AMD Ryzen Notebook discussion | Intel or AMD for notebook? AMD Excellent CPU+GPU performance, sharing concurrent models reviews.

SpecialKeyboardService

Hi all, does anyone know reliable places online to purchase a spare Lenovo 230W slim tip charger for ThinkPad P series and Legion 5 Slim/pro lineup models?

Recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

tomb

Acer Nitro review

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-...able-gaming-laptop-with-a-hitch.928048.0.html

https://www.rtings.com/laptop/reviews/acer/nitro-v-16-2024

HP victus review

https://www.rtings.com/laptop/reviews/hp/victus-16-2024

https://www.notebookcheck.net/HP-Vi...powerhouse-with-few-compromises.748144.0.html

Lenovo ideapad or LOQ (Cheap Legion branding)

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenov...ws-up-an-Intel-vs-AMD-conundrum.758130.0.html

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenov...p-review-Don-t-call-it-a-Legion.735495.0.html

Since all are priced about 1.5k to 2k, you will need to make some sacrifices on the features. Got some qns to ask yourself ah.

1) Can you tahan **** screen or not? Like color sibei jialat the kind? Or do you use it for design or photoshop work?

2) Are you going to travel alot with this laptop? If you are, choose the one with the lightest total weight (laptop + charger)

not picky with screen. will be mainly using it for engineering applications but not intensive 3d modelling or simulations.

won't be travelling with it often.

Stevez

Hi, I am buying a laptop for my child's school usage. currently deciding between Lenovo ideapad slim 5 and Yoga slim 7. Would appreciate your input which laptop is better in terms of processor and suitability. Thanks in advance!

The specs and prices are as follows:
both same weight @ 1.39 kg
Lenovo Yoga Slim 7 @ $1,524.91
-
Intel® Core™ Ultra 7 155H
- 32 GB
- 1TB SSD
- 14-inch WUXGA (1920x1200) OLED 400nits Glossy, Eyesafe®, Dolby Vision®
- Wi-Fi 6E (AX 2x2 Wireless) and Bluetooth® 5.3
- Stereo speakers, 2W x4, optimized with Dolby® Atmos®, Amplifier (AMP)

Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 5 @ S$1,285.11
- AMD RYZEN™ AI 7 350
- 32 GB
- 1TB SSD
- 14-inch WUXGA (1920x1200) OLED 400nits Glossy
- Wi-Fi® 7, (802.11be 2x2 Wireless) and Bluetooth® 5.4
- Stereo speakers, 2W x2, optimized with Dolby® Audio™

trenzterra

Anyone knows where to buy replacement battery for x13 gen 1? Bought an "original" one from unicell but turns out to be non genuine..

Foetid

Hi, I am buying a laptop for my child's school usage. currently deciding between Lenovo ideapad slim 5 and Yoga slim 7. Would appreciate your input which laptop is better in terms of processor and suitability. Thanks in advance!

-
- 32 GB
- 1TB SSD

- AMD RYZEN™ AI 7 350
- 32 GB
- 1TB SSD
my unexpert and unqualified opinion, they are quite close, ryzen 350 vs 360 closely similar vs 155H.

intel is faster in multi-threaded due to more cores, whilst ryzen has an edge over single core performance.

My personal preference will be neither, as i would prefer a 15.6 inch laptop for my child, if however, weight is a concern, then then go with 14 inch, if not a light weight 15.6 inch. Both laptop should go a long way, should ask ur child, bigger screen or smaller screen, ask him /her to go take a look and also ask him/her feel the weight differences. Also, i would look for laptop with single cable for charging and displayport over usb c in case if want an external bigger monitor usage. Big screens usually protects eye and prevent over scrutiny and eye fatigue, that's just me, feel free ignore everything.

I thought these days, schools only using ipads?

https://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/compare_cpu-amd_ryzen_ai_7_pro_360-vs-intel_core_ultra_7_155h
https://versus.com/en/amd-ryzen-ai-7-350-vs-intel-core-ultra-7-155h

caterham7

-
- 32 GB
- 1TB SSD

- AMD RYZEN™ AI 7 350
- 32 GB
- 1TB SSD
Are there specific reasons to choose these 2 models?

If i may ask, what are the usage requirements and budget?

Is your child going to bring it to school regularly? Are there charging points available?

Stevez

thanks for the reply. my child would be attending full time Polytechnic course. these 2 models are light weight at 1.38kg

I would prefer a larger screen too but not sure if additional of 500g weight is a concern.

I am also considering this model:
Lenovo IdeaPad Pro 5 @ S$1,306.91
- AMD RYZEN™ 7 8845HS
- 16GB RAM
- 1TB SSD
- 16-inch 2K OLED 400NITS Glossy, 100% DCI-P3, 120Hz, Eyesafe®, DisplayHDR™
- Wi-Fi 6E (AX 2x2 Wireless) and Bluetooth® 5.2
- Stereo speakers, 2W x2, optimized with Dolby® Atmos® 5.2
- NVIDIA GEFORCE RTX 4050 6GB VRAM
- 1.91 kg

I was initially interested in Acer Swift Go 14 AI but decided against it as the warranty is only 2 years carry-in while Lenovo provides 3 years onsite warranty.

caterham7

thanks for the reply. my child would be attending full time Polytechnic course. these 2 models are light weight at 1.38kg

I would prefer a larger screen too but not sure if additional of 500g weight is a concern.

- AMD RYZEN™ 7 8845HS
- 16GB RAM
- 1TB SSD
- 1.91 kg

I was initially interested in Acer Swift Go 14 AI but decided against it as the warranty is only 2 years carry-in while Lenovo provides 3 years onsite warranty.
thx for the additional info

polytechnic, sugest to check with him/her, whether there are specific software/hardware requirements.

if no specific software/hardware requirements, can consider macbook air m1, long battery life, no need to worry about finding charging outlet

below $1k
https://www.lazada.sg/products/appl...7-core-gpu-256gb-i1344610364-s5655346808.html

slightly cheaper at official refurbished store, but may not be worth the difference
https://www.apple.com/sg/shop/refurbished

important note; double-check on software/hardware requirements

e.g. republic poly, they say they don't support macbook, also, dedicated Nvidia / Radeon graphics card strongly recommended for certain courses
https://www.rp.edu.sg/it-enhanced-learning/notebook/purchase

SpecialKeyboardService

- AMD RYZEN™ 7 8845HS
- 16GB RAM
- 1TB SSD
- 1.91 kg

Help your child procure a thinkpad t14 gen 5 amd or t16 gen 3 from Lenovo website or source it
Although the damage is slightly higher at 1.6 to 1.8k.

You have 3 years of warranty and quality / reliability of thinkpad T series

trenzterra

TB, high sales and authorised distributor
Went taobao to find the most legit looking one but end up seems fake too. Voltage seems off, 11.1v vs 11.4v probably using normal lipo rather than high voltage.

Servlink quoted me 200 for replacement lol...think ill just go with it for peace of mind.

Foetid

Went taobao to find the most legit looking one but end up seems fake too. Voltage seems off, 11.1v vs 11.4v probably using normal lipo rather than high voltage.

Servlink quoted me 200 for replacement lol...think ill just go with it for peace of mind.
huh, 11.1 vs 11.4 is fine, guess ur not engineer by training. Its not impossible to be 101% exact for batteries battery chemistries. you however many many capacitors, inductors, resistors and controller chips in the motherboard to address those kind of stuffs, its not the batteries duty! 🤣

if they sellings in the hundreds or thousands of merchandise a month or been long time, they tend to be legit.

trenzterra

huh, 11.1 vs 11.4 is fine, guess ur not engineer by training. Its not impossible to be 101% exact for batteries battery chemistries. you however many many capacitors, inductors, resistors and controller chips in the motherboard to address those kind of stuffs, its not the batteries duty! 🤣

if they sellings in the hundreds or thousands of merchandise a month or been long time, they tend to be legit.
Hmm if say the nominal capacity indicated on the batt is 11.4V but at 50% capacity it shows 11.05V whereas on my old battery I'm getting 11.6V+ at 50%, idk if it's an issue. Guess I have to stress test it at lower battery percentages and monitor the voltage drop to see if it holds up.

Also the battery sticker shows manufacturing date as being 2023.01 whereas in Lenovo Vantage it shows 28 Feb 2025. So it's a bit sus here

trenzterra

Hmm if say the nominal capacity indicated on the batt is 11.4V but at 50% capacity it shows 11.05V whereas on my old battery I'm getting 11.6V+ at 50%, idk if it's an issue. Guess I have to stress test it at lower battery percentages and monitor the voltage drop to see if it holds up.

Also the battery sticker shows manufacturing date as being 2023.01 whereas in Lenovo Vantage it shows 28 Feb 2025. So it's a bit sus here
Ok just tested with my old battery... Also same now lol. So yeah guess it's original

Foetid

its not an issue, dont be silly, u should be measuring the different voltages across the controller for the cpu, memory and other peripherals to know if there is a problem. And if u need to, u need an oscilliscope to check the flunctuations, the multimeter is not enough.

As said, that's not the battery duty, to smooth out such imperfections, its the other components's job on the motherboard to ensure the voltages are to spec and they have no extreme fluctations.

As a very lay person, it is only required to measure how long the new vs old battery will last under load or idle? Whether you experience any system instability.

May i suggest u to get this from shopee to check the wave form, because a mulitmeter is not enough.

sg-11134201-7rd5a-m7gep3zbr1xy29@resize_w900_nl.webp

Vegitto

just pray that you don't require after sales service because their support is trash

i guess that's why its cheap

lenovo techs literally screw your laptop over and set it up for 'early failure', and if you find that out their cso will gaslight you, and exploit the situation for profit.

they are literally sharks, there's a lot of complain on lenovo after sales service here as well

i find their service standard very poor also because i own a lenovo yoga pro 7 myself, and the technician also **** up when replacing motherboard.

Usually they outsource the service centre to vendor one.
Used to work with one of the big laptop brands as the site engineer for parts replacement of desktops and laptops. That brand completely outsourced to the company I was working with back then. All the way from service center(except the front counters, those are employed by the brand) to the guys you see going around doing site repair/replacements.
Only their level 2 support and above is employed by the brand.

So if there are enough complains to boot out this vendor, we can see lenovo changing to another vendor after their contract with the current one ends and hope for an improvement.

unintended

Hi, looking for recommendation to get a personal laptop for normal usage (gaming not needed)

- Budget under $1k
- Intel/Ryzen 7 preferred
- Backlit keyboard
- In built camera
- Portability below 15" preferred

Honestly won't use it for much things, probably some Word editing, image processing and watching videos. Serve as a backup to work laptop. Currently temporarily have no working laptop and need one with Microsoft software.

Thank you.

caterham7

Hi, looking for recommendation to get a personal laptop for normal usage (gaming not needed)

- Budget under $1k
- Intel/Ryzen 7 preferred
- Backlit keyboard
- In built camera
- Portability below 15" preferred

Honestly won't use it for much things, probably some Word editing, image processing and watching videos. Serve as a backup to work laptop. Currently temporarily have no working laptop and need one with Microsoft software.

Thank you.
lenovo have a checkbox to select models with backlit keyboard, this is one of the "cheaper" models within this category

note: need to select backlit keyboard in customise section, additional $20
https://www.lenovo.com/sg/en/p/lapt...eapad-slim-3-gen-10-14-inch-amd/83k9cto1wwsg1

checked acer website, they didn't have an easy method to search based on backlit keyboard

haven't checked the other "usual suspects", e.g. asus, hp, msi, u can take a look at their websites

Edit - found another cheaper model, i3 for $649
https://www.challenger.sg/pc-go/not...31315u-8gb-512gb-14inch-black0--4711377277280

yeowboon

Gf going to buy a laptop later at the Suntec it show..any amd laptop to recommend? Budget around $1.4k
Read that now amd is better as intel latest gen has overheating issue..

trenzterra

Gf going to buy a laptop later at the Suntec it show..any amd laptop to recommend? Budget around $1.4k
Read that now amd is better as intel latest gen has overheating issue..
I was there yesterday. What kind of requirements? If thin-and-light:

Yoga 7 2-in-1 with Ryzen AI going for $1,499 I think. It's touch screen and has stylus support (I think) but the screen has a bit of the visible touch grid if you look closely. Might need to look harder for non-touch versions at the same price.

HP Omnibook 7 Aero looks not bad also around $1.4k but the USB-C ports are only 10Gbps

Avoid the HP Omnibook X Flip as the screen is only 62.5% sRGB so very washed out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.