AMD Ryzen Notebook discussion | Intel or AMD for notebook? AMD Excellent CPU+GPU performance, sharing concurrent models reviews.

wesdork

You can try if frontliner is still valid?

Posted from PCWX using A simple life, not a simple thing 🙏🏻

Thanks guys! FRONTLINER cannot use with custom Thinkpad. Only can use with Yoga and Legion iirc.

They've all expired last year, with the exception of BFCM and FRONTLINER. Prices are not fantastic though; even with these codes prices are about $300 higher than what I paid on 11 Dec for the same config. Still better than nothing.

Tried BFCM, really very little discount :(

Columbian78

Do you have extra budget to go for Ryzen 7 Pro 4750U???

Lenovo flagship store @ Funan iirc do not help with customization.

And the models they display are very selective imo

I have budget, but as you can see, my usage are quite simple. Would a Ryzen 7 pro use less power, better onboard graphics, run cooler, etc? If yes, I would pay more for it.

I went to the funan store to have a hands-on with the laptop hardware. Did not really check and compare the pricing in details with online, but general feel is that it is much more expensive.

firesong

Thanks.
In the customisation page, the low power 400 nits option was +$40, but adding it actually changed by +$400ish. So that was why the wwan was included. I prefer brighter screen but if it costs so much then I think i will take the default.

What promo code is still valid now? I tried BFCM it says expired. The only valid one I know now is DONTMISS (from facebook) which is only 5% discount.

Expired already? :o I just checked when I posted and gave you the screenshot!

I have budget, but as you can see, my usage are quite simple. Would a Ryzen 7 pro use less power, better onboard graphics, run cooler, etc? If yes, I would pay more for it.

I went to the funan store to have a hands-on with the laptop hardware. Did not really check and compare the pricing in details with online, but general feel is that it is much more expensive.

It doesn't use less power - it runs hotter. But it does have better graphics. I was able to play Diablo 3 (an old game by now) on high and on an external monitor reasonably well. On an Intel i7-8665U, it is not playable even after reducing the options. Says something about the power of the AMD integrated GPU (It's supposedly on par with the MX330 in some games. see https://www.notebookcheck.net/Vega-7-vs-GeForce-MX330-vs-Vega-8-R4000_10098_9978_10313.247598.0.html)

Columbian78

Expired already? :o I just checked when I posted and gave you the screenshot!

My mistake. I typed in bfcm. It should be BFCM. Now I see its about 10% discount. When is this code expiring? I am about to place order liao.

firesong

My mistake. I typed in bfcm. It should be BFCM. Now I see its about 10% discount. When is this code expiring? I am about to place order liao.

Yes, the codes are case-sensitive.

This was the Black Friday-Cyber Monday code (Hence BFCM). It should have expired already. I wouldn't expect it to last, so place the order soon if you need it!

Unlike FRONTLINER, BFCM stacks with existing discount promotions, hence it would be a better code for the T14s. FRONTLINER gives a discount off the standard retail price, not including any existing discounts.

Since extended warranty options are the cheapest at sale and stack with the discount codes, I would choose what I can add to maximise the coverage. Chances are, with longer warranty you will also get better quality parts - they wouldn't want to have to service the laptop often.

chaiscool

Any legion 5 user got the freebies? My package was only bottle, cap and t shirt. So no laptop stand and case?

tjrsasea

Any legion 5 user got the freebies? My package was only bottle, cap and t shirt. So no laptop stand and case?

Yes I just received it too. Got an sms in the morning about this parcel from a weird company. Only received the 3 items... :(

What are you planning to do? Quite looking forward to the laptop stand leh!

Phrajile

The bottle quality sibeh good hor. Sus304 Japanese grade stainless steel

chaiscool

Yes I just received it too. Got an sms in the morning about this parcel from a weird company. Only received the 3 items... :(

What are you planning to do? Quite looking forward to the laptop stand leh!

Yeah was looking forward to the stand. Maybe they change the freebies...

bumdssa

E15 AMD is back. Tempting :s12::s12::s12:

Wah nice. I have been waiting.
But now the screen only 220nits.
Anyone can advise if it's a huge diff compared to 250nits?

Any new coupon to share? Could get it at $850 last time.

plutovirgo

Wah nice. I have been waiting.
But now the screen only 220nits.
Anyone can advise if it's a huge diff compared to 250nits?

Any new coupon to share? Could get it at $850 last time.

i recommend 250 nits lowest you should consider. Also make sure its IPS FHD display minimum. Lastly if can get 100% srgb or 72% ntsc color gamut, that's considered good enough.

If it is TN panel, don't consider it.

bumdssa

i recommend 250 nits lowest you should consider. Also make sure its IPS FHD display minimum. Lastly if can get 100% srgb or 72% ntsc color gamut, that's considered good enough.

If it is TN panel, don't consider it.

Seems like it hits all the don't consider spot. Haha

Display : 15.6" FHD (1920x1080) TN Anti-glare 220nits Non-Touch Narrow Bezel

The one previously is a IPS 250nits one but can't tell if it's a 100% srgb or 72% ntsc color gamut cos it doesn't show under the specs

plutovirgo

Seems like it hits all the don't consider spot. Haha

Display : 15.6" FHD (1920x1080) TN Anti-glare 220nits Non-Touch Narrow Bezel

The one previously is a IPS 250nits one but can't tell if it's a 100% srgb or 72% ntsc color gamut cos it doesn't show under the specs

ThinkPads unless stated are normally 45% ntsc (sRGB would be around 55%-65%) still acceptable, but if you can get the 72% ntsc (100% srgb) that's even better and starting to be the norm these days.

plutovirgo

Definitely not that. Far, far away from those numbers.

Here's a detailed review by Bsian dad, skipped to the display section. He allegedly has a brighter 250 nit panel too. Texted with his X-rite, the numbers are: 56.4% sRGB, 39.0% Adobe RGB, and 40% DCI P3. Also, the brightness drops to 80 nits max while on battery, although it surges to 275 nits while plugged in.

Besides this, the E14 Gen 2 only has 1 ram slot, so it won't be dual channel capable, less performance compared to its dual channel capable laptops.

Henabi

Besides this, the E14 Gen 2 only has 1 ram slot, so it won't be dual channel capable, less performance compared to its dual channel capable laptops.
For E14 gen 2 AMD... 8GB ram on board. And 1 empty RAM slot, up to 16GB SODIMM, DDR4-3200 Dual channel

So total Able to support up to 24 GB of ram (16+8)

firesong

For E14 gen 2 AMD... 8GB ram on board. And 1 empty RAM slot, up to 16GB SODIMM, DDR4-3200 Dual channel

So total Able to support up to 24 GB of ram (16+8)

I think it should unofficially support (32+8=)40GB. The chipset should support up to 64GB iirc, but 32GB is definitely within its capability.

Not sure if they would restrict it in the UEFI, but I doubt so.

If one doesn't care for the poor display (indoors with no sunlight or bright light sources) and needs a desktop replacement, this is very capable. The dual NVMe support is an added plus, but I would upgrade the primary 2242 to 512GB since they are harder to come by.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.