amicable divorce to get two hdb flats?

lydiaa

lets say u marry and have a few kids. u get a bto flat. after kids reach 18 and finish milking government for marriage benefits, then can divorce amicably.

after divorce, transfer asset to one of the spouse, other spouse can buy a resale hdb. husband and wife still stay together because divorce is only on paper, but now have additional income from rental and also possible property appreciation.

is this possible? this is better than decoupling since u can get a hdb to rent out, which is cheaper than condo.

obvious downsides is that this requires immense trust that the lady wont backstab you, but assuming you trust each other, and assuming you are in your 50s, you should be clear with each others character alrdy.

actly, can probably do it early also, rental income might be significant but not sure if its worth the single parent status when the kid is still under 18. i am not sure what are the drawbacks in this case

mgx-alander

yes its possible, but the next hdb flat u have to buy as a single if u are hooting resale

ur hdb loan will become not eligible at 7k, and ur loan via bank will based on a single person income and your age.. in ur 50s, no bank will loan u a large amount, and will the most let u loan until 65 .. so u need a rather huge cash outlay if u transfer the house to the "wife" with no sales proceed from the old home

mgx-alander

wow so instead of catching fake marriage now can catch fake divorce also liao
this time all along happening, one of my uncles doing that since early 2000s? divorced in the eye of law but piaking in the bed room?

also "wife" cannot sue him or anything if he eat 'outside' cos no more law to protect her from WC

Lao_Tiko

lets say u marry and have a few kids. u get a bto flat. after kids reach 18 and finish milking government for marriage benefits, then can divorce amicably.

after divorce, transfer asset to one of the spouse, other spouse can buy a resale hdb. husband and wife still stay together because divorce is only on paper, but now have additional income from rental and also possible property appreciation.

is this possible? this is better than decoupling since u can get a hdb to rent out, which is cheaper than condo.

obvious downsides is that this requires immense trust that the lady wont backstab you, but assuming you trust each other, and assuming you are in your 50s, you should be clear with each others character alrdy.

actly, can probably do it early also, rental income might be significant but not sure if its worth the single parent status when the kid is still under 18. i am not sure what are the drawbacks in this case

You mean the opposite of a sham marriage, a sham divorce?

Encouragesome1

Think hdb will get to u if u tell them ur fake divorce

lydiaa

yes its possible, but the next hdb flat u have to buy as a single if u are hooting resale
ur hdb loan will become not eligible at 7k, and ur loan via bank will based on a single person income and your age.. in ur 50s, no bank will loan u a large amount, and will the most let u loan until 65 .. so u need a rather huge cash outlay if u transfer the house to the "wife" with no sales proceed from the old home

can you not use your cpf to help with the new hdb purchase. at 50, i assume the first hdb will be fully paid off, and you should also have substantial cpf. i think it can help with the new hdb payment? assuming you are around middle income level

mgx-alander

can you not use your cpf to help with the new hdb purchase. at 50, i assume the first hdb will be fully paid off, and you should also have substantial cpf. i think it can help with the new hdb payment? assuming you are around middle income level

u still owe CPF $$ with ur first flat payment if u pay with CPF for it

i doubt u will have very high OA amount at 50s even if u are around middle income without doing housing refund, which is usually from the first house sales proceed

Note Resale price is high, ur bank loan limit is 15years if u do this at 50, u still need to pay BSD

lydiaa

I know dink couples who do that. Not against the law. But they did not married in the first place just 2 singles staying together without getting the papers.

ya if dink should be easy game. but if you are planning to have a kid, i think it is better to be married first, because of baby bonus and all the other govt benefits not available for single parents, but i may be wrong as i am not fully clear of all the benefits for married couples compared to single

Thoreldan

what law is this breaking leh? no sham divorce leh.

best check with lawyers

https://singaporelegaladvice.com/legal-married-couples-divorce-buy-hdb-flat/

Family lawyer Ms Tracy Wang says:

“In the event that HDB finds that the purchaser, being a divorcee, has intentionally divorced to buy another HDB flat, HDB may revoke any grants of subsidies to them and repossess the HDB flat.”
She cautions that such cases may even constitute a crime such as cheating.

grevq80o

LOL. I think u definitely have Ph.D - permanent head damage - with all ur logical theories, with so many if's and will never materialize.

lydiaa

u still owe CPF $$ with ur first flat payment if u pay with CPF for it
i doubt u will have very high OA amount at 50s even if u are around middle income without doing housing refund, which is usually from the first house sales proceed
Note Resale price is high, ur bank loan limit is 15years if u do this at 50, u still need to pay BSD

oh i see. i think will have some cpf combined with personal savings to pay at least half the flat? then the hdb rent can offset the loan?

i am young so i am not sure about all these, just a thought exercise.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.