Amp for ak100

ASUS111

It always a pain and that's the problem with custom where you don't have demo unit side by side for you to try.

Which of the 2 have a wider soundstage?

Rubick

It always a pain and that's the problem with custom where you don't have demo unit side by side for you to try.

Which of the 2 have a wider soundstage?

tink u needa ask bro kenz liao.
he is the only 1 that heard the miracle demo and 8A.
i nv heard of the miracle
and guan22 nv heard of the 8A

koicafex

rubick just wake up fap fap fap riao :s34:
ytd night must be jin hot...so late wake up also :s34:

i prefer 8a roh~

ASUS111

Hahaha.. Actually I have more or less decided to go with the 8.a.. Where do you guys get your impression done? I have also emailed treoo and they mentioned that they can get my impression done onsite.. So I was actually contemplating on whether should I just get through treoo to save all the trouble..

Seems like my UM3X would be on sales soon.. :D:D

Rubick

to me i tink the new jh16 at most on par with 8A nia
the old jh16 is cmi to my ears from the demo i heard.
impression done at novena digisound

ASUS111

Thanks guys. They should know what to do right I don't need to give them any special instructions hor..

Rubick

Depends on wad u like lo. I choose carbon fibre coz my old 4a is wood

kenz

tink u needa ask bro kenz liao.
he is the only 1 that heard the miracle demo and 8A.
i nv heard of the miracle
and guan22 nv heard of the 8A

My thoughts on Miracle can be found in my Heir 8a review thread.

Cut and posted here.

For me, coming from the JH13 pro, the merlin didn't impress me that much. Soundstage and bass would go to the Merlin, but they sounded a little veiled, recessed and dry on the whole. Can tell the merlins were aiming for a specific presentation but seemed to fall short in most aspects. With the Heir 8.A in the picture, lets just say, the gap is even wider. Soundstage is still comparable with 8.A, but bass not nearly as enjoyable. And if you find Merlin's bass too much, may need to consider elsewhere cos 8.A's bass is comparable if not more so, in quantity and quality. But given how precise the bass is delivered, you might actually like it more than Merlin's bass delivery.

The merlins did sound better, especially bass had better presentation and clarity, when coupled with twags. But the improvements are minimal.

Same can be said for Miracle, although the Miracle is better in its overall presentation. But to my ears, it still fell short of how music is delivered versus the JH13. It's a different piece, and probably better measured against JH13 pro instead of Heir 8.A.

This is the part you're probably asking about and i'll just sum it up in the following sentences,

The Heir 8.A is what Merlin was trying very hard to achieve.

The JH13pro is what Miracle was trying somewhat to achieve.

My preference would be (1. being most enjoyable to 4. least):

1. Heir 8.A
2. JH 13pro
3. Miracle
4. Merlin

ASUS111

Thanks kenz. Btw I came across in the head fi forum saying that there are 2 fits, comfort and musician, for the 8.a. What are the difference between the 2 fits? Thanks.

iAHBEE

One goes in real deep, one normal custom length but alrdy deep enough for most

ASUS111

So what fit did you guys go for? Comfort? Also I have read that there are 2 ways of taking the ear impression, mouth open and closed. Do you guys recommend open or close mouth? Sorry for the many questions, first time getting CIEM. Thanks. :o

Legend2127

to me i tink the new jh16 at most on par with 8A nia
the old jh16 is cmi to my ears from the demo i heard.
impression done at novena digisound

Interesting match up...

I tried the pre-freqphase JH16 demo at Jaben, I felt as though the sound is piercing my ears...

JH16 and 8.A are 2 very uniquely configured CIEM, JH16 with the freqphase wave guide (new driver arrangements), 8.A with it's 4-way crossovers for 4 dual drivers for each frequencies...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.