.

Of course, i am not saying router is never at fault as I did encounter the following speedtest issue of sudden lowered speedtest results and I eventually found out theres a "Too many connections/buffer overflow" issue on my Qhora-301W router when I do too many speedtest :sneaky:

So my personal take for this product is , since I bought the unit with the "Ai Pee, Ai Chee....." mentality, then I set the right expectation according to the point when I purchased it lor. Anything extra - buggy or not, are bonus to me la šŸ˜„

sadboy

From my last few weeks of usage, I’ve noticed that, generally, it does its job as an affordable 10G router with SFP and 2.5G LAN with PoE.

Honestly, I haven't explored most of the router's functions yet. However, I’ve noticed that I can't configure the device offline without an internet connection. I believe they are currently rolling out firmware updates to enable the promised features and fix major bugs along the way. As for the minor bugs, they usually prioritize them lower.

jasonho

From my last few weeks of usage, I’ve noticed that, generally, it does its job as an affordable 10G router with SFP and 2.5G LAN with PoE.

Honestly, I haven't explored most of the router's functions yet. However, I’ve noticed that I can't configure the device offline without an internet connection. I believe they are currently rolling out firmware updates to enable the promised features and fix major bugs along the way. As for the minor bugs, they usually prioritize them lower.

Yes, thats one of the surprise I had, then I got to know that theres no controller inside the Route 10 but you will need to pay extra $$$ (n) for a seperate controller box or software license - https://www.alta.inc/control .

sadboy

Yes, thats one of the surprise I had, then I got to know that theres no controller inside the Route 10 but you will need to pay extra $$$ (n) for a seperate controller box or software license - https://www.alta.inc/control .

Hi Jasonho,

Thanks for the information. I wasn't expecting them to release a controller, especially since their product line seems very limited. Anyway, I really don't know if they will continue to develop new products, so there's no point in investing in their hardware controller or running a VM/Docker software controller for now (1 route nia).

But it's great information to know. I was expecting their product to be something like Omada (3-in-1 for small deployments) or the UniFi Dream Router.

TanKianW

I only got one unit + AP for testing on my worklab.

My conclusion is: currently it is more like a beta testing product. Not yet ready for prime time or production. Though I think beta test product should not even be launched in the first place but basic use (subjective) it may just work. Every start up (or disruptor) need to eat, pay for staff and rent, so I kind of understand why they usually rush their product out even when they are not (fully) ready. Sometimes you also need more testers out there to help you improve over time.

However, it does not mean I don’t buy and test, coz the target competitor is clearly Unifi but at an even ā€œPeeā€ price (hope so). And I always like to see competition. And this space has been dominated by Unifi, imo Omada is just a half-**** of Unifi. In the early days of Ubiquiti Unifi it took them a lot of time and mis-steps to iron it out though the years but they surely have much more resources as compared to small start up. Improving your interface and software, iron out the bugs are really no easy task.

End of the day, startup may live to tell their legend or die to tell their mistakes and broken promises to their customers. Whether wanna be on the rocky boat, is really up to you and how you set (manage) your expectations.

Don’t get me wrong, i side with neither. I go for the better, faster, cheaper. So dun flame me. ;)

BradenHeat

Exactly, I was attracted by the 10G capable wired routers, but now I understood why firewalla gold pro was able to command a higher price vs route10. Software side on route10 is just too shitty and buggy. Worst, they will silence bug reporters that are reporting too many bugs.

Here are some irritating bugs and those who are on vq can test.
With hardware accelerator enabled, do a speed test on vq servers on their 2.5G port, u get way below 1gbit connection, many other sg servers except for FPT and CTSCI servers. For FPT and CTSCI you be getting only 1.9gbit on download but 2.5g on upload. Disabling their hardware accelerator would also mean very high loads on the cpu.

Throttling on torrents with hardware accelerator disabled, flow control disabled. It be like a roller coaster ride from graph chart.

UI bugs, under devices you can sort asc/dsc order on names, but clicking the button on IPs, mac address will have no sorting at all. This has been reported by users for months and remain unsolved now.

No bugs but extremely irritating.
Hardcoded DNS on the device, no DOH support unless you change their https-dns-proxy and dnsmaq and having to load it on bootup to overwrite their persistent drive. Normal users won't be knowing how to do so.

heng firewalla gold se user nia XD

ShapeShifter

Ai pee Ai chee mentality ok, but selling product at this price point doesn't give them the excuse to leave even the most simple UI bug to be unfix as well as silencing all those bug reporters.

ShapeShifter

Chill mate, i understand the frustration of reporting bugs and not getting it fixed.

But there no need to sound provocative or aggressive replies like "......exposing..." la. It's like "you better fix the problem, else I report you to social media to expose you..." :ROFLMAO: It doesnt help to solve the situation or neither will they expedite fixing your bugs due to your act.

And like what XiaoFan explained, this is a new product, and if you didnt know that new products = potentially lots of bugs at your point of purchase, then you should have known by now. So setting the right expectation is key.

For the record, I own 3 units of Route 10, one in my parent place on VQ, 2 on my home on VQ and MR. I have these units for almost 1+ months. At the point of purchase, there wasnt any IDS/IPS, No Wireguard VPN server. Ok I must admit that one of the reason why I purchase is due to the "Ai Pee, Ai Chee....." mentality la.

I paid $300 for a router with hardware features (SFP+, POE+) and knowing anything above is a bonus. I also encountered lots of bugs , like the mobile app always alert firmware upgrade when my units were already upgraded and the EEE quirks as stated by bro Lehnsherr.

Also the guide was slow to update. Until now, I still dunno how to fill in IPV6 on my VQ or neither do I know whats the difference between the Low/Medium/High in the IDS/IPS portion, so I kiasu, all put high la šŸ˜

Last but not least, I am a well-known Speedtest fan in this forum. I do alot of 10gbps and Wifi7 speedtest as part of my daily routine but I didnt really test out the 2.5 port thoroughly. My take on speedtest is, most of the time, the different speedtest server are the culprits rather than router bugs. Different servers will give you different results at different time of the day.

Of course, i am not saying router is never at fault as I did encounter the following speedtest issue of sudden lowered speedtest results and I eventually found out theres a "Too many connections/buffer overflow" issue on my Qhora-301W router when I do too many speedtest :sneaky:

So my personal take for this product is , since I bought the unit with the "Ai Pee, Ai Chee....." mentality, then I set the right expectation according to the point when I purchased it lor. Anything extra - buggy or not, are bonus to me la šŸ˜„
Wouldn't want to expose them if they did not delete my bug reports and leave it unnoticed. Only slowly turning aggressive because they always like to brush things off first before doing their own thorough testing and only admit after users repeatedly posting the same issue.

BradenHeat

For those who are curious,

i went from ac88 to ax88 asus 2010 ?

to All in One Unifi Capsule Dream Machine
To firewalla Purple
to UCG + u6 wall
To u7p + UCG

to now Gold Se with docker controller for the u7 pro

no matter how badly, difficult or odd the Asusmerlin orthe Unifi Or the Firewall interface was... Simple Reset to fact ONCE a bluemoon [ yes not required , if so daily its a firmware issue ] solves the issues. reconfig

Merlin was bad in the snbforums
neither was Ubiquity hard to find.

Even to odd Gl-inet travel router. i have, slate ax, is still managble.

but from T.S and some searching online,

Damnnn that company should just fold, { Firewalla and Unifi had their startup days, but always came back with decent breakfix ]

this is just next level of AMDK incompetence :s22::s22:

They from DMC ah ? Hate Republic of SG ? since machiam Republicans are anti DEI, hence have to erase their feedback....

ShapeShifter

For those who are curious,

i went from ac88 to ax88 asus 2010 ?

to All in One Unifi Capsule Dream Machine
To firewalla Purple
to UCG + u6 wall
To u7p + UCG

to now Gold Se with docker controller for the u7 pro

no matter how badly, difficult or odd the Asusmerlin orthe Unifi Or the Firewall interface was... Simple Reset to fact ONCE a bluemoon [ yes not required , if so daily its a firmware issue ] solves the issues. reconfig

Merlin was bad in the snbforums
neither was Ubiquity hard to find.

Even to odd Gl-inet travel router. i have, slate ax, is still managble.

but from T.S and some searching online,

Damnnn that company should just fold, { Firewalla and Unifi had their startup days, but always came back with decent breakfix ]

this is just next level of AMDK incompetence :s22::s22:

They from DMC ah ? Hate Republic of SG ? since machiam Republicans are anti DEI, hence have to erase their feedback....
I want mikrotik rb5009 to have sfp 10 in 10 out and 2.5gbe poe ports on their next release and will gladly move back to them. Mikrotik also very stable. Route10 like many other reviews out there, beta testing product atm. Based on how they resolve bugs, yes, very incompetent. Maybe diy own router and flash https://github.com/elseif/MikroTikPatch

Anyways, played alot of n100,n305 and nanopi routers with openwrt, those default firmware win route10 hands down based on those optimisation and features. Route10 to me is just got the hardware right, trying to market it big big but dont have the proper team to do the job. Go build own openwrt rom at openwrt.ai, flash it and see how well it compares vs **** route10

BradenHeat

I want mikrotik rb5009 to have sfp 10 in 10 out and 2.5gbe poe ports on their next release and will gladly move back to them. Mikrotik also very stable. Route10 like many other reviews out there, beta testing product atm. Based on how they resolve bugs, yes, very incompetent. Maybe diy own router and flash https://github.com/elseif/MikroTikPatch

Anyways, played alot of n100,n305 and nanopi routers with openwrt, those default firmware win route10 hands down based on those optimisation and features. Route10 to me is just got the hardware right, trying to market it big big but dont have the proper team to do the job. Go build own openwrt rom at openwrt.ai, flash it and see how well it compares vs **** route10

although from friends and coworkers kept singing mikrotik,

CRS310-8G+2S+IN, is the closest, but their routerOS leaves much desire for UI and UX comparatively speaking

Frankly ive never laughed at a jokester of a network company more. than Cisco B2b or Aruba, but right now, i might just have a new Laughing Stock .

Linksys was just. hardware problems of the past....

but wow... the more i dig the less it becomes funny for route10

ShapeShifter

although from friends and coworkers kept singing mikrotik,

CRS310-8G+2S+IN, is the closest, but their routerOS leaves much desire for UI and UX comparatively speaking

Frankly ive never laughed at a jokester of a network company more. than Cisco B2b or Aruba, but right now, i might just have a new Laughing Stock .

Linksys was just. hardware problems of the past....

but wow... the more i dig the less it becomes funny for route10
UI ok what, so much features, once get to the hang of it u know where to navigate, look wise very ugly, that's why I am waiting for an updated product line for rb5009

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.