AMD Ryzen Notebook discussion | Intel or AMD for notebook? AMD Excellent CPU+GPU performance, sharing concurrent models reviews.

kitoshizc

Thinking want to buy Lenovo Yoga Slim,
Intel core ultra 7 155H
32Gb ram
512gb ssd
Oled 14" screen wuxga
$1399.

Value for money?
A pity the screen is not 2.8k

Phen8210

Intel core ultra 7 155H
32Gb ram
512gb ssd
Oled 14" screen wuxga
$1399.

Value for money?

just pray that you don't require after sales service because their support is trash

i guess that's why its cheap

lenovo techs literally screw your laptop over and set it up for 'early failure', and if you find that out their cso will gaslight you, and exploit the situation for profit.

they are literally sharks, there's a lot of complain on lenovo after sales service here as well

i find their service standard very poor also because i own a lenovo yoga pro 7 myself, and the technician also **** up when replacing motherboard.

Phen8210

Or any similar alternatives? HP pavilion 14?

I think if u buy lenovo, finger cross nothing goes wrong, or u should be tech savvy and have done laptop repairs yourself at least.

Just imagine that the typical consumer wouldn't even knew if they just happi go lucky after servicing and thought it was just an LED connector that he had forgot to plug in.

Can check other brand like dell, msi, hp i guess?

Phen8210

My friends have bad experience with HP support also.
Dell seems OK for the support. My company all using Dell.

These days better if u tech savvy, cos i know the lenovo tech also messed up my repair, do 1 repair but will mess up other things, and if u find out and report, end up like the guy on reddit, really psychopath that cso rofl.

hopefully other brand is not that bad

caterham7

Or any similar alternatives? HP pavilion 14?
Not sure what your usage requirements are, difficult to suggest

One easy way to find alternatives, is to search using cpu keyword, in this case, 155h, from the lenovo model you shared

Saw quite a few models with this cpu, after doing a search

caterham7

My friends have bad experience with HP support also.
Dell seems OK for the support. My company all using Dell.
My suggestion is not to look at brand, but specific model

There are so many models under a brand, unlikely that a "bad experience" from a model, is indicative of entire brand

Kop

my lenova ideapad slim keyboard failed after 3 years, even though i rarely use it. it is one row of keys, number 9, letter O, L and the .

went to official service centre was quoted $250 to $300 and need to wait 4 to 8 weeks for parts.

Went to sls and got a quote for only less than $80, what a joke.

samferguson

my lenova ideapad slim keyboard failed after 3 years, even though i rarely use it. it is one row of keys, number 9, letter O, L and the .

went to official service centre was quoted $250 to $300 and need to wait 4 to 8 weeks for parts.

Went to sls and got a quote for only less than $80, what a joke.
Similar experience with Lenovo IdeaPad keyboard.
Failed within first month of ownership 😔

watzup_ken

Intel core ultra 7 155H
32Gb ram
512gb ssd
Oled 14" screen wuxga
$1399.

Value for money?
Personally, I think the specs is decent for the asking price. I got the same model but with a 1TB SSD and it cost me skightly over 1.4K more than a year back. I don't feel that there is a need for a 2.8K resolution 14 inch screen. While it can look sharper, but,
1. If there are scaling issues (which is quite common), you may not be able read the tiny fonts, and,
2. The iGPU is only capable of 720p to 1080p in newer 3D games.

I did not run into any problems with their after sales service. But as usual, my only concern is the battery that Lenovo uses.

kitoshizc

Personally, I think the specs is decent for the asking price. I got the same model but with a 1TB SSD and it cost me skightly over 1.4K more than a year back. I don't feel that there is a need for a 2.8K resolution 14 inch screen. While it can look sharper, but,
1. If there are scaling issues (which is quite common), you may not be able read the tiny fonts, and,
2. The iGPU is only capable of 720p to 1080p in newer 3D games.

I did not run into any problems with their after sales service. But as usual, my only concern is the battery that Lenovo uses.
Thanks for the inputs! I got the laptop!

Extremme

Hi guys my 3.5 year old Notebook ThinkPad E15 Gen 3 spoilt. I think I got around $1.1k back. Only need it for work. My current laptop specs:

DIMM Memory 8GB DDR4 3200 SoDIMM
Onboard Memory 8GB(4x16Gx16) DDR4 3200
Storage Selection 512GB SSD M.2 2242 NVMe TLC
Processor Ryzen 7 5700U 1.8G 8C MB

saw this which is similar: ThinkPad E14 AMD G6 about $1.3k. Is it OK?

Processor
AMD Ryzen™ 7 7735U Processor (2.70 GHz up to 4.75 GHz)

Graphic Card
Integrated AMD Radeon™ 680M
Memory
16 GB DDR5-4800MT/s (SODIMM)
Storage
512 GB SSD M.2 2242 PCIe Gen4 TLC Opal
Display
14" WUXGA (1920 x 1200), IPS, Anti-Glare, Non-Touch, 45%NTSC, 300 nits, 60 Hz

Extremme

Wrote in to Lenovo with my requirements and budget. CSO suggested: ThinkBook 16 Gen 7 for about $S$1,055

Processor: AMD Ryzen™ 7 7735HS Processor (3.20 GHz up to 4.75 GHz) selected upgrade
Operating System: Windows 11 Home 64
Operating System Language: Windows 11 Home 64 Traditional Chinese/Simplified Chinese/English
Microsoft Productivity Software: Microsoft Office Trial
Memory: 16 GB DDR5-4800MT/s (SODIMM) - (2 x 8 GB) selected upgrade
Solid State Drive : 512 GB SSD M.2 2242 PCIe Gen4 TLC selected upgrade
Display: 16" WUXGA (1920 x 1200), IPS, Anti-Glare, Non-Touch, 45%NTSC, 300 nits, 60Hz
Graphic Card: Integrated Graphics
Camera: 1080P FHD with Dual Microphone selected upgrade
Color: Arctic Grey
Fingerprint Reader: Fingerprint Reader
Keyboard: Backlit, Storm Grey - English (US) selected upgrade
Wireless: Wi-Fi 6E 2x2 AX & Bluetooth® 5.1 or above selected upgrade
Ethernet: 100/1000M Ethernet
Battery: 3 Cell Li-Polymer 45Wh
Power Cord: 65W USB-C 90% PCC 3pin AC Adapter - UK
Warranty: 1 Year Courier or Carry-in

caterham7

Hi guys my 3.5 year old Notebook ThinkPad E15 Gen 3 spoilt. I think I got around $1.1k back. Only need it for work. My current laptop specs:

DIMM Memory 8GB DDR4 3200 SoDIMM
Onboard Memory 8GB(4x16Gx16) DDR4 3200
Storage Selection 512GB SSD M.2 2242 NVMe TLC
Processor Ryzen 7 5700U 1.8G 8C MB

saw this which is similar: ThinkPad E14 AMD G6 about $1.3k. Is it OK?

Processor
AMD Ryzen™ 7 7735U Processor (2.70 GHz up to 4.75 GHz)

Graphic Card
Integrated AMD Radeon™ 680M
Memory
16 GB DDR5-4800MT/s (SODIMM)
Storage
512 GB SSD M.2 2242 PCIe Gen4 TLC Opal
Display
14" WUXGA (1920 x 1200), IPS, Anti-Glare, Non-Touch, 45%NTSC, 300 nits, 60 Hz
depends if you have specific features required
e.g. weight, ports, graphics card, etc.

similar 16gb ryzen laptop available for around $1k, 1 example below
https://www.lazada.sg/products/asus-vivobooks-flip14-r5-7430-tn3402ya-lz303w-i3015958120.html

hkchew03

Intel 120U might be a better buy than all the 7x3XU, 7x20U if you can find them at the same price.

tomb

Acer Nitro, BP Victus or Lenovo Ideapad? around 1.3k for the below specs.

AMD Ryzen 7 8845
16 GB DDR5 5600
1TB SSD
RTX4050 6GB

SpecialKeyboardService

Acer Nitro, BP Victus or Lenovo Ideapad? around 1.3k for the below specs.

AMD Ryzen 7 8845
16 GB DDR5 5600
1TB SSD
RTX4050 6GB

Acer Nitro review

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-...able-gaming-laptop-with-a-hitch.928048.0.html

https://www.rtings.com/laptop/reviews/acer/nitro-v-16-2024

HP victus review

https://www.rtings.com/laptop/reviews/hp/victus-16-2024

https://www.notebookcheck.net/HP-Vi...powerhouse-with-few-compromises.748144.0.html

Lenovo ideapad or LOQ (Cheap Legion branding)

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenov...ws-up-an-Intel-vs-AMD-conundrum.758130.0.html

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenov...p-review-Don-t-call-it-a-Legion.735495.0.html

Since all are priced about 1.5k to 2k, you will need to make some sacrifices on the features. Got some qns to ask yourself ah.

1) Can you tahan **** screen or not? Like color sibei jialat the kind? Or do you use it for design or photoshop work?

2) Are you going to travel alot with this laptop? If you are, choose the one with the lightest total weight (laptop + charger)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.