Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Announced!

13luetooth

Ship to a forwarder , then to yourself. :)

Sent from Sony D5833 using GAGT

You will probably want to buy from amazon itself. Sometimes, they do have sale on their Kindles. However, Amazon cannot ship kindle directly to Singapore, hence you will need a shipper like Borderlinx or Vpost.

You can read the following step by step review guide as well

http://sghappyshopper.com/kindle-paperwhite-singapore-review-complete-guide/

Thanks for sharing!

Can you guys share with me how does the US warranty work if the kindle is faulty? I have to ship it to US for repairs? (doesnt that incur alot of shipping cost ?)

Is there any local warranty kindle from amazon?

tofubean

Thanks for sharing!

Can you guys share with me how does the US warranty work if the kindle is faulty? I have to ship it to US for repairs? (doesnt that incur alot of shipping cost ?)

Is there any local warranty kindle from amazon?

For the US warranty, i had a kindle sent back about 1-2 yrs ago. All you have to do is call the Amazon support and tell them you are overseas atm and they will give you an address to mail your defective kindle to.

I just went to singpost and use the cheapest post to mail it. Bought the envelope with bubble wrap to put the kindle + box in. Roughly $25 for envelop + shipping if i recall correctly. Can be more expensive if buy insurance or express. Takes about 1-2 weeks to reach Amazon and they refunded me the shipping cost. I wrote the shipping cost on a piece of paper with my account id in the returned kindle box (the CS officer that i talked to told me to do that).

They actually mailed me the replacement kindle way before i sent the defective one back. Gave me about 1 month to return the defective kindle or the replacement kindle will be charged to my account. Just had to pay for the kindle to be sent back to Singapore from the forwarder.

13luetooth

For the US warranty, i had a kindle sent back about 1-2 yrs ago. All you have to do is call the Amazon support and tell them you are overseas atm and they will give you an address to mail your defective kindle to.

I just went to singpost and use the cheapest post to mail it. Bought the envelope with bubble wrap to put the kindle + box in. Roughly $25 for envelop + shipping if i recall correctly. Can be more expensive if buy insurance or express. Takes about 1-2 weeks to reach Amazon and they refunded me the shipping cost. I wrote the shipping cost on a piece of paper with my account id in the returned kindle box (the CS officer that i talked to told me to do that).

They actually mailed me the replacement kindle way before i sent the defective one back. Gave me about 1 month to return the defective kindle or the replacement kindle will be charged to my account. Just had to pay for the kindle to be sent back to Singapore from the forwarder.

Thanks for sharing your experience! Its great to know that the cost incur is only a 1 way trip. Do you have to register any warranty when you bought the kindle ? I'm asking this as I am buying it from someone with a BNIB kindle.

tofubean

Thanks for sharing your experience! Its great to know that the cost incur is only a 1 way trip. Do you have to register any warranty when you bought the kindle ? I'm asking this as I am buying it from someone with a BNIB kindle.
I bought the kindle myself so they can just track if my kindle still has warranty from my account. I'm not sure about if warranty starts from the day you start using it with a registered account or from date of purchase. :s22:

I'm also using PW1. Still going strong even tho i use it everyday. :) Wonder how long it can last till i have to replace it.

MeowEatsFish

I bought mine BNIB, US set. Asked if when he bought it. Guess i can check by giving customer service my kindle serial number perhaps.

jeffyen2

You don't need to register the warranty. The claim process starts by going to your amazon account and selecting the faulty Kindle. It's pretty straightforward with just the part that tofubean mentioned that will take a bit of time. It's not a show stopper though.

notyoursister

whoa reading all these makes me feel like buying a kindle leh...

i used to have a kobo mini. it was the cutest little thing. dropped it once and the thing died sia. i opened it up, rebooted, installed diffrent firmware, took out the built in memory card, etc. nothing can save it. gave up liao..... the e-ink ghosting on the screen never disappear oso....

MeowEatsFish

i used to have a kobo mini. it was the cutest little thing. dropped it once and the thing died sia. i opened it up, rebooted, installed diffrent firmware, took out the built in memory card, etc. nothing can save it. gave up liao..... the e-ink ghosting on the screen never disappear oso....

Get one! You wont regret it. :)

13luetooth

I also very tempted. but now I am waiting for amazon kindle sales. Donno need to wait how long lo :(

steven168z

notyoursister

hnzfaz

Just read that amazon is giving $20 discount again for paperwhite now. Get it fast.

Wondering why Amazon is putting paperwhite on sale so frequently lately. A new device in the pipeline? Or just falling sales?

jeffyen2

Just read that amazon is giving $20 discount again for paperwhite now. Get it fast.

Wondering why Amazon is putting paperwhite on sale so frequently lately. A new device in the pipeline? Or just falling sales?

This is not the first time Amazon has reduced the price of the Paperwhite. Historically it still follows the pattern: Amazon doesn't give discounts to the most expensive product; i.e. Voyage. :)

steven168z

jumpmanz

anyone getting a paperwhite wanna share shipping from the 3rd forwarders?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.