[AMA] Thanks to the ND Rally 2024, my interview is going to be screened at Channel 8's Frontline at 8.30pm tonight!

focus1974

They labelled you as blue collar. Do you feel offended?

the propaganda most probably will be about how there is nothing wrong for degree holders to be blue collar workers as blue collar workers are now earning a decent wage and there is no shame in blue collar. We should not be differentiating people on blue and white collar.

THen we will be shown happy lives of people who are underemployed.

With the National Day rally speech by our PM...
which means... it's not abt focusing on the 5Cs and the rat race.
it's about living your life .. it's about how singaporeans have been shifting their mindset.

During his National Day Rally on August 18, 2024, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong addressed the notion of aspirations in Singapore, particularly challenging the traditional emphasis on the "5Cs"—cash, car, credit card, condominium, and country club. He encouraged Singaporeans to rethink their aspirations and focus on more meaningful and fulfilling pursuits rather than materialistic benchmarks.

Key Points from Wong's Address​

1. Shift in Aspirations: Wong emphasized that Singaporeans should aspire to a life that values personal fulfillment, community connection, and meaningful contributions to society, rather than merely accumulating wealth or status symbols associated with the 5Cs.
  2. New Social Compact: He introduced the idea of a renewed social compact, where the government and citizens work together to ensure that everyone has a fair chance to succeed, regardless of their background. This compact aims to uplift all Singaporeans and foster a more inclusive society.
  3. Support for Families and Individuals: Wong announced several initiatives aimed at supporting families, including enhanced parental leave and new financial aid schemes for job seekers. These measures reflect a commitment to helping citizens navigate challenges in their personal and professional lives.
  4. Focus on Education and Skills: He highlighted the importance of education and continuous learning, advocating for a system that encourages joy in learning and supports diverse talents, moving away from a narrow focus on academic achievements alone.
Wong's speech marked a significant shift in the narrative around success in Singapore, promoting a more holistic view of what it means to thrive in society beyond just material wealt

airman88

OepOySV.jpeg

Finally, my interview with Mediacorp is out liao...This time, I am a bit scared because the audience is way larger than the interviews last time round.

I also scared that I sounded deluded or naive sia....I also dunno how come Mediacorp want so many pictures of me and my family.....

Lai ask me anything bah.....
Are you the car mechanic or plumber?

dambio

OepOySV.jpeg

Finally, my interview with Mediacorp is out liao...This time, I am a bit scared because the audience is way larger than the interviews last time round.

I also scared that I sounded deluded or naive sia....I also dunno how come Mediacorp want so many pictures of me and my family.....

Lai ask me anything bah.....
At d end u got say becos of gov n vote wisely anot? 😂

charleslee1989

yeah yeah, something like that. Which today interview was it? The car workshop?
Yup....Some more, I think it was the first story of the series No Degrees Required....I got whacked like siao here...

Begree holder do blue collar jod....... oh man
Well, it is due to my family circumstances...

waaa tio jiak!!
Well, this is the price to pay for Exposure...Nothing is free de....

camping here to jiak popcorn 2nite... :s13:
I remembered I did say some controversial stuff about wages though.....

They labelled you as blue collar. Do you feel offended?
Well, my uniform looked like one mah....:(

Hypernova

The narrative come out will be you took on the job and slowly upgrade yourself along the way to show sinkies can also make it doing blue collar jobs.

Don't think they will mention that you are actually taking over family business but upgrading yourself in order to know the mechanics of the job.

xLupDup

the propaganda most probably will be about how there is nothing wrong for degree holders to be blue collar workers as blue collar workers are now earning a decent wage and there is no shame in blue collar. We should not be differentiating people on blue and white collar.

THen we will be shown happy lives of people who are underemployed.

With the National Day rally speech by our PM...
which means... it's not abt focusing on the 5Cs and the rat race.
it's about living your life .. it's about how singaporeans have been shifting their mindset.
Actually should feature pple president teo en Ming who chose to live out his lives as he deem fit

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.